We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful and lovely cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
No expense spared on the very comfortable king sized double or large twin bed(s)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
No expense spared on the very comfortable king sized double or large twin bed(s)
The exposed original oak beams are perhaps not often seen elsewhere
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
No expense spared on the very comfortable king sized double or large twin bed(s)
The exposed original oak beams are perhaps not often seen elsewhere
A large dining room table for two or plenty of room to invite friends for a meal!
Cosy wood burning stove with a plentiful supply of logs
A sleepy quiet lane - view from Shippon
1 view from shippon
Modern well equiped kitchen
Nearby view - beautiful Widecombe valley
1 view from Shippon Garden - spend time relaxing and watching lambs and foals playing
1 view from garden - quiet and secluded - and what a view beyond!
1 door
Horse Riding from your door at Shilstone Rocks
Our small flock of pedigree Dartmoor White Face Sheep
Horse Riding on your doorstep
Our Herd of Red Devon and Dexter Cattle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Harveyrab...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Peaceful and lovely cottage”
Reviewed November 19, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Shippon for 2 nights last week and absolutely loved it. The cottage is part of a dairy/barn that has been converted into really nice accommodation. There is only one bedroom which suited us fine but I think there may be a campbed if you have a child? The cottage was really nicely decorated and we especially loved the bedroom and log burner, which was easy to use. Just ten minutes up the lane was the Rugglestone Inn where we had dinner each night, it had a great range of cider and a nice fire! The area has absolutely no light or noise pollution (except for a few cows or ponies!) and so it is a really great place to unwind. Definately a place to go to get away from everything. The Shippon is also pretty central to loads of walks so a really good place to stay. I would also like to mention the warm welcome we received from Alona and also say thank you for the milk and wine she so kindly provided! Will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a romantic getaway.”
Reviewed November 18, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We visited in November when the weather was pants. Didn't matter one bit. We received a friendly welcome and were pleased to be shown around this lovely barn conversion. It was warm and cozy with a woodburner for late afternoon and evening warmth and atmosphere. Our dog was plotted up in front of it most of the time! The Kitchen was well equipped and the bed comfy. No mobile phone signal but the WiFi was useful. Would we recommend? Absolutely. Will we go back? Hopefully!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1montyste...
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful comfortable cottage”
Reviewed October 15, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a wonderful time in Widecombe on the Moor and our stay in this cottage was just perfect as the base we needed to sight-see around Devon. The cottage was equipped with everything you would need for home away from home - including a very welcome bottle of Chardonnay in the fridge. Thank you Alona for a fantastic week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosy cottage feel
Liked least: A bit further from the village than i expected
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
telldell
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect, Peaceful Country Cottage”
Reviewed October 11, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The Shippon provided wonderful accommodation just outside of Widecombe. It's in a great location to explore everything Dartmoor has to offer and there's an excellent pub (The Rugglestone) a ten minute walk up the lane (take a torch if you are walking back after dark). The cottage is a converted barn and was roomy, cosy, comfortable and very well equipped. The owners were very welcoming and left us to enjoy our break in their fantastic cottage. Sadly we only stayed for two nights but would very easily have stayed for longer and would happily recommend to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillinham...
Hampton Hill, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A lovely place in the country”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We rented the Shippon for a week's break and it was delightful. The cottage is characterful, clean and well-equipped and has its own private garden space across the (quiet) road which looks over fields. It's a 10 minute walk to the Rugglestone pub.

Tom showed us round on our arrival and then we had the place to ourselves. The main room is very large but feels cosy, the kitchen has everything you need and the bedroom and en suite were nicely decorated and comfortable. There was a double duvet on the bed when we arrived but we took one out to avoid roasting! There are a few creaky floorboards and the tweeting of hungry nesting birds in the adjacent barn but it's the country and that's to be expected.

We arrived later than anticipated and didn't have a chance to get to the shops but there was tea, coffee, sugar and a bottle of wine awaiting us. They'd forgotten to provide us with milk but we scrounged some from the local pub!

The location is excellent for walking in and around Widecombe (very nice newly-refurbished cafe on the green) and further afield.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful rural setting
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverleyc...
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely, comfortable , warm, cosy”
Reviewed March 6, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This one bedroomed stable conversion was beautiful. Very well cared for and comfortable. The kitchen was well equiped. The bed very comfortable, and bedding luxurious . Very hot water ,and lovely warm bathroom. I would love to stay again and probably will do !! The only thing that I would remember next time is my slippers as the floors are cold !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ziggyRedr...
redruth, cornwall, uk
2 reviews
“unique converted barn,away from the maddening crowd.”
Reviewed February 18, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

If you are looking for somewhere quiet this is it.We stayed here for 3 nights mid Feb 2015 and found everything to our satisfaction .The owners were very friendly and have thought of everything .The log fire was a feature and together with the electric heating we were never cold.Upstairs the bedroom with ensuite was massive with a 6 foot bed beautifully presented with the bedding. A wonderful old country pub 15 mins walk down a country lane did superb meals it was so popular booking is recommended. We would have no hesitation to book again and really enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and quiet
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing