We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely YHA hostel facilities, welcoming and homely”
Review of YHA Okehampton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
YHA Okehampton
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Camped during wet period. Lots of ground water, one other camper so able to select a reasonable pitch. Grass very long so needed wellies to keep dry, kept spare pair of shoes in drying room always. Traveled by bus, although parking available for cars. Bus stop about half a mile from hostel but it is up hill most of the way.Hostel facilities great, lovely setting of the old railway station such a shame it only runs in the summer on Sundays or we would have traveled by train. Right next door to the Granite Way and bikes for hire so would like to visit again and go cycling. The old converted building has a delightful lounge to relax in and a separate games room. Showers hot and plentiful and a good self catering kitchen and lovely dining room. Can have meals prepared if you book. Staff very helpful and friendly. Will definitely come again for longer.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 166claret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary S, Marketing Manager at YHA Okehampton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Many thanks for your feedback. We agree that it would be great if the railway ran all year, and we still have hopes that GWR will put into place a trial service for commuters, as promised by the Secretary of State for Transport last year. I'll pass your comments about the long grass to the maintenance team, although I suspect the wet weather meant that mowing might have been more damaging that not mowing. Glad you enjoyed the facilities and the staff were accommodating. We hope you'll return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2017

Nice welcome. Very well kept YHA. Was grateful for the excellent drying rooms. Everything very clean and comfortable and it was nice to see some of the character of the old Goods Shed retained. Appreciated he Doom Bar!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary S, Marketing Manager at YHA Okehampton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Many thanks for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed the facilities and the staff were accommodating and that we still had the Doom Bar on sale (it's the one of the managers favourites, so often available). We hope you'll return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We have stayed in many YHA's and this one is perhaps little more tired than others we have stayed in recently. We had family room with en-suite and the room was fine but the shower smelt musty and the bathroom in general looked very tired and in need of an update. Self catering kitchen was not as big as others, but was not an issue for us and you share the dining room with those who have bought breakfast.
We had our evening meal here - nothing special but met our needs and the children were happy.
A bit of trek into Okehampton itself, but worth a wander and the park is quite interesting

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garnett40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary S, Marketing Manager at YHA Okehampton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Many thanks for your feedback. You'll be pleased to know that some parts of the hostel are being refreshed this winter and that we have taken notice of peoples comments on the areas most in need of attention as last winter most efforts focussed on the YHA Bracken Tor site. We hope you'll return soon to see the hostel on your way to Cornwall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

The hostel was quite busy and because of the architecture it was quite loud in the public rooms like kitchen, dining room etc.
Apart of this, our room ( Shared room with 6 beds) was too small. Because it was fully booked, you nearly hadn't any place in the room to put your bag to, the wardrobe/locker was broken. Because we were on the ground floor, you couldn't really open the window widely, so it had stunk in the room.
There were only two sockets in the room, underneath the lower beds, so no chance to charge your camera or mobile phone except in the lounge. The lounge was quite cold and uncomfortable, but the people met there to charge their electric things. Wi-Fi was also only available in some of the public areas.
We were happy to stay only one night there, because it wasn't cosy and comfortable at all. But very nice staff and a good location to start your day in Dartmoor n.p.

Room Tip: I guess to book a private room, especially for families, is the best. Not experienced that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sandra-k-ug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary S, Marketing Manager at YHA Okehampton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Many thanks for your feedback. You'll be pleased to know that some parts of the hostel are being refreshed this winter and that we have taken notice of the comments that visitors have given on the areas most in need of attention and extra facilities. The lounge and the Games rooms do have a large roof area, as it is a converted building, but whilst makes it appear more spacious, it can also more difficult to heat in the winter. The WIFI has just been upgraded to cover a greater area, although the length of the building means there is still better signal nearer to reception and the dining room. We hope you'll return soon to see the hostel if you are passing in this direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

I stayed here while doing Lands End to John O' Groats on a bike and was travelling very light, but it had everything I needed. There is a good trying room and cycle store. Most hostels now seem to offer one choice of evening meal, but this one offers a range of options. There is also a bike shop on site, which was very useful, and they even fixed my bike before I left. Good stop on day 1 of the trip.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary S, Marketing Manager at YHA Okehampton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Many thanks for your feedback. Our Bike Shop technicians always try to assist travellers passing this way. We hope you managed to complete the Lands End John o'Groats cycle ride without further incident. It's a epic feat to attempt this ride, however long you take and whatever mode of transport (walking/cycling) you use. We often have cyclists using our facilities in both directions, during the July/August period and weekends between May and mid-July.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Stopped over at this little hostel on our way down into Cornwall. We had visited Castle Drogo and wanted to visit Okehampton Castle so was the ideal stop-over point. Perfect location - slightly remote but with easy access to town. Self catering kitchen had all you needed (hob, microwave, oven etc.) It also had a games room and lounge area which were great! Would definitely stay there again if needed.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary S, Marketing Manager at YHA Okehampton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Many thanks for your feedback. We agree that Castle Drogo and Okehampton Castle are great places to visit on your way to Cornwall. Next time you might want to try Museum of Dartmoor Life, Finch Foundry or RHS Rosemoor. You'll be pleased to know that some parts of the hostel are being refreshed this winter and that we have taken notice of the comments that visitors have given on the areas most in need of attention and extra facilities. We hope you'll return soon to see the hostel if you are passing in this direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

A nice hostel in a quiet, out of the way location. There's a patch of grass that the kids could use for a kick about. There is a quiet lounge and a games room, which were on opposite sides of the hostel. The rooms were spacious, but lacked storage. Plenty of toilets/showers along the main corridor and all clean. The rooms were rather hot and the window only opened a little way. I found that propping the lounge door open, cooled the corridor, but it's a fire door so it's not really a solution. The kitchen was small and rather chaotic at peak meal times and the fridges were rammed. Plenty of sitting in the dining areas though and some outside for eating al fresco. The restaurant was popular with a variety of meals, but we cooked our own. The main attraction at the hostel, were the activities on offer for kids and families, however we didn't partake in them. We did hire bikes though and had a great day out on the Granite Way. Perhaps next time we'll try some of the activities.

Room Tip: Nearer the lounge rather than the games room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JanPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary S, Marketing Manager at YHA Okehampton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Many thanks for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. You'll be pleased to hear that some parts of the hostel are being refreshed this winter and that we have taken notice of the comments that visitors have given on the areas most in need of attention and extra facilities. The WIFI has just been upgraded to cover a greater area, although the length of the building means there is still better signal nearer to reception and the dining room. The activity programme runs during the summer holidays and there are family discounts for some days (paddle day and rock day) and these are suitable for 8 upwards. There are other activities for those aged 5 upwards. We hope you'll return soon to see the hostel if you are passing in this direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Okehampton hotels
0.9 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 4 in Okehampton
327 reviews
0.7 km away
Bracken Tor
Bracken Tor
#4 of 8 in Okehampton
17 reviews
6 km away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Betty Cottles Inn
Betty Cottles Inn
#1 of 1 in Graddon Cross
114 reviews
1.7 km away
Upcott House
Upcott House
#10 of 25 in Okehampton
45 reviews
0.9 km away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#16 of 25 in Okehampton
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Okehampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Okehampton

Address: Klondyke Road, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 1EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Okehampton
Price Range: $40 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Okehampton 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of Dartmoor with direct access to the moor we offer friendly budget accommodation for families, groups and individuals. This Devon Hostel provides self-catering, bed and breakfast or full board accommodation although special diets (e.g. gluten-free) require advance notice. A range of over 20 different adventure activities can be booked including Big Oke Abseil, high ropes, archery, rock climbing, gorge scrambling, mountain boarding, watersports, cycling and pony-trekking. Cycle Hire available on site. During school holidays the Rail Bar serves beer, wine and local cider. Parking for 28 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and PitchUp so you can book your YHA Okehampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Okehampton UK - Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing