We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Olde World but fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fountain Hotel

The Fountain Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fountain Hotel
Ranked #15 of 27 Okehampton B&B and Inns
Bath
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Olde World but fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed one night at the Fountain Inn en route to Dartmouth. Great location on the edge of Dartmoor and easy to find. The room was a little tired but was good value for the price. Good selection of food in the bar and a great breakfast in the morning. Would return again

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyAlford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    18
    7
    6
    9
See reviews for
10
27
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
225 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed in the Family Room overlooking the river and courtyard which has a large double room and adjoining room with bunks for children. We found it very comfortable, though agree with others that the macerator toilet can be temperamental (make sure the handle is up or it grinds away all night!). Staff were very helpful and the food was very pleasant - local sausages and mustard mash was a highlight. Childrens portions of all dishes available. Full marks to the kitchen also for allergy awareness which can be a problem in many establishments. The back bar has a real old fashioned local pub feel to it - there were a couple of people playing instruments and others joining in with a wide range of songs on Saturday night and we were made very welcome by staff and locals alike.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2010

I have just come back from a five day stay at the Fountain Hotel; I was dealing with a flood that had occured in my father's house as a result of the recent cold snap. The Fountain was a wonderful place to come back to; warm and welcoming. The staff couldn't have been more helpful; one very kind staff member even lent me her reading glasses when I lost mine. The food was excellent - I particularly enjoyed the pheasant pie with juniper berries. The breakfasts were just what you wanted on a cold morning - only problem is I have put on a pound or two. My room was comfortable - a good size for a single; the macerator toilet complained of in another review was working fine though it did make the odd gurgle. In all excellent value and I will certainly return if I need to come back to that part of Devon.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue_mcdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

The bar staff when we arrived were exceptionally nice and helpful and the morning staff were very nice too. However, the room was really pretty awful due largely to the macerator toilet which was giving out a smell of sewage and also kept working all night. There was clearly a serious problem as when you emptied the bason brown bits bubbled up from the shower tray. We did not move rooms as we were undressed by the time we became aware of this and guessed this would be a problem elsewhere but also because we didnt intend having a shower. The staff took £10 off the room but quite honestly if I was the owner I think I would have refunded the cost of the room and just charged for the breakfast and supper. Such a shame to criticise the hotel as the staff were really exceptional

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arderne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Okehampton hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

This was the first time I have stayed at the Fountain Hotel and we will definitely be going back. The food was fantasic and I understand that they have recently appointed a very high cailbre new head chef. The rooms are very cosy and the lounge bar has a wonderfull open fire. I would definitely recommend the Fountain if you are plaaning to stay in Devon.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkie021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

Make sure you ask for your fried eggs runny if you want them, otherwise they'll be solid at breakfast and for the mixed grill, where everything else was overdone too, horrid. Careful about the Sunday roast as well, veg seemed to have been done days in advance. Had a lamb shank for dinner and it was rubbery. I'd eat somewhere else, though the pub and service there is warm.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fishboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifaxl
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

Stayed three nights at the Fountain. Beds were child sized 2' 6" wide so sleep proved difficult. Room had radiators but was unheated. Wash basin was cracked. Bathroom window was plain glass so had to close curtains to use. No extracter fan. No internet, No phone in room, No robes. No handrail on steep stairs. Single glazed sash windows ensured you shared street noises and outside temperatures. You could clearly hear everything from adjacent rooms, from bathroom noises to conversations. If you're used to staying at a back packers this might appeal to you but it is a long way from a hotel experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mumford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Okehampton hotels
0.2 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
6.5 km away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 km away
Meadowlea Guest House
Meadowlea Guest House
#3 of 27 in Okehampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Upcott House
Upcott House
#9 of 27 in Okehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 km away
Elmfield
Elmfield
#11 of 27 in Okehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.3 km away
Okeside Cottage B&B
Okeside Cottage B&B
#12 of 27 in Okehampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Hotel

Property: The Fountain Hotel
Address: Fore Street, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 1AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Okehampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fountain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Fountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fountain Hotel Okehampton, UK - Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing