We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
94
25
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
25
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river complimentary cream tea kingfisher room east dart clapper bridge dartmoor countryside on arrival evening meal one night stay three course meal roll top bath tea making facilities delicious meal plenty of hot water ideal location excellent view peace and tranquility
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 124 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2017

Very good food, a great view from room 'house Martin' of the East Dart. bed hard. Very comfortable lounge. A very relaxed place to stay. Central location for walking Dartmoor. Peace and quite a given.

Room Tip: House Martin has lovely view of East Dart but bed is hard
Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ashar-artist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2017

Ideal location for walking trips, easy access to the northern part of Dartmoor. Loads of parking. Very good facilities. Excellent service. Fantastic food. Good location in the centre of the Dartmoor National Park.

Room Tip: Look at photos on their website and take your pick.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaughanster2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen H, Owner at Lydgate House, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Thank you for your kind review. Karen and I are glad you enjoyed your stay, and the food. Hopefully you will have better weather next time you come walking on Dartmoor.


Kind regards
Stephen H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2017

We stayed at Lydgate House for 3 nights in September, our room was Buzzard and it was huge with a 6ft bed a great view and a roll top bath. Breakfast was great with lots of choice and we had the evening meal there on the first night and it was very nice and good value for money. Our hosts Steve and Karen were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Buzzard is the biggest room and probably worth the little bit extra.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Coastwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen H, Owner at Lydgate House, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Dear Coastwalkers

Thank you for your kind comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

kind regards
Steve and Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2017

Lovely guest house. Stunning grounds with the east dart river. Postbridge has excellent pub. And the clapper bridge which is just a wonderful location. Quality of bed was a cut above most hotels and an excellent choice of food at breakfast, very good value in a wonderful settung

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkw796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen H, Owner at Lydgate House, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2017

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2017

One night stay. Excellent night's sleep in a small and comfortable room (Wren) that had all the basic requirements and a few more. Check in and checkout quick and easy. Breakfast first class in all respects and far superior to the much more expensive Two Bridges hotel up the road. Would be happy to use this hotel again. Good value.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ObserverSoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen H, Owner at Lydgate House, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Thank you very much for your comments. When I first joined this Industry ( 30 years ago ) I was told that Breakfast was the most important meal of the day for Customers, and we have always tried to remember that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews