We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”
Review of The Abbey Inn

The Abbey Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: an unexpected find with good food. Has accomodation and is within a few hundred yards of Buckfast Abbey, lying alongside the river.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We were happy to find a restaurant for dinner in such a beautiful location. Unfortunately when we arrived, staff were nowhere to be seen, we stood at the bar and then went into the restaurant and still were not greeted by anyone. There was no obvious Bell to ring or anything! So after 20minutes of feeling out of place we left, it’s a shame because the place itself looked stunning and homely.

Thank O4017SCcharlotteb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquarium17, Owner at The Abbey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

Thank you for your review. Of what I am not sure! Though the staff leave the bar on occasion I am surprised that there was nobody to be seen for 20 mins. The kitchen is in the restaurant and there are always staff in there.

If my bar was unmanned for 20 minutes I would be surprised if I had any customers at all.

In my personal opinion I feel that tripadvisor is to review services and facilities received, sadly they disagree and will not remove this review.

Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 333 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2018

Very friendly and helpful staff in the pub/ restaurant. Great location on the river and we had the best liver and bacon we had tasted in years. Absolutely excellent! Can't wait to go back again. Visit the Abbey and go to the Abbey Inn for lunch you won't regret it!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil D, Owner at The Abbey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed your Lunch, specifically the Liver and Bacon.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Phil & Kellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Stopped at the Abbey on our way back to our hotel. Really liked the menu and we enjoyed our choices. Seems to have nice staff and a mixed and pleasant clientele.

Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil D, Owner at The Abbey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Phil & Kellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Great food and nice people, beautiful location by the river. Tired and dusty decor in rooms. Noisy if you have a room roadside.

Thank Elmo487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil D, Owner at The Abbey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you for your review. We took over The Abbey Inn two months ago and our refurbishment of the bedrooms starts this month. We have spoken with housekeeping team regarding your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Phil & Kellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Popped in here for lunch. Was very quiet . Bar man very friendly and chatty. Ordered food came quickly ( although friend ordered white , came on brown ) , but as bar man handed it over he noticed and offered to replace. Food was very fresh and very tasty. Will be a lovely place to visit on a warm day sat outside overlooking the river.

Thank pauljbManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil D, Owner at The Abbey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you for your review.

We hope to see you again soon.

Phil & Kellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Abbey Inn also viewed

Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 
Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Abbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing