We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
28
30
10
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
30
10
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews games room self catering kitchen an adventure en suite family room evening meal perfect base every morning old railway devon coast to coast car park hostel cycling facilities bunk corridor lounge storage
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 81 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2016

This is fair a accommodation. Not all the communal showers and bathrooms are particularly great, some even had a small smell to it. The rooms were not particularly spacious, and a big problem was that there were not many plugs available--there were only two in six bed dorm. This was lower than typical YHA standards.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TariqA1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

Over night stay here . Pleasant surroundings and good idea to use an old railway station. Our room was clean and tidy.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Evening meal was available on site.
Shower rooms could do with a makeover,otherwise a good place to stay.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank madmanxcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night with 3 adults. I don't have a lot of experience with YHA but this one seemed perfectly OK. Good rooms that were clean, basic and what you expect with bunk beds.

Location is quite some way from the main town and also up a steep hill.

Breakfast was good quality, varied and enough.

Staff we met were friendly.

Main issue was that our room was on the first floor and (as we discovered at 6:00 in the morning) right over the extremely noisy kitchen extractor fan!! As the room was quite warm we had to have the window open meaning this did wake us all up.

All in all a good stay and good value.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2016

After lovely stays at YHA Lizard and Coverack, this was definitely sub-standard. The 6 bed room was fine, although the storage cages looked battered. Part of the floor in the male toilet block was permanently wet (water hopefully!), there were no hooks near the wash basins to hang your towel etc, and no shower curtain. Dinner was not offered on the night I stayed, but,as I need gluten-free, I had brought my own food (the staff did tell me that they catered for food allergies, which was good). However, the Members' Kitchen was the worst I have ever seen - t towel left on the floor, filthy water and cutlery left in washing up bowls, washed dishes left by some "considerate" person, only one dish/cutlery rack for 2 sinks and no spoons available in the cutlery tray. No instructions in how to light the gas cooker, but a helpful guest explained that it wasn't obvious, but you had to use 2 switches, as the one labelled "cooker ignition" was not sufficient on its own!! When available, the staff were friendly, but clearly the 5 star Hygiene Rating only applies to the preparation of food in the staff kitchen.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank paulcos2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2016

Stayed with friends for the one night in a six bed with bathroom, had pre booked a gorge scrambling in the afternoon which was hilarious fun, the instructors kept the motivation of our group going the whole time. We had planned to walk to town to eat but stayed and ate in the hostel instead; the food was as good as the pub would have been but better value for money.

Stayed: March 2016
Thank luis i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews