We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We look forward to going bac next year!”
other travellers have booked this property
Feature fireplace and countryside views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Feature fireplace and countryside views
Victorian Terrace - 1st and 2nd floor apartment Master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Feature fireplace and countryside views
Victorian Terrace - 1st and 2nd floor apartment
Master bedroom
Dining area
Countryside  views from the lounge
Family bathroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Family bedroom
Family bedroom
A wide  selection of board games for the whole family
Family bedroom
Daybed in family bedroom
View of the bay 2 minutes walk from Stones Throw
Another glorious view of the bay
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Breakfast bar in Kitchen
Kitchen with breakfast bar
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
alievans8...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We look forward to going bac next year!”
Reviewed November 7, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We went to Combe Martin for Oct half term and had a great time. The house was lovely, very clean, comfortable, plenty of space and perfect for us as a family with all the equipment you would need. The house is set within a lovely little village with convenient parking near by. The children loved exploring the caves and there is a great fish and chip shop! There is so much to do close by that we barely scratched the surface so we look forward to returning next year to explore some more.

The owner was very quick to respond to questions in a friendly manner and all information provided was just what we needed. The house does contain lots of stairs but our 2 year old had no problem negotiating them all! Thank you for providing a lovely place for us to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Stones Throw.

We have enjoyed many great holidays and long weekends , exploring the North Devon coastline ,surrounding countryside and attractions, we love the area. It is an ideal holiday destination with something to suit all ages.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future should you decide to book with us again. Best Wishes Clare F
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobie O
St. John's, Canada
1 review
“Impersonal Legalastic approach”
Reviewed October 31, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We booked this let at short notice, wishing to stay specificly in a property by the sea in this particular village, so the choice was limited.

I have acted as both a lessor and lesse of similar properties both in the UK and Canada I have never before been confroted by two five page documents, deliniating my responsibilitys including the nature of my travel insurance as a condition of booking.
Nevertheless owing to the time constraints I agreed to book the accomadation.

Linens were advertised as being provided, it was therefore somewhat off-putting to be informed after payment in full had been made that it was necessary to carry bath towels, Bath mat! and dish towels 4500 kilometers, by plane train, and bus to the accomadation, and of course back.
I enquired about bus services and was assured these were good, however one route had been discontinued for the year, the other does not run on our booked date of departure.

The property has been recently restored and is as depicted in the advertisment, however anyone with physical limitations should be aware that multilevel is not an understatement, there is a flight of stairs between every part of the flat you might want to go to.
Those with a sensitivity to perfumes, should be aware of the 'deodorant' dispensers in every room.
D Openshaw

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2014
Thank you for your feedback , we have no control over the booking process, this is organised and is standard for the agent through whom you booked.
I did recommend you check the bus service prior to booking to ensure it met your requirements.
If you had requested towels we could have arranged this for you.
Thank you for confirming the property is as depicted despite your poor review. In our description we clearly state bed linen is provided and the property is over 2 floors and not suitable for people who are unable to manage stairs.
Regarding the air fresheners - we have 7 rooms in the property and a large hallway of which only 3 rooms have a form of air freshener - both the bathroom and cloakroom and a reed diffuser in the lounge . All of which can be removed to a cupboard if they are not to our guests liking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela B
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home-from-home”
Reviewed October 15, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at this property with our grown-up daughter and Mum. Once inside, the property is huge - all rooms were spacious, light and airy. Although there are some stairs, there is a bedroom on the living-room level, so it was perfect for Mum. There are two toilets, which are a real bonus when in a large group. There is a shower and full-size bath. The kitchen was better equipped than my one at home! We had free Wi-Fi too. What struck me most was the real attention to detail when it came to the little things that make all the difference to a holiday stay, such as cushions, board games, hand-held, etc. Although there was no parking outside, there was a free permit waiting for us inside, for a car park only a minister's walk away, overlooking the beautiful beach at Combe Martin. Would highly recommend 'Black and White' fish and chip shop. The booking was simple and the communication very good. Cannot recommend this property highly enough! And on top of all that, the sun shone all week! Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the spaciousness of the property
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful location
Liked least: british weather!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rugbyrock...
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed September 8, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We Visited Stones Throw Cottage over the August Bank Holiday, the accommodation is first class very clean spacious and comfortable. The cottage is on two levels,all rooms are spacious and well set out decor is very tasteful, the lounge benefits from lots of natural daylight the setees are very comfortable and modern the place is spotless.The kitchen is well equipped to produce meals should you want to cook with a microwave full oven and hob there is also a washing machine and tumble dryer which was welcome due to the english weather.We had a fabulous time and would certainly return Clare the owner is very prompt in answering any questions. A comfortable property in a awesome location

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing