We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place & very clean bathroom”
Review of Upcott House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Upcott House
Ranked #10 of 24 Okehampton B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful place & very clean bathroom”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

A friend in Okehampton recommended this BB. I stayed in room 7. The room and bathroom were very clean. Staff were very helpful and professional. The price was a good value for money. I would recommend this BB. Looking forward to my next trip over to Devon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    11
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
18
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed for one night, very warm and friendly welcome (even our dog was welcome), lovely breakfast both good quality and freshly prepared with eggs laid that morning by their own chickens. Comfy room with balcony overlooking gorgeous view. Best of all was talking to Kay about all their environental initiatives, this ongoing project is their passion, with the long term aim of being completey self sustaining. The owners are very dynamic, pro-active and progressive in this area, and we were left in no doubt that they will achieve this aim!
Thankyou both

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franhan34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UpcottHse, Owner at Upcott House, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Glad that you enjoyed your stay and pleased that you appreciated our environmental efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stayed at this hotel as stopover on a cycle trip. Found it is the Sustrains Cycle Guide. I did research & seemed good choice with price at £28 pp BB for twin rooms. For that price I did not set expectations too high, but location seemed ideal & was advised had a dryer room for clothes if weather wet. (This place popular with walkers & cyclists, who could get wet with outdoor pursuits).
The grounds were large & seemed well kept. The building looked old, but oozed character. Rooms quite large & although a little dated (it added to character) were clean & comfortable. View from room was quite superb, overlooking north side of Dartmoor.
Breakfast (locally sourced) was excellent, and the owners were exceptionally helpful.
Hotel not licenced, but owner recommends local pubs & restuarants which are walkable downhill to town centre.
I thought the place was excellent value for money & would recommend to those seeking the opposite of a corporate chain hotel.
.

Room Tip: Only 2 floors, but no lift. Ask for room with garden view or overlooking Dartmoor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UpcottHse, Owner at Upcott House, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
We try to give value for money and this room is dedicated for walkers and cyclists and all those who want an economy option but with home comforts on hand should they need them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

On arrival we were met at the front door by Buster the terrier who make us feel at home.

Upcott House is a family home of grand proportions with a lovely atmosphere and tasteful decoration in period style. The large, lovely, four poster bedroom did not include an ensuite bathroom but we knew that at the time of booking, so was not an issue. Our family of 4 had plenty of space in the room and we all greatly enjoyed it.

The suggestions we were given for dinner were excellent allowing us to enjoy a memorable meal in a small country pub.

As Upcott House was fairly full at the time of our stay, we were given a private dining room for breakfast and were waited on like royalty. The food was plentiful, great quality and tailored to suit our requirements.

Upcott House provided a memorable stay for all the right reasons.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UpcottHse, Owner at Upcott House, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
418 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Just a 10 minute sloping walk down into town, longer going back up. Owners friendly & welcoming. Breakfast lovely although we waited 20 minutes for the toast they had forgotten to bring. Rooms need updating - ours still had the 1970's Harvest Gold/Sunking bathroom suite with only a hand held shower, although the one next door had a white suite with shower cubicle.

Room Tip: Ask for a shower & you may have a better room than we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hildenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upcott, Owner at Upcott House, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Thank you for your positive comments. Major refurbishment work is undertaken in the winter; this bathroom and the hall carpet are next on the list for refurbishment in 2011 as you were aware. With a property this size (52 rooms) you can appreciate that refurbishment is a rolling programme. You had booked a twin room with a balcony and modern shower room (one of the best rooms in the house) which you declined in favour of this room. We agree that the coloured suite is of a period and considered somewhat retro these days and it is the final bathroom due to be updated. However, everything remains clean and comfortable as confirmed in our recent inspection by the Dartmoor Partnership Sep 2011 and all previous quests have been more than happy with the room that you had. You are the first to complain. All others have found our accommodation to be of good value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed for 1 night last September and have been meaning to go back ever since (too busy until now). It is a really beautiful house with charm and caracter. The landlady is very helpful and friendly without intruding on your privacy. We loved the balcony which overlooks the garden, we had our breakfast served here which was lovely. We are hoping to stay again this week and will keep returning when we can get away.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upcott, Owner at Upcott House, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Thank you for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2011

I have just returned from my fourth stay at Upcott House, and the welcome was as warm as ever. There is something very special about this gracious Edwardian house and its lovely grounds, and returning to it is always like returning "home". This visit I even had the luxury of having one of the original Victorian WCs for my exclusive use!
I always sleep so well when I am there - thanks to the pure Devon air and the most peaceful atmosphere.
I now look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Book in good time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hfcapener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upcott, Owner at Upcott House, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Always a delight to have you stay with us. Glad that you enjoyed the Victorian W.C. We try to keep as many of the original features of the house while at the same time offering modern conveniences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Okehampton hotels
0.7 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
178 reviews
11.5 km away
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
7.3 km away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Betty Cottles Inn
Betty Cottles Inn
#1 of 1 in Graddon Cross
101 reviews
1.0 km away
Meadowlea Guest House
Meadowlea Guest House
#3 of 24 in Okehampton
114 reviews
4.9 km away
Fairway Lodge
Fairway Lodge
#7 of 24 in Okehampton
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upcott House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upcott House

Property: Upcott House
Address: Upcott House Upcott Hill, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Okehampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Upcott House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upcott House is an Eco Friendly B&B. Set in 4.5 acres of Devon countryside in the Okement Valley overlooking Dartmoor, the location is peaceful but only a 10 minute walk from town. The house is an elegant Edwardian property - big but not a hotel - very much a family home. We welcome guests who have children and dogs. Buster our Jack Russell particularly enjoys the company. We endeavor to set a Green example to our guests in the interests of lowering our carbon footprint and offer a 10% discount to those who travel to us by sustainable means i.e. on foot, bicycle or electric car. We have two electric cars ourselves and for a small fee would be happy to pick you up from the airport or Exeter - there being no proper connection between Exeter and Okehampton after about 6.00 p.m. on the bus and no train connection at all. 90% of our goods and services are provided locally thus reducing the use of fossil fuel transport. We have a 10kw solar PV array in our paddock, rainwater harvesting, recycling, our own boreholes and practice energy conservation. Your breakfast will be served downstairs or in your room. It is freshly cooked and has either home grown, home reared or local produce i.e. our own eggs and bacon, home made preserves or honey from George and Margaret Tomkin from Vivian's Honey in Hatherleigh. Vegetarian and special diets can be easily catered for with advance notice please. There is plenty of off street parking, safe storage for bikes and an electric car charging station for your use. The grounds contain many species of bird life and the garden is a quiet and safe haven for children and adults alike. Make a visit to see the piggies while you are with us. They are Tamworth crossed with Sandy Blacks and very comical. Coming soon will be some goats in the paddock. Imported for their ability to eat our brambles and for their milk because we really like goats cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Upcott House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upcott House Okehampton, UK - Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing