We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant find!”
Review of Sandy Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandy Park Inn
Ranked #10 of 15 Chagford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 November 2011

After escaping from a bad hotel experience the night before (see review in Dolphin, Beer, Devon), we were at loose ends on our half-term holiday, and stumbled upon this place en route to Castle Drogo (which we never did see). What a find! Doggie was welcome, the room opened onto the garden in back, and the little pub was stuffed full of lovely friendly locals and interesting fellow-travellers. We had an excellent steak meal and yummy draughts from the taps and fell into peaceful slumber. The next morning I had a wonderful walk over fields , woods and streams with the dog, a lovely breakfast and were sent off by the owner who happened by to a local point of interest (Scorhill) on the moors. We shall return.

Room Tip: We only have experience of the dog-friendly rooms, both of which looked fine. Most rooms have privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zimagrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2011

Lovely pub, very friendly owners and staff, good food (breakfasts particularly spectacular!!!!), great selection of local beers and cider, comfortable rooms......Ideal for accessing the pleasures of Dartmoor

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelvinroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed here over the August bank holiday, having seen it in a "special places to stay" book about traditional pubs and inns. It certainly lived up to its review! The lady who runs the inn is very friendly and welcoming, the freshly cooked-to-order breakfast is delicious, the beds are comfortable and the rooms are a good size. There are some resident dogs, who are very friendly and who contribute to a lovely homely atmosphere (even for a "cat person" like me!). We didn’t eat dinner here as we had already booked some other local restaurants before we arrived, but the menu looked great; if only we had saved some room to try some!! We had our own bathroom, although it was not an ensuite. This was not a problem for us as we were thoughtfully placed on a corridor that only had our bedroom, our family members' room (an ensuite) and our bathroom on it. The parking on-site is limited, but we invariably managed to find a spot on the road outside.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We enjoyed this inn as it was very sociable and had a good atmosphere. The owners were helpful and happy types
, The food was good as was the quality and selection of the ale. Good base for Dartmoor and the parking was no problem down the lane which was less than a minute away from the front door. Good location for Two Moors Way and Gastle Drogo and will go again when we are in the area . A TV would help in the room if only to watch MATD
Comfortable beds as well

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WAG1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

On our way from Cornwall to Bath, we chose to take the road through Dartmoor and by accident got of the B3212 on a road that led us to Sandy Park around lunchtime. There we saw this inviting inn. The food was good and the atmosphere friendly and familiar. Whenever we come back to Devon, we will try the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Good beds clean rooms and hospitable staff have made my stay here a pleasure and I will be coming back again next year!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazylegsdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Stayed one night on a short break to Devon and found this lovely little gem of a pub. Great atmosphere in the bar - roaring fire, friendly locals with their dogs for company, excellent food and friendly attentive service. Good choice of well kept ales. Our bedroom was on the basic side with a tiny TV but clean and warm. The delicious home cooked breakfast couldn't be faulted.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geebee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
0.3 km away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
519 reviews
3.8 km away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,128 reviews
5.5 km away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
5.5 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
299 reviews
2.4 km away
Three Crowns Chagford
Three Crowns Chagford
#2 of 15 in Chagford
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Park Inn

Address: Sandy Park, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Chagford
Price Range: $76 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandy Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Park Hotel Chagford
Sandy Park Inn Chagford, UK - Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing