We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended”
other travellers have booked this property
modern comfy lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
modern comfy lounge
sun trap dining with rural views for all your self catering needs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
modern comfy lounge
sun trap dining with rural views
for all your self catering needs
ground floor, all yours to enjoy.
Low tide on Newbery beach open to dogs all year round
modern master bedroom with ample storage
two single bedroom with TV
all bedlinen is supplied at Pebbles
beautiful Combe Martin Bay
washing machine, fridge freezer, hob, cooker & microwave.
bright and airy
modern leather seating for 4
clean and tidy shower room
WC with wash basin
safe beaches
original Victorian features, with a modern twist.
Victorian Character Seaside Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LizzyMall...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Damp and smelly”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

There is a big problem with the smell of damp in the first bedroom (where my husband and I slept for the convenience of our foster daughter). It is not only offensive, but made sleeping in there really uncomfortable, as the sheets and duvet were also damp. One night I ended up having to sleep on the sofa because I was feeling quite ill with the smell. The apartment was relatively clean ( not pristine, by anyone's standards) but there were stains on the bedroom carpet (which I scrubbed off myself by getting down on my knees with a bucket of water and some vanish spray). ~There was signs of mould on the ceiling and walls and skirtings. I had paid extra for the beds to be made up, and was disappointed to find that the sheets on the single beds were actually not sheets at all but were waterproof mattress covers. The apartment is one of two halves. The kitchen and the sitting room are pleasant and well stocked with all you need, but the shower room is tiny (and because it is in the first bedroom and un-ventilated is the cause, I'm sure, of damp). There was also a smell of cat urine in there which clearly won't surprise the owner as she mentions that if the dog flap isn't suitably covered, stray cats do wander into the property and spray. The toilet was so tiny it was a challenge in itself really. But then, the master bedroom, which my daughter stopped in, was really pleasant, and relatively smell free. I think I would have really enjoyed this stay had the damp issue not been such a big one, and if this could be sorted (by either supplying a de-humidifier or getting the property properly damp-proofed) it would have been worth the money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked the sitting room, and the large well stocked kitchen (apart from the grill which didn't work)
Liked least: The damp and the mould in the bedroom.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2014
As with alot of old victorian houses damp can be a slight problem, especially on a damp rainy week like yours. Thank you for your review. We have taken your comments on board,
We already have plans to change carpets and install a humidifier at the end of the season this year. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delphine...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The flat is lovely, exactly as advertised. The beach is very close, the village is nice, and the park is awesome for walks.
It is also easy to visit other parts of Devon as the location is pretty close to everything.
I would highly recommend this flat for vacations, a lot of things to do around for everybody, in a very nice place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback, it always make us feel proud to
know that people find Combe Martin a fabulous place to stay. Also that
Pebbles is comfortable and highly recommended.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Apr 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Pebbles, I am glad you enjoyed your stay, We always welcome peoples comments and are pleased to hear that your children loved it too, as mine do, when we go.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lynzim909
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well equipped apartment”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We found the apartment conveniently located for the local shops, beach and pubs and there are many places of interest nearby to visit, even in January. The apartment was well equipped and warm even though it was cold and wet outside. There were plenty of books, puzzles and games to keep us occupied.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Pebbles, it means a lot to receive
positive feed back, and glad you enjoyed your stay, even if it was the wettest January on record!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mia M
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Only for dog lovers!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This property is in a great location and has all the makings of an excellent holiday rental, but unfortunately is grossly let down by the overpowering wet dog smell and very poor beds.
The owners were very understanding when we checked out early as they are obviously fully aware of this problem.
The private garden is also not really up to standard. The front has a very small area to sit out on, but it's open, with a fair drop, onto a busy road. Absolutely not suitable for children or animals. The back has a very thing long paved area leading up to incredibly steep stairs - again, not suitable for children or even animals.
It also took more than a month for the owners to return our deposit.
Not recommendable at this stage.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2013
Thank you for your response, we are so sorry that you found Pebbles not up to your standard, we like to advertise as a dog friendly property, and like to think that the property is affordable and great value for money.
Also glad to hear you were happy with your refund.
Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathH143
1 review
“Lovely place, really close to the beach, pubs and shops.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Pebbles the Knoll is situated right by the lovely beach at Combe Martin, there is the main beach and then a dog friendly beach right by that. There is also a lovely countryside walk at the rear if the apartment. Everything is a 2 minute walk away.
The apartment has everything you might need, a well equipped kitchen, TV, wifi, books and board games if you choose.
The apartment is clean and modern throughout.
I would recommend this place, and we will hopefully return next year.

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such positive feedback.
So glad you enjoyed your holiday at PEBBLES THE KNOLL.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to relax
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Aug 2013
Thank you for your feedback, and so glad you had a great time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing