We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent position and views but slightly tired...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Captains Cabin

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ground floor right hand pink house Harbour View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Ground floor right hand pink house
Harbour View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brixham, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alan M
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent position and views but slightly tired accomodation.”
Reviewed December 1, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Superbly positioned on the quieter side of the harbour with a beautiful view across to the marina, fish market and the main town. The apartment is within a couple of minutes walking distance from shops and restaurants. Brixham is an ideal place to base yourselves to venture out to many other local towns, villages and wide open spaces alike.
The apartment has all you need for use as a holiday base but could do with a bit of redecoration to brighten your time inside up a bit, thankfully we had sunshine throughout and did not have to spend time sitting around indoors. It was reasonably clean but had a slightly musty odour on first arrival but this cleared as time passed. Nice comfy bed with clean linen and bath towels, plenty of wardrobe space. However we did not get on with the induction hob and were glad to have made plans to eat out the evenings that we stayed. Beware that the apartment is adjoined to a hotel bar with live music on a Sunday evening (at the moment) and this can be heard from the apartment but on the weekend we stayed it was not loud enough to disturb us, nor did it stop us from sleeping. The outside rear area is a courtyard 2/3 metres square but gets little sun and is overlooked from the apartment above, during the three days we were there we only heard someone coming down stairs to the communal entrance lobby once early one morning, however I can't vouch what it may be like in high season.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blona
Bucks
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Heaven”
Reviewed April 7, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Just returned from another visit, really feels like home, all you need for an amazing break.
Clean, comfortable and so convenient for harbour and town.
Already booked to return in October.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blona
Bucks
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 13, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Well, here we are again, 6th time we have visited. Everything you need for a short break and amazing views with it. So convenient and only a couple of minutes to the town. Looking forward to our return visit in the spring.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blona
Bucks
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed March 15, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Now back for the 5th time. Homely warm and cosy, having a lovely time. Got to go home in four days but not to worry as will be back again in October.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A94Sykes
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Views but interior could be improved”
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My sister and I stayed here recently. Although the flat was small, it was big enough for us as we were out most days and evenings and just popped back to freshen up.
The interior was a little dated and could be improved with some small changes ie fresh lick of paint. The bedroom smelt damp, which was not good for me as l have a chronic lung disease.
The apartments/flats upstairs were used by the hotel staff, maybe for breaks and overnight stays after late shifts I think, but they were sooooo noisy. They would slam the front door and you could hear them walking around and it felt like they were in our flat!!! Very disappointed with the noise especially early mornings and late nights when you are in bed.
Location and veiws cannot be faulted.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & veiws
Liked least: Damp smell and the noisy above neighbours
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blona
Bucks
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing views.”
Reviewed March 24, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is our third visit to the flat and cant wait to return again soon. Small but has everything my husband and I need. The views are amazing and its lovely to pop into the Ernie Lister next door for a drink and the hotel for dinner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trekwise
Worcestershire
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Ok but could be better.....”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Helpful reception staff at the Quayside Hotel welcomed us and kindly provided an additional overnight car park permit for family members who joined us for one night sleeping on the *sofa bed!
The town centre and harbour are only a couple of minutes walk away and a free parking space available in a private car park a few minutes up the road.
The flat is ground floor, we thought the property felt quite secure and private.
Although we chose not to cook or do any washing we thought the kitchen seemed to be well equipped......as is the bathroom with some toiletries and nice fluffy white towels provided, however the shower outlet could do with some maintenance as it is slow to empty.
The bedroom is quite dark but has lots of wardrobe space and mirrors, bed comfortable with crisp white sheets etc.
The living room ok, equipped with Sky tv etc. Free wifi. Room has a good view over the harbour. Extra bedding was provided for the *sofa bed but I was told by my family it was an uncomfortable bed to spend the night on!
We were a little disappointed to find the flat smaller and darker than we had expected from the photos, slightly damp, and with a tiny back yard which rarely gets any direct sunlight.
We thought it would be convenient being next door to the bar, but on live music nights (we experienced 2 during our stay) in our living room it was so loud it was like being in the same room and not easy for us to have a conversation or watch tv!
Apart from the negative points, overall we enjoyed our weeks holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Dark & damp
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing