We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
28
30
10
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
30
10
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomself catering kitchenan adventureen suite family roomevening mealperfect baseevery morningold railwaydevon coast to coastcar parkhostelcyclingfacilitiesbunkcorridorloungestorage
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 81 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2017

Stopped over at this little hostel on our way down into Cornwall. We had visited Castle Drogo and wanted to visit Okehampton Castle so was the ideal stop-over point. Perfect location - slightly remote but with easy access to town. Self catering kitchen had all you needed (hob, microwave, oven etc.) It also had a games room and lounge area which were great! Would definitely stay there again if needed.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary S, Marketing Manager at YHA Okehampton, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Many thanks for your feedback. We agree that Castle Drogo and Okehampton Castle are great places to visit on your way to Cornwall. Next time you might want to try Museum of Dartmoor Life, Finch Foundry or RHS Rosemoor. You'll be pleased to know that some parts of the hostel are being refreshed this winter and that we have taken notice of the comments that visitors have given on the areas most in need of attention and extra facilities. We hope you'll return soon to see the hostel if you are passing in this direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2017

A nice hostel in a quiet, out of the way location. There's a patch of grass that the kids could use for a kick about. There is a quiet lounge and a games room, which were on opposite sides of the hostel. The rooms were spacious, but lacked storage. Plenty of toilets/showers along the main corridor and all clean. The rooms were rather hot and the window only opened a little way. I found that propping the lounge door open, cooled the corridor, but it's a fire door so it's not really a solution. The kitchen was small and rather chaotic at peak meal times and the fridges were rammed. Plenty of sitting in the dining areas though and some outside for eating al fresco. The restaurant was popular with a variety of meals, but we cooked our own. The main attraction at the hostel, were the activities on offer for kids and families, however we didn't partake in them. We did hire bikes though and had a great day out on the Granite Way. Perhaps next time we'll try some of the activities.

Room Tip: Nearer the lounge rather than the games room
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JanPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary S, Marketing Manager at YHA Okehampton, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Many thanks for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. You'll be pleased to hear that some parts of the hostel are being refreshed this winter and that we have taken notice of the comments that visitors have given on the areas most in need of attention and extra facilities. The WIFI has just been upgraded to cover a greater area, although the length of the building means there is still better signal nearer to reception and the dining room. The activity programme runs during the summer holidays and there are family discounts for some days (paddle day and rock day) and these are suitable for 8 upwards. There are other activities for those aged 5 upwards. We hope you'll return soon to see the hostel if you are passing in this direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2017

Perfect place for a overnight stop while cycling the Devon Coast to Coast route from Ilfracombe to Plymouth. The en-suite family room was basic but clean and comfortable and the staff were all friendly and helpful. We walked into town for our evening meal but the breakfast was perfect for a long day in the saddle. Secure bike storage was also much appreciated.

The location is perfect to get you underway on Cycle Route 27 towards Plymouth in the morning, although being at the top of a very steep hill it is a slightly unpleasant way to finish the 55 miles from Ilfracombe.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BarryNicholls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary S, Marketing Manager at YHA Okehampton, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Many thanks for your feedback. We agree that the Devon Coast to Coast cycle ride is fabulous. It's a great challenge to attempt this ride and we often have cyclists using our facilities in both directions, during the July/August period and week-ends between May and mid-July. The last hill is not the best end to the day from Ilfracombe, although if you want it is possible to pre-book an evening meal, which means you don't need to walk back down again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2017

If you haven't been to a YHA for a while, try this place as it will be a treat. If your memories are of customer service akin to Attila the Hun, you will find things have moved on. It's a fantastic building, and old railway shed, converted to a high standard. Standard rooms as you would get in any YHA to be fair. The shower, whilst a tight squeeze, was utterly fantastic in terms o power and heat. The games room and lounge were big and spacious and well equipped although the TVwas difficult to operate. Bar and cafe and kitchen area was great. Food was good. The kitchen for your use was a little small but I guess most bought food from the service area. There is a garden for a kickabout and a bike hire place in the corner of the car park plus an adventure company on site. Brillant place. Give it a go.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RichTetbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary S, Marketing Manager at YHA Okehampton, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Many thanks for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a good experience during your visit to YHA Okehampton. We will be refreshing the site this winter and hope you'll be able to return at some stage to see the changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2017

The bunk bed was surprisingly comfy, except when the fire alarm went off late one night. Cooked breakfast provided every morning, including my veggie and soya options. Really tasty. Stayed for 4 nights over Easter half term so quite busy and a bit noisy at times.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank smooglies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary S, marketing manager at YHA Okehampton, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Many thanks for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a good experience during your visit to YHA Okehampton and that he catering team dealt with your soya/veggie requirments. We will be refreshing the site this winter and hope you'll be able to return at some stage to see the changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews