We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If you are looking to stay in Exmouth....look no...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The White House

White House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
White House
Rear garden Family bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
47 reviews
White House
Rear garden
Family bathroom
Bedroom 1
Lounge
Bedroom 2
Lounge/Conservatory
Dinning room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Exmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
737fergy4...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“If you are looking to stay in Exmouth....look no further!”
Reviewed January 25, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My wife and I had a weekend break here to catch up with friends including Lisa and John themselves. The house is located in a great spot a nice walk into town from here, clean, homely/cozy with plenty of room. The communication on booking was excellent and directions to the house were spot on, meeting John there on arrival for a tour. Champers on arrival! Parking no problem and easy routes to town or the beach, 3 min in any of the local taxis who know the house and are friendly guys. Hospitality and local knowledge are second to none. Can recommend on all levels!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Communication, hospitality, company, location, homely...just brilliant!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2016
Thanks guys - though we might add champers isn't usually on the welcome pack menu hahaa!! It was lovely to catch up with you too! Best wishes, Lisa & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeckyandM...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable overnight stay for large extended family!”
Reviewed January 8, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I couldn't be happier to recommend this property to anyone, we were amazed at the value for money. The house is clean, so comfortable and homely. There is ample seating and plenty of room to spread yourself out, or all cosy up together in front of the fire in the beautiful living room. We only stayed for one night to watch my husband's passing out parade in the Royal Marines, but would have loved to stay for longer and the house would have more than accommodated a longer stay. It is so well equipped with items that you wouldn't even think to bring with you on holiday! Lisa is a lovely lady and is so warm, friendly and welcoming. We were a large family with parents, grandparents and children staying, and Lisa provided all kinds of items which made staying with a baby and toddler much easier! A lovely experience which we would definitely repeat if we ever find ourselves visiting Devon again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2016
Thank you for your lovely review Becky and Mick - we were so pleased to be able to accommodate you for the Royal Marine pass out visit. Please do spread the word and good luck for the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weardalia...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Brillant holiday let, will definately return.”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Had a great week at The White House. When we arrived Lisa met us and give us a tour of the property and had kindly left us a welcome pack. We prior arranged to borrow bikes from Lisa who had them ready for us when we arrived. Great walking and cycle paths which were easy accessible from the property. Would definitely recommend this house to people and I think we will return ourselves sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it, great place to stay.
Liked least: The 350 miles to get there.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2016
Thank you for such a lovely review. Its was a pleasure to be able to accommodate your wishes for the bikes for the durations of your stay. Look forward to seeing you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda161
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed here for a two night break while visiting Exmouth for a family celebration. We arrived later than planned, but the owner was most accommodating, ensuring that we could access the property. The welcome pack of bread, butter, jam, milk and wine was much appreciated. Clean and comfortable, we felt at home and would very happily return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you found our holiday let a nice place to stay and would welcome you back in the future. Many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posh100
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Home from home, a perfect base”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My Husband and our friend needed a base while we met up with other friends staying in the area but as we only wanted 3 nights in August it proved quite difficult. Not at the White House! Lisa did not object to our 3 night booking and was thoroughly accommodating with our other advance request for champagne glasses. Lisa was on site to meet us with keys and a guided tour of the house which is a very good size and could have slept more than us 3 very comfortably.
Lots of lovely touches, comfy furniture and nice lights. A great big garden accessed from the back door of conservatory. Dishwasher and washing machine if required and lots of mugs/glasses/plates etc so in 3 days we did not need to wash up but just load up the dishwasher and put it on before we left.
Comfy bedrooms, all clean and tidy with a great big bathroom/shower/toilet on first floor but a separate toilet downstairs was really handy. If I had to be picky I would just comment that one bedroom has no wardrobes or hanging space for clothes but the other one has loads so it was not really an issue for us.
It is walking distance to everything you need, beach, harbour, train station & shops however you need to be aware of the local terrain; Exmouth is very hilly & the White House is near the top.
It is a main road but not too busy & you can park one car off the road which is also great.
Made a great base for a lovely break away, would thoroughly recommend and will stay again if we are back in area. Thanks to Lisa for making it all so easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely and convenient
Liked least: No issues
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2015
Thank you for a lovely review, I am very happy we met with your expectations and you appreciated the small touches my family and I try to add. Whilst I agree that Exmouth can be hilly in parts, I am a little confused by the reference to the White House being located at the top when I would suggest that it is at the bottom of a valley, for the best way to describe it and that walking to some of the local amenities is flat, although I do agree that one route to the beach could incorporate one hill followed by a downhill stroll. I sincerely hope my response to this comment isn't received negatively but do wish to clarify the house's situation for future guests. My family and I would welcome you back in the future and champagne glasses will be at the ready! Best wishes, Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC993
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal for a night or two”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Overall very happy with the property. It''s in a decent location with a number of pubs and local shops close by although not really walking distance to the beach. The property itself is of a good size and offers everything you need in terms of fixtures and fittings. The only thing really letting the place down was the lack of decent kitchen utensils (knives, cheese graters, etc). However, the owner was very welcoming and accommodated our needs with a toddler extremely well, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the place as a base to explore East Devon.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Many thanks for your review. I note your comments and will update the utensils in the kitchen. There was a cheese grater, this must have been misplaced, however, I will ensure another one is put into the property. It is a good 20-25 minute walk to the beach but on a nice summer's day this can be quite pleasant a stroll.

We would welcome you back to the White House, and once again may thanks for leaving the house so immaculate. on your departure - very much appreciated.

lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrishall...
1 review
“Brilliant house, ideal for a group of people!”
Reviewed June 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Brilliant house, great friendly service and perfect for a group going to Exmouth!! We booked the house for a local fishing trip, it served as a great base and to top it off the sun was shining.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Many thanks for your review. We would welcome you back to the White House, it was left by yourselves in an immaculate condition which was very much appreciated. Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing