We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The ambience and setting of Smugglers Cottage...”
other travellers have booked this property
Smugglers Cottage Dittisham, the perfect riverside location.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Smugglers Cottage Dittisham, the perfect riverside location.
Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Smugglers Cottage Dittisham, the perfect riverside location.
Dining Room
Dining Room
Living Room
Upper Terrace
Kitchen
Master Bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Dittisham Quay
Terrace at dusk
Dittisham
View from the terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dittisham, Dartmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maxine L...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The ambience and setting of Smugglers Cottage surpassed our expectations and ensured a wonderful holiday”
Reviewed June 10, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Five friends from Australia fell in love with the appeal of Smugglers Cottage as presented on line. It did not disappoint All information provided ensured we were well prepared for accessing the cottage and for 2 weeks we were able to relax and enjoy all the cottage, the setting, the village and the surrounding area could offer. The information pack ensured car parking and wood for fire were easy to access and the outdoor areas ensured we could enjoy all that the view suggested. The cottage is well placed to use the Ferry to Dartmouth, enjoy magnificent food nearby, and share breakfast with the swans arriving with the tide. The caretaker was prompt with assistance when required, and ensured our departure was not inconvenienced by the tide. We look forward to a return holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
240kathyc
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An extraordinarily beautiful place”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage is as beautiful and peaceful as it looks - its position on the bank of the Dart river is stunning - 100yrs from the front door is the local pub the Ferry Boat Inn with great food and great banter- you can ring a bell outside the pub at the pontoon and a small boat arrives to take you the other side of the river to 'Greenway' where you can visit Agatha Christies breathtaking holiday home which sits on a hill top -and walk on further through a forest walk down to Kingswear . Another river boat takes you to the beautiful ,vibrant town of Dartmouth where you can shop the little lanes, have a crab sandwich or take a steam train to the Victorian Holiday town of Paignton - The cottage is very traditional - stone floors and thick walls - the owners have painstakinly retained all the character of the building but all modern conveniences are there - the bedrooms are lovely and bright - the master, with ensuite utterly charming - and the dining room very cosy especially with a fire roaring - it is well equipped and plenty of heat and hot water- the outside terraces are lovely to sit on at any time of day from 6am when only the ducks are awake till moonlight when the last boats stop chugging - my husband fished from the terrace whilst i caught a bucket of crabs - this place will remain in your hearts for a long time after you leave it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: crabbing from the terrace - and waking up to that gorgeous view
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J F
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful peaceful break at Smugglers Cottage”
Reviewed March 7, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I together with our three children and two of their friends (all in their 20s) spent a long weekend at Smugglers Cottage at the end of Feb/early March. We were bowled over by the location, right on the River Dart, utter peace and quiet and beautiful views. We were also very impressed by the accommodation which was warm and cosy and with plenty of room for all 7 of us. There was also plenty of hot water (young people are always having showers!) because we read the instructions left by the owners about using the booster switch in both bathrooms. The property which is an enchanting and very historic cottage with thick walls and low ceilings was clean and tidy when we arrived, and also stocked with all the mod cons you need in the 21st century (efficient heating, hot water, internet, TV, washing machine etc etc). It is worth noting that the cottage is at the bottom of a very steep hill and that cars have to be parked at the top of the hill, unless you park for a short while at low tide on the beach beside the cottage. All of us would happily go back, especially in the summer when it would be enchanting. Lots to do and see all around, even out of season.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location and comfortable beds
Liked least: Steep hills of Dittisham!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treveri20...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“'Loved it'”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is a beautiful cottage, with lots of character in a fantastic location.
We booked it for a family celebration and had a brilliant time.
It was very well equipped and had everything we needed. We had our meals in the lovely dining room and even had breakfast on the sunny terrace for 2 of our mornings (in February). The lounge was warm and cosy, once we'd got the wood burning stove going.
The bedrooms were all also nice and comfortable with views overlooking the estuary.
I was a little concerned following a previous negative review but I really don't know what he was talking about. - of course it's a little dark - it's a characterful thatched cottage - but it was most definitely not dingy
We were a family of 6 and had plenty of hot water using the booster switches as advised and after a long walk had 5 showers and 1 bath with no problems.
The setting is brilliant, really peaceful and quiet, and although visiting in February we were very fortunate with the weather and thoroughly enjoyed sitting out on the terrace for breakfast looking out over the river as the sun rose.
We all thought the cottage was great and with two very friendly pubs in the village it was a wonderful long weekend break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: needed to get the fires going to get it warm and cosy
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra A
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super duper”
Reviewed February 18, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Don't listen to some of the more negative reviews here. Some people obviously shop in ikea, live in a new build plastic house and dont value unique character or individuality. This is a 400 year old property, they weren't focusing on velux windows back then.

Well we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It is in the most incredible location, beautiful scenery, quiet and peaceful and near the most beautiful walks we've had the pleasure of going on. The small village it's nestled in is a beauty and features a cosy pub with a good menu and decent food....get the fish and chips.

The cottage is stunning. It is long and squat with many amazing architectural qualities, every room on the ground floor features a burner to keep warm, a pleasure to be able to keep warm in such a rudimentary fashion. All the bedrooms and reception rooms face the river and there is a large patio at the front which would be perfect for summer evenings. The beds are comfy and the sheets were pristine. All in all a suburb place where you can escape the monotony of the every day and enjoy the basics. Go...you won't be disappointed...just don't expect underfloor heating but do expect a warm and characterful cottage that is truly exceptional.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favourite place.”
Reviewed February 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I booked the cottage this year with my friends to celebrate New Years (I had also stayed here with my family two weeks previously and decided it would be the perfect New Years location). The location is spectacular on the Estuary of the Dart, the view on opening the curtains every morning changes with the tide and is always breathtaking.

The building itself is full of character, the living room is comfortable and with the fire going is warm and very cosy. The kitchen is well equipped with all the facilities we needed with a good cooker, washing machine and dishwasher.

A 2 minute walk along the beach is a lovely pub, with a great atmosphere, good food and we found out - now offering takeaways and only a 10 minute drive from supermarkets in Dartmouth.

Will hope to be wanting to book the cottage up for many years to come.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah N
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
Reviewed January 17, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
4
people found this review helpful

This is the most beautiful holiday cottage in a idyllic location right on the estuary. From the outside this cottage is picture postcard perfect and an ideal location for a summer holiday.
We loved driving up the beach!
I really struggled with the inside of the cottage and we actually cut our holiday short because we were struggling so much. It was extremely dark and dingy and we could not make it brighter. The lamps were very low wattage and although this is atmospheric you do need to be able to see! It was very cold upon arrival and there were only 4 logs left. You definitely need to take logs during the winter.
I think if there were a family of 8 you would really struggle for hot water - we had no hot water for the first day and it was far from relaxing.
This is the most expensive holiday cottage we have stayed in for this time of year and it was not worth the extra money.
The kitchen and bathrooms were a disappointment - the kitchen cupboards were damp and musty and the downstairs smelt of damp dogs - we sorted this with scented candles.
The bedrooms were comfortable and the linen clean.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Poor value for money and hated the dinginess and lighting - poor and dangerous lamps
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2015
Our cottage is set in the most idyllic and peaceful setting and offers extremely good value for such a prime location in South Devon. The property is over 600 years old and we have tried to retain the traditional character as much as possible. If you are looking for clean lines, and a modern white and bright feel then this is not the property for you. We have flag stone floors, stone walls and beams and a we love it.
The property warms up beautifully once the heaters are turned on and there is plenty of hot water provided from 2 large hot water tanks. There are boost options for the hot water which can be turned on at any time, and the tanks hold more than enough water for a family of 8. However our system does not work like a modern combi boiler, the water has to be heated up in advance, this only takes around 15 minutes. Instruction on how to use the hot water system are provided in the property manual.
We are sorry that Smugglers did not suit your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing