We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Setting, very attentive staff”
Review of Bovey Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bovey Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Superb Setting, very attentive staff”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My second visit to Bovey Castle and yet again it didn't disappoint!! The staff were again very professional, courteous and attentive, dinner was a lovely experience with well cooked and seasoned food and excellent service to match. The cheese board never ceases to amaze me with over 40 different cheese's to choose from!! room 35 was pleasant, but always ask if there are any rooms available overlooking the golf course at the rear of the hotel, as some of the views are just breath taking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kebuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,426
    446
    207
    109
    47
See reviews for
567
1,130
18
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This really is a beautiful and superbly run hotel. The scenary & location are breathtaking, the hotel & golf course just stunning and the dinner in the Edwardian Restaurant was worthy of a Michelin Star. The service was spot on and this hotel is worthy of its accolades. Just don't tell everyone as it is one of the best kept secrets around.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria-Burford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moretonhampstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We went to Bovey Castle yesterday evening. The staff were mostly attentive starting with the valet, the bar staff and the manager. We had decided at the last minute to forgo the Restaurant for the Bistro-This was a mistake! We had drinks in the main old part (Gorgeous) then were shown to the new Bistro (Shocking contradiction) It was bold, bright and cheap-almost as bad as walking into Mc Donalds!! The waiter was so awful he was amusing. He pointed at my fellow diner, pushed through the gap between two people, and poured wine without giving opportunity to taste, to list a few misdemeanours. He was wearing a dirty shirt (the cuffs were ingrained) and was generally sullen (It reminded me of Faulty Towers!) It could not have been more different from the first part and end of the evening! Having said that the food was fine. I wouldn't rush back which is a shame as I live locally.

Room Tip: We did not stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We had a lovely time at Bovey Castle [2 nights; 3 days]. The free activities more than filled up our days [hawk display; egg collection; swimming; walking]. Public areas are exceedingly comfortable. I was amazed how much time I could spend in front of any of the open fires.

Our son loved the PlayRoom. We popped him in their for a morning session and the lovely lady did a number of arts & crafts activiites. We also used the room when she wasn't there and the range of toys was great.

The older children loved the ranger activiites - but be warned. Check how long they are as some were quite short.

The Cider / Sloe Gin making comes highly recommended for adults.

All the paid for activities had service charge added at the time of the activity and at the time of the final bill. Thus a £150 activity was billed at nearly £200. When this was raised with the manager he immediately rectified the situation

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HolidayNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Service is terrible, to a comical degree. Staff is friendly but they are suited for a 2nd class hotel somewhere in the balkans. It is a huge surprise that SLH are backing this hotel.
The lodges and the area are stunning so are the activities, however the swimming pool feels like being in a public pool with no lockers and rubbish everywhere and noone to manage it.
The food in the bistro is unedible and the breakfast is very poor.
I must say that the spa is very good.
We booked the lodge at Bovey caste through the hotel directly paying around £800/night. we stayed 3 nights. Then found out that through helpful holidays.com the same lodge costs £884/week!!! shocking!
At this rate, I understand that some guests feel Bovey castle is a good idea, however if you are expecting 5 star accommodation and service go somewhere else!
The manager Federico is unhelpful and has no idea about hospitality.
At least we had a good laugh...
It is a shame that such a beautiful place should be so incredibly mismanaged.

Room Tip: Eat at the Ring of bells-a pub close by with very good food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank countryfroggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I am slightly late in posting this review but better late than never!!

I stayed at the Bovey Castle with a group of eight friends to celebrate my 40th birthday in March, the idea was to get a away for a couple of nights with friends to celebrate in style and chill out!

I have stayed at Bovey Castle on a number of occasions in the past, from the location, the building to the high level of service it is always a pleasure to return.

Now here's the special part about the Hotel, you are met when you drive up to the hotel by a
porter who takes your bags and parks your car for you. All seems a bit high brow and stuffy you might think, you couldn't be any further from the truth! Yes the hotel is five star luxury in every way but the bit you don't expect is the relaxed laid back feel of the place, you really can just chill out either by one of the log fires or go for a wander in the grounds, take a dip in the indoor pool or play a round of golf.

I would like to say a big thank you to Federico Aresti the General Manager who made our trip truly special. He works tirelessly ensuring that your stay is perfect in every way.

Whether you want a romantic break or a trip away with the children the Bovey Castle hotel is a very special place indeed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sichal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMidlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Two nights with evening meals and full english breakfast in the edwardian Grill Resteraunt and afternoon tea.Gifted to us by a family member.
A real experience.....homely relaxing great pool and saunas with amazing views across the devon hills nice and quite mid week great location comfy room and tasty food.Shame it comes at such a high cost : )

Room Tip: Room Twelve is very comfy with 'bathroom' views over the hotel entrance ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FreeRange_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bovey
6.5 km away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,053 reviews
32.9 km away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
27.3 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
482 reviews
25.2 km away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
496 reviews
9.7 km away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bovey Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bovey Castle Hotel

Property: Bovey Castle Hotel
Address: North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > North Bovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bovey Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within its own private estate on the dramatically-beautiful Dartmoor National Park, Bovey Castle is a five-star country house hotel and an unrivalled destination for a luxurious rural retreat. Built at the turn of the century, Bovey Castle has remained loyal to the subtle vision of grandeur upon which it was founded, and the understated-elegance of this bygone era continues to echo throughout the hotel. Within the 275-acre estate sits the 64 bedroom hotel and 22 granite lodges, both offering luxurious accommodation for family breaks, activity holidays, romantic escapes or corporate and incentive team building. The championship 18-hole golf course surrounds the historic manor house, while the estate lends itself perfectly to Bovey Castle's extensive selection of on-site resort activities. Immerse yourself in the luxuriously-appointed décor and outstanding service, relax in the holistic spa and indulge your taste buds with decadent food and fabulous wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bovey Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bovey Castle North
Hotel Bovey Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing