We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodlands Guest House
Ranked #15 of 26 Brixham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect location”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Rita and Paul have worked hard to create a lovely fresh, clean, welcoming and relaxing place to stay. They have succeeded!
we would recommend the Woodlands to anyone.
we stayed in their guest house during the first week in April 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed it.
the full English breakfast was perfectly cooked every morning and nothing was to much trouble. they gave us clear guides on where to walk, what to see and how to use the hop on bus service.
we loved Brixham but the accommodation certainly made the trip for us.
well done to you both and we hope to see you again soon.
Gary and Lindsey

Room Tip: the middle floors look slightly more spacious but all rooms have ample room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsey e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    15
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
98
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Purley, Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed here for three nights in March. The room was very comfortable, with a four poster bed and a bay window with a view over the harbour. The location is excellent - quiet, but within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants and amenities. Our hosts were very helpful with suggestions for excursions. Breakfasts were substantial with a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I spent two night at the Woodlands in September and it was just perfect. A lovely clean room with a comfortable. Great breakfast in the morning and delightful hosts, Rita and Paul.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2011

stayed here for 2 nights, great rooms, spacious clean & very comfortable.
food was excellent as was the service.
would recommend anyone to stay here.
would not think twice about going back to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phylron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed at the Woodlands for several sunny days in August and had a super, relaxing time. What made the stay for us was having the room with the sea view. It was great to be able to unwind after a day taking in the sea air and visiting the impressive array of local sites, whilst looking out to sea.

The bed was really comfortable and, whilst the bathroom was small, it was a price worth paying for a room that otherwise would have lost much of its character.

Our host was very helpful in recommending things to do and places to eat and the breakfast was really good.

If and when we return to Brixham this will be our first choice of place to stay and it is certainly some recommendation that we didn't want to leave this time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevtherev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2011

this guest house was the cleanest and stylish i have stayed in the owner was very friendly and helpful. the breakfast was very good with a good choice.while there i met many returning guests. which says it all. will be going back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We have just returned from our 4th visit to The Woodlands at Brixham & now feel it is our second home. It is so welcoming, Paul & Rita, the proprietors, will go that extra mile to please you - both are very knowledgeable on the area of Brixham & can help plan each day of your stay.
Paul & Rita service the guest house by themselves, their standards are very high, the cleanliness & decor of the property reflects this.
On each of our four visits we have always booked the four-poster bedroom, the bay- fronted room allows for breathtaking views of Brixham harbour & beyond.
Breakfast is excellent, from the variety of what is on offer & the standard of cooking, preparation & service. It sets you up for the day.
The Woodlands is an ideal location to walk into Brixham (5 minutes), to sample some of the many seafood restaurants that occupy the harbour - "Simply Fish" is a new restaurant to add to the list & provides a great eating experience.
Looking forward to our next stay with Paul & Rita at The Woodlands & wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Woodlands as a great place to stay when visiting Brixham or the surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brixham hotels
0.5 km away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.5 km away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 26 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 km away
The Melville Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
#23 of 26 in Brixham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.6 km away
Redlands Guest House
Redlands Guest House
#5 of 26 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.9 km away
Anchorage Guest House
Anchorage Guest House
#9 of 26 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guest House

Property: Woodlands Guest House
Address: Parkham Road, Brixham TQ5 9BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Woodlands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing