We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bovey Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The White Hart Hotel(Moretonhampstead)
US$111
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Gidleigh Park(Chagford)
US$348
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa(Ilsington)(Great Value!)
US$177
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel(Tedburn St. Mary)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$155
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,574)
Filter reviews
2,574 results
Traveller rating
1,656
506
237
123
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,656
506
237
123
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseafternoon teafalconry displayservice chargewestern restaurantsandwichesthe hotel managervalet parkingmain restaurantsecond to noneplay golfbirthday treatpublic roomssloe ginfudgebeautiful groundshis team
Filter
Updating list...
2,042 - 2,047 of 2,574 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This really is a beautiful and superbly run hotel. The scenary & location are breathtaking, the hotel & golf course just stunning and the dinner in the Edwardian Restaurant was worthy of a Michelin Star. The service was spot on and this hotel is worthy of its accolades. Just don't tell everyone as it is one of the best kept secrets around.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria-Burford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We went to Bovey Castle yesterday evening. The staff were mostly attentive starting with the valet, the bar staff and the manager. We had decided at the last minute to forgo the Restaurant for the Bistro-This was a mistake! We had drinks in the main old part (Gorgeous) then were shown to the new Bistro (Shocking contradiction) It was bold, bright and cheap-almost as bad as walking into Mc Donalds!! The waiter was so awful he was amusing. He pointed at my fellow diner, pushed through the gap between two people, and poured wine without giving opportunity to taste, to list a few misdemeanours. He was wearing a dirty shirt (the cuffs were ingrained) and was generally sullen (It reminded me of Faulty Towers!) It could not have been more different from the first part and end of the evening! Having said that the food was fine. I wouldn't rush back which is a shame as I live locally.

Room Tip: We did not stay.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We had a lovely time at Bovey Castle [2 nights; 3 days]. The free activities more than filled up our days [hawk display; egg collection; swimming; walking]. Public areas are exceedingly comfortable. I was amazed how much time I could spend in front of any of the open fires.

Our son loved the PlayRoom. We popped him in their for a morning session and the lovely lady did a number of arts & crafts activiites. We also used the room when she wasn't there and the range of toys was great.

The older children loved the ranger activiites - but be warned. Check how long they are as some were quite short.

The Cider / Sloe Gin making comes highly recommended for adults.

All the paid for activities had service charge added at the time of the activity and at the time of the final bill. Thus a £150 activity was billed at nearly £200. When this was raised with the manager he immediately rectified the situation

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HolidayNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Service is terrible, to a comical degree. Staff is friendly but they are suited for a 2nd class hotel somewhere in the balkans. It is a huge surprise that SLH are backing this hotel.
The lodges and the area are stunning so are the activities, however the swimming pool feels like being in a public pool with no lockers and rubbish everywhere and noone to manage it.
The food in the bistro is unedible and the breakfast is very poor.
I must say that the spa is very good.
We booked the lodge at Bovey caste through the hotel directly paying around £800/night. we stayed 3 nights. Then found out that through helpful holidays.com the same lodge costs £884/week!!! shocking!
At this rate, I understand that some guests feel Bovey castle is a good idea, however if you are expecting 5 star accommodation and service go somewhere else!
The manager Federico is unhelpful and has no idea about hospitality.
At least we had a good laugh...
It is a shame that such a beautiful place should be so incredibly mismanaged.

Room Tip: Eat at the Ring of bells-a pub close by with very good food.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank countryfroggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I am slightly late in posting this review but better late than never!!

I stayed at the Bovey Castle with a group of eight friends to celebrate my 40th birthday in March, the idea was to get a away for a couple of nights with friends to celebrate in style and chill out!

I have stayed at Bovey Castle on a number of occasions in the past, from the location, the building to the high level of service it is always a pleasure to return.

Now here's the special part about the Hotel, you are met when you drive up to the hotel by a
porter who takes your bags and parks your car for you. All seems a bit high brow and stuffy you might think, you couldn't be any further from the truth! Yes the hotel is five star luxury in every way but the bit you don't expect is the relaxed laid back feel of the place, you really can just chill out either by one of the log fires or go for a wander in the grounds, take a dip in the indoor pool or play a round of golf.

I would like to say a big thank you to Federico Aresti the General Manager who made our trip truly special. He works tirelessly ensuring that your stay is perfect in every way.

Whether you want a romantic break or a trip away with the children the Bovey Castle hotel is a very special place indeed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sichal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews