We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Honeymoon Cottage

Moorland View Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moorland View Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
106 reviews
Moorland View Cottage
The sandy beaches of the South Hams are a 50-minute drive away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 106 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Howshaggy
Gatwick
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed March 15, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Everything that is written and photographed about this lovely cottage is true. It is situated right on Dartmoor and the surrounding walks are breathtaking. Suzy has thought of everything to provide 5 star comfort and luxury. It isn't cheap, but is worth every penny. The village is picturesque and so peaceful. Suzy has decorated and furnished the cottage to a high standard and you will come away wanting to refurbish your own home with some of her ideas. It was spotleesly clean thanks to her hard working housekeeper (I'm a stickler for a clean abode!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleeper91
Lincoln, NE, USA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect accomodations in Dartmoor”
Reviewed March 4, 2012 for a stay in November 2011
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at Moorland View Cottage for two weeks in late November 2011. This was a surprise vacation for my wife to celebrate our 20th anniversary, our first trip to England, and our first stay in a self-catered cottage. What a fantastic experience!

The drive from Heathrow and between the tall hedgerows to North Bovey was a bit harrowing, especially on just a few hours sleep after the long flight and while learning to drive on the left side of the road. We quickly adapted to the narrow lanes, though, and within a few days we were able to travel the area with more confidence.

Early in our stay we arranged a day hike with Debbie Jenkin (a North Bovey resident) and it was a terrific way to get the lay of the land, insight into the history of Dartmoor, and ideas for other walks to take during our stay. We also had a fantastic time spending a day with Martin and Louise from Dartmoor Hawking as we and a couple from Cornwall learned to hunt rabbits and pheasants with some incredible birds of prey.

For those traveling to Dartmoor by air, we highly recommend renting a car (a small car). The closest town to North Bovey is Moretonhampstead, which can be reached on foot in about an hour. Michael Howard, the butcher, has an excellent shop in town that we frequently visited to get something for lunch or to buy groceries for our dinner. The Coop in Moretonhampstead was also a good place to go to for any other provisions we needed. But, beyond Moretonhampstead, any other village or town was at least a two to three hour hike (but just a short drive). We had an excellent pub lunch at The Cleave in Lustleigh (about two to three hours one way on foot). Dartmoor has an excellent system of trails and walking paths, but it is rural and having a car will allow you to travel further afield.

One of our best day trips was a drive down to the English Channel and the city of Dartmouth. We had a delicious lunch at The Seahorse. We also made a trip into Exeter near the end of our vacation, but after ten days of peace and quiet in and around North Bovey, the hustle and bustle of the city was a bit too much for us (and we were there on a day when public employees were on strike so it was especially crowded in the city center). We did manage to escape into the calm of the Exeter Cathedral and only wished we had not arrived so close to closing time.

The cottage was gorgeous and equipped with everything we needed for our stay and was plenty roomy enough. We never got “cabin fever” even though we visited during a time of year with short days and traditionally poor weather. The ONLY improvement we could suggest would be to have the shower curtain in the bathtub re-hung to allow more space to stand in the tub so that it doesn’t stick against you when you’re showering.

The Ring of Bells was a regular stop for a meal or a pint of ale or both. The staff and the patrons were very friendly. A dog friendly establishment, it made us miss our bull terrier back in the States, but allowed us to get our canine “fix” by visiting with the village dogs that hung out in the pub in the evening. We had dinner at Gidleigh Park to celebrate our anniversary and for our American Thanksgiving dinner. The food was excellent and the staff very attentive, but it was just a little too formal and attentive. We may have been happier if we had just had lunch there.

A tip for fellow Americans: understand that in England (and probably elsewhere) it is customary to have drinks before dinner. In other words, settle in at the bar for a glass of wine or a pint, look over the menu, and relax while your table is being prepared. You may even be asked to order your dinner in the pub or at the bar before getting shown to your table in the dining room and sitting down to enjoy your meal.

Suzy was exceptionally helpful both before our trip and during our stay. She has indeed thought of everything and the cottage felt like home from the moment we arrived. We took full advantage of the sound system (with speakers throughout the cottage) and Spotify service to listen to any album/musician desired.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Moorland View and having no prior knowledge of the Dartmoor National Park region, we could not have been happier with all that this beautiful corner of the world has to offer. The village, the park, and the cottage made for a perfect vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Completeness of the amenities, helpfulness of the owner.
Liked least: Shower curtain in the bath.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet
Reviewed January 24, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hereford
Reviewed December 10, 2011 for a stay in December 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bedford
Reviewed October 12, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kendal
Reviewed October 2, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dani20118...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awesome cottage - perfect honeymoon!”
Reviewed July 12, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

The cottage is just breathtaking. The owner has truly thought of everything that you could possibly want from a honeymoon hideaway.

The local pub served fantastic food and everyone was extremely welcoming. The sheer selection of places to visit in and around Dartmoor meant that we were spoilt for choice for where to visit.

The membership pass that the cottage has at nearby Bovey Castle is well worth a visit for a swim in the pool and a proper cream tea.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing