We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sandford Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hawkchurch, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
robertspe...
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Until we arrived at Sandford Cottage we did not realise just how lucky we were to secure a last minute booking. It is a pretty, almost chocolate box, cottage set in a large, lawned garden with pond, surrounded by woods and fields. It is a one up, one down with a large, comfortable, ensuite bedroom upstairs and a cosy, open plan downstairs. The owners, Pete and Bev, were our ideal hosts - very warm and welcoming. They did not intrude but we felt certain they would be there if needed at any time. As it was the property was so well equipped that we did not have to trouble them for anything during our week there - Pete and Bev did ask us to let them know if there was anything else we needed to make our stay better, but we could not think of anything.
For us one of the best things about this cottage is the wildlife: we had badgers feeding on the lawn and patio every night if we put out peanuts; we had a Great Spotted Woodpecker visiting the bird feeder; a Buzzard and numerous other birds; and pheasants and deer wandering by.
This is a perfect getaway for couples of all ages, but within easy reach of the coast and many picturesque towns and villages. We used it as a base for a sightseeing, walking and cycling holiday - it proved ideal for all these activities.
NB - the only reason we have marked down the ease of booking was because we found the property through a holiday letting company whose website did not work properly, but Pete and Bev sorted this for us - we would recommend booking direct.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The wildlife visisting the garden
Liked least: Leaving after at the end of our week
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darrell B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A marvellous romantic hide away”
Reviewed September 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

If you like peace and quiet and no-one to disturb you then this beautifully restored cottage in the devonshire countryside is for you.It is furnished and kitted out to a very high standard. Everything you could possibly need for your stay has been thought of.Very comfortable and cosy. The owners are very welcoming and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the situation
Liked least: road leading to property had pot holes in places
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaLT...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect weeklong getaway”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We really couldn't believe the view as we first drove down the track towards Sandford Cottage. At the top of a valley, you could see the beautiful countryside for miles around and it felt like something out of a film. When we first met Pete and Bev, they could not have been friendlier, and the cottage itself...oh my! On Google maps, it is hardly visible amongst the green fields and acres of trees and when inside, it sort of feels like that too. We felt completely at peace and alone in the adorable but very well-equipped cottage. No noise except for the wildlife outside and nobody to be seen until you travel the very short distance to either Axminster or Lyme Regis. Despite the weather, we visited the beach at Lyme Regis three times (making sure to make the most of the freezing waters by bodyboarding and then crabbing), visited Haynes Motor Museum and many other days out.

However, it hardly felt as though you needed to go out to have a good time! In the garden, there some sunbeds, a lovely picturesque pond, a barbecue and there are also many tracks around the cottage to go walking or running on. Inside the cottage too, there is everything you could ever need. My boyfriend and I are both brass musicians and so the remote location was perfect for practising too! (I think we may have only disturbed a few badgers and cows)

The nearest supermarkets are in Axminster (Tesco and Co-op) and are literally a 10-15 drive. There is wifi too, although on pay-as-you-go, so no film streaming but there are films there and we brought our own. The electricity meter does indeed run on £1 coins, but we rarely had to top it up, even though we would cook most nights, have the lights on and be watching TV. If anything should have gone wrong, Pete and Bev were only up the road, but the cottage is so well furnished and smooth working that we would never have to.

Thank you so much Pete and Bev - we'll be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The perfect-sizedness of the cottage for a couple
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john cliv...
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“paradise”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have stayed at Sandford cottage a few times and returned again this year. The wildlife is what brought us back, bait with peanuts up to the front door and badgers, foxes will turn up to give you the experience of a lifetime. Listen to the deer 'barking' in the woods and the variety of birds is outstanding, plus the peace and quiet and scenery, wow, what more could be asked? Peter and Bev. are really lovely too!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muriel330
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A haven of peace and seclusion”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a weeks stay at Sandford Cottage and have had the most wonderful time there. The owners Bev and Peter are a warm friendly couple. The cottage is very clean, well equipped, comfortable and cosy. We felt like we were miles from anywhere and there was an abundance of wildlife to see. It is one of the best holiday cottages we have stayed in and would definitely go again! If you want peace and quiet and comfort with beautiful surroundings then Sandford Cottage is for you!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Peace and seclusion
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic stay”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Wonderful holiday, such a beautiful cottage in a scenic location.

I felt the stressful of a busy city job melt away as soon as we arrived

The attention to detail they had gone too really made the difference, if your looking for a quiet country getaway this is perfect and is particular great for a couple wanting a relaxed but romantic retreat

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful quiet location
Liked least: Often lost internet access and phone signal
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann W
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
“Wonderful cottage in fantastic location.”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Sandford Cottage is simply the best! Standing alone in the heart of beautiful countryside, with wildlife all around, the facilities offered by the lovely towns and villages in East Devon and west Dorset are easily accessible. The cottage itself is immaculate yet cosy, and has been maintained to a very high standard by the owners. It is well equipped, and very clean.

Booking was easy on line; enquiries were quickly dealt with and you will receive a warm welcome from the owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing