We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic for families”
other travellers have booked this property
Windover Farm Cottage, with ample gravelled parking area and wooden gates to the rear of the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Windover Farm Cottage, with ample gravelled parking area and wooden gates to the rear of the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Windover Farm Cottage, with ample gravelled parking area and wooden gates to the rear of the cottage
the comfy sitting room with inglenook and woodburner
view from the front door
I am very keen on cooking and therefore you'll find a well equipped and practical kitchen in the cot
wellies by the back door
pigs at Windovers
Beer beach around 30 minutes drive from the cottage
you are welcome to look after the hens collect their eggs and enjoy eating them (the eggs, that is)
are whole area is great for walking and enjoying the countryside - walking books and maps are suppli
Rush hour!
views across the farmland to Dunkeswell Abbey
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hemyock, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
naomi_cli...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic for families”
Reviewed September 12, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Windover cottage. The cottage is very comfortable, with a very well resourced kitchen and a wonderful supply of equipment and toys for children. The owners are really hospitable, welcoming us warmly and even unpacking a Tesco order for us before we arrived. The garden is beautiful and our children loved caring for the chickens on the lawn. We highly recommend Windover cottage!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warbooo
2 reviews
“Great cottage, idyllic location”
Reviewed September 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My wife, 3 yr old daughter and 6 month old son stayed at Windover Farm Cottage for a week in July 2017. The cottage was lovely, really clean and well presented. We didn't want for anything during our stay, Sarah (owner) was really nice and we had a great week.
The rooms in the cottage are all a good size and the atmosphere is of a well loved family home.
Our daughter loved feeding the hens and found several eggs, which she was extremely excited about! We also wandered over to feed the pigs nearby, which she also really enjoyed.
The location is fantastic as well - a wonderful spot in a beautiful valley. I highly recommend the cottage and have no hesitation in rating it 5 out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinos66
Hersham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly relaxing!”
Reviewed September 8, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The property is in a lovely location and the views are stunning whatever the weather.
The cottage is particularly well appointed with everything you could possibly need for a very comfortable stay.
The owners, Sarah and Seamus, could not be more welcoming and helpful - the "goodies" on arrival were special indeed!
All in all we had a wonderful time, it really is the total antidote to any stress!

We will definitely be booking again and will highly recommend it to one and all!

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review. We really enjoyed meeting you and making you welcome. The hens enjoyed all the attention you gave them!! We'd love to welcome you back to the cottage anytime. With best wishes, Sarah and Sheamus Machin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather D
1 review
“Perfect toddler-friendly cottage”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We've visited for the past two years with our young family (eldest 4, youngest 2) and had a brilliant time both weeks. The cottage is beautiful, well-equipped and incredibly child friendly. Wonderful garden (with chickens to feed!) with views out over the hills. Perfect location for days out - Honiton is a lovely town (especially on market days), and slightly further afield there are beautiful beaches, National Trust gardens and lots of scope for walks. For the occasional rainy day, there are cupboards of toys which our kids loved, as well as plenty of DVDs (and a TV / DVD player). And - it's always wonderful to arrive after a long drive to a home-baked victoria sponge and a selection of local breakfast goodies. Can't speak highly enough of it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is a real pleasure to receive comments from guests who have stayed before and hopefully your experiences will add confidence to others who might be considering a visit to us!! Kind regards, Sheamus, Sarah, Will and Rob xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to respond. I'm glad that you had a wonderful time with your family and thank you for leaving the cottage so very clean and tidy!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dr Susan...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fabulous Cottage”
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed here for two weeks and could have stayed longer. The cottage itself is very comfortable and well equipped with friendly and helpful hosts on hand next door. We went with two teens of 11 and 13 and they loved the outdoor space with the added bonus of chickens and pigs to feed when they wanted to. Highly recommend a stay here. The countryside is beautiful and there's plenty to do in the area and further afield. Wouldn't hesitate to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for visiting us and taking the time to write us a review, it is very much appreciated. I am pleased to know you think Windover Farm Cottage is fabulous and I do hope we can welcome you all back sometime in the future. Best wishes Sarah, Sheamus and our boys Will and Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel B
1 review
“Book it! Don't hesitate.”
Reviewed March 24, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

My husband, our 4-year-old son and I spent 5 days in Devon at this fab cottage last October. So comfortable! The photos are pretty good, but it's so much more comfortble than you expect. Absolutely everything you could possibly need, and some gorgeous touches from the owners - a HUGE freshly baked cake to greet us, delicious home-reared sausages, and chickens providing fresh eggs for breakfast. Plus, Sarah put our groceries away for us before we arrived. Such a nice thing to do. Super friendly. AMAZING value! Open fire. Huge garden wide wide-open views of the countryside. All the paraphernalia you need for young kids. And such a lovely welcome. Loads to do and explore nearby, but also brilliant getaway from city life. Is there more air in Madford than the rest of the country? Don't hesitate. Book it!! We'll be going back for def.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
Hi Rachel, thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. It was lovely to make you and your family welcome and I'm glad the cottage exceeded your expectations! We'd love to welcome you back sometime. Thanks again, Sarah and family xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing