We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveller rating
316
99
32
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
316
99
32
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old school lovely hotel wedding reception afternoon tea dog friendly hotel cream tea beautiful room grammar school scones function room cooked to perfection would highly recommend this hotel gym bar nothing too much trouble bridal suite lovely setting wedding venue
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 476 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2018 via mobile

We feel we have to review our experience of New Year’s Eve at The Edgemoor. We were obviously at a different evening to the previous couple who have reviewed there experience. The dining room looked lovely, the Jazz band and yes they were a band were excellent and perfect for the evening, the food was delicious and full of flavour and the staff were attentive and charming. A really nice atmosphere and a perfect way to see in the New Year. We felt really sorry for the hotel when we read the other review in our opinion so unfair. We will definitely go back. Our room was also lovely with a lovely breakfast the next day “sausages were lovely”
Thank you for our stay

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles R, Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Hello Steven

Thank you for your kind words following New Years Eve with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write and back us up, so very kind. We have our sausages made by the local butcher and always have some lovely comments on them. Hope to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2018

Chose the hotel to host our staff Christmas lunch - second year running. Once again,we could not fault the preparation beforehand, attention to detail, menu choices (and flexibility for special diets), support on the day and staff care and commitment. Highly recommended for any event or gathering, and clearly evidenced ability to cater well for pretty large number of people. Manager went 'beyond the call of duty' to help with our staff presentation and awards too! Food good and served quickly and on time, but flexible enough to allow for a 15 minute delay at the start. Lovely ballroom, tables well decorated, layout carefully thought through. Definitely recommend to others. It is easy to get to the hotel as it is just outside the town of Bovey Tracey, but just as easy to get to beautiful Dartmoor. Perfect base to explore the local countryside and enyoy being spoilt in a warm, comfortable hotel with good food and excellent atmosphere, dedicated staff.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Service
Thank ClareDru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles R, Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Hello Clare and Dru

Many thanks for your lovely words following your Christmas Lunch with us, always a pleasure to welcome you to The Edgemoor for your events. Hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2018

The whole experience was a muddle from start to finish...NEVER again.
Advertised as a new years eve dinner with a live Jazz band ....it was three people playing instruments...not a jazz band! it felt and looked awkward, room was brightly lit and felt sterile..no atmosphere and young teenagers serving all evening who just lacked customer service experience..i felt sorry for them!
No host or evening lead, guests wondering where to go etc.
Dinner - food was poor to average and the pheasant and venison both over cooked.Guests left restaurant at 10.30 and either sat on another hard chair in the bar or went to their room. Breakfast was also a joke...no table for us which a grumpy paid staff member rudely disputed and then put us in another room only which only then to be served the wrong food.....DISAPPOINTING to say the least.
The hotel had hosted a wedding the day before and it felt and looked liked all the staff had had enough, flat energy and very poor service.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles R, Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Dear Victoria

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us for New Years Eve and we did not meet your expectations. So sorry we could not have the opportunity to discuss this on check out with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile

My Daughter and Son - In -Law had their Wedding reception at The Edgemoor Hotel on December 9th 2017.
Everything about the Hotel was First Class.The reception,food and accommodation were excellent. Many thanks to Charles,who arranged the reception very professionally. I was particularly worried about my speech,but he eased me in to it with great care and it went well, particularly the 4 best mens speeches.
Thanks to the Edgemoor and all the staff for an unforgettable venue.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank John7956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles R, Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Hello John

Many thanks for your kind words following your Daughters wedding. We always feel so privileged to be part of such a special day, wishing you all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 22, 2017

Our twin- bedded superior room was very comfortable. It could have done with a small coffee table on which to put our drinks as we sat on the sofa, but apart from that small detail, everything was excellent;
We were particularly impressed with the accommodation for guests with dogs. If the dogs could have spoken I'm sure they would have rated the hotel as a 5 star. They were made very welcome throughout our one-night stay and during our big family celebratory meal.
We were a party of about 16 and had a private room to ourselves with a lovely fire at one end. We put up our own diamond wedding decorations which we added to the Christmas ones.
Our guests enjoyed the three-course meal and the waiting staff were very friendly and attentive. We couldn't have been better treated.

Room tip: Dog friendly rooms have an outside staircase.t
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sunnyley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles R, Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Many thanks for your review and what a wonderful occasion to celebrate, we were so privileged that you chose to celebrate this occasion with us and so pleased all had a great time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews