We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Devon”
Review of Lower Coombe Royal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingsbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lower Coombe Royal
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Home from home, only with spectacular views, gardens and beaches. The accommodation was of such a high standard that we have found a piece of heaven in Devon. The welcome hamper and provisions in the fridge was a special touch as we had just travelled 5 hours from Essex, the thought of hitting Tesco’s was not on my to do list, so a very big thank you to Susi for her taste and thoughtfulness, we loved the hamper contents. The cottage was beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean and of a very high standard. Little extra touches were the use of the shopping basket, the torch, the picnic basket. Susi has thought of everything and we wanted for nothing. The location is perfect for Kingsbridge and public transport to all the main towns and beaches. Lots ot do, places to visit and resturants and delhis for fine good food.

Room Tip: From 2 people to 21 in a group or fanily, the house is very accomodating. Each appartment can be con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TowieTips4Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed in the Coach House in October and had SUCH a lovely time. The owners couldn't have been more helpful - making sure we had everything we needed and their extra little touches (which I won't spoil your surprise by listing!) made the week even more special.

This was my husband and my's first holiday with our 5 month old baby, and it was ideal - the Coach House was a great layout for our needs (and as it was a little apart from the main house, it gave us peace of mind about any noise we, or our baby, made!). The extensive baby equipment provided for him (which we could chose from a list, at no cost) was brilliant as it meant there were far fewer things we then had to bring with us. The grounds were beautiful, the house was luxurious and we will come back again - can't wait for our little boy to make use of the playground and grounds.

I'd also add that Kingsbridge is a great location for exploring the area (and is a good sized town for exploiring itself).

Room Tip: We slept in the main bedroom and it was one of the comfiest sleeps we've ever had. Bedding and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Superb situation and beautifuklly appointed and equipped Garden Rooms. Impressed by flowers on arrival and generous goodies hamper. Weather excellent enabling us to undertake spectacular walks. A really memorable stay. We could not have enojed ourselves more.

Room Tip: Garden Rooms excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 130Thomas_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Beautiful extensive gardens a delight for children to explore and use the child friendly swings etc.
We stayed in the Lawn Apartment which was very comfortable, furnished to a very high standed and was fitted out with all you could wish for to enjoy your holiday. The children were well provided for with many toys.puzzles, and books etc.
Kingsbridge close by is a nice town with many shops and it provides a hub to visit the local beaches together with the towns of Salcombe, Dartmouth and Totnes.
We would very much hope to visit this delightful accomodation again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We were very impressed with our recent stay at Lower Coombe Royal; The Lawn Apartment was perfect for us with a three year old (and much more spacious than the photos on the website suggests - big, high-ceilinged rooms and plenty of room to run around). The standard of accomodation is first-class; a rarity for family-friendly properties, spotlessly clean and luxurious with everything you could ask for and lots of toys and games for kids. The incredible gardens were another highlight and great fun was had exploring and having adventures; we even saw the deer and rabbits. Lots of open lawn space and loads of toys/ play/climbing stuff as well as the actual beauty of the place. Great location too; it's so peaceful it feels like you are miles from anywhere but the lovely town of Kingsbridge is right on your doorstep, so no need to use the car for shopping trips. We've been to the South Hams plenty of times before but this trip was the best by far; we love the area but the quality of accomodation this time round really made it memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Seven of us stayed in the main house and the accomodation was fantastic. Plenty of space to stop us get on top of one another and the kids were entertained all week by the playroom. The outside space was great and again the child (little and adult) enjoyed the equipment that are available.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank mark l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Well, what can I say - this place is just marvellous. We stayed in the Garden Flat that was perfect for a couple with a baby. They had everything in place for the baby (you can pick from the list what you wish when you book, there is everything you ever need from cot, toys and feeding chair to bottle steriliser and baby bath). The flat was beautifully decorated, comfortable and clean. Everything was done in an environmentally friendly way which we liked. We were really made feel really welcome and appreciated, they even sent a Christmas card for our baby several months after. The gardens were just beautiful and it was so nice to return to the flat through them every day. Lower Coombe Royal is maybe about 15 minute walk from the Kingsbridge town centre. Kingsbridge is a nice little town and we spent a couple of days just there. In addition to that, we did a couple of nice day trips. The flat had fantastic information folders to give you ideas on what to do. Overall, this place is pretty close to perfect. I would rate it perfect if it was a bit cheaper!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minniemouse75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingsbridge hotels
6.5 km away
Burton Farmhouse
Burton Farmhouse
#29 of 34 in Kingsbridge
77 reviews
4.9 km away
Seaflowers
Seaflowers
#3 of 34 in Kingsbridge
175 reviews
6.7 km away
Glebe Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#4 of 34 in Kingsbridge
254 reviews
4.8 km away
Up The Creek
Up The Creek
#15 of 34 in Kingsbridge
23 reviews
8.8 km away
The Tower Inn
The Tower Inn
#8 of 34 in Kingsbridge
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Coombe Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Coombe Royal

Address: Lower Coombe Royal Stentiford Hill | Devon, Kingsbridge TQ7 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Kingsbridge
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer luxury self catering accommodation set in 8 acres of historic gardens on the edge of the market town of Kingsbridge and 7 miles from the well know resort of Salcombe. We are extremely child friendly as well as offering a haven of peace and solitude outside of school holidays. We aim to offer you a home away from home. We provide lots of essential items that you will need for your stay. We also welcome you with home baked goodies. In addition, we provide linen and towels for adults, children and babies. And a welcome treat for your dog if you have one! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lower Coombe Royal Kingsbridge, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing