We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“British food at it's best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arundell Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Shipston on Stour
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“British food at it's best”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Unfortunately we only had one night at this lovely hotel. Our main reason for going was to see if the AA rosettes awarded to its restaurant were justified. They certainly were. We were on a Travel Offer visit so we were not expecting the the very best but as it turned out everything was of the highest standard, from the friendly reception to the warm comfortable room and finally the meal We had their Taster Menu of canapes, amuse bouches, fish course, main course, and dessert . all absolutely delicious. Wine was not over priced and good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnMMcEwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    132
    29
    11
    7
See reviews for
56
293
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
312 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Having to arrange a meeting in the middle of Devon & Cornwall is never easy.. hotels are never where you need them! However having used this venue many times I can safely say the standard of care does not change. The Arundel Arms has lovely welcoming staff who work with you to get the best from a meeting. We used the Tamar Suite and had 30 people come to our meeting. The room is of a good size, not the most modern but does the trick. Dinner was served promptly in the separate dining area and everyone commented on how good the food was. I stayed in a refurbished room which was lovely and breakfast the next day was fast and tasty.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anon19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
I am really pleased that you enjoy the way we host your meetings.

We like to look after our business guests as well as our leisure guests and we were delighted that we won the Gold in the Southwest Tourism Excellence Awards for 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We have stayed at 5 star hotels all over the world and been fortunate enough to have had two 6 star cruises. We can confidently say that the food we enjoyed at the Arundell Arms during our three night stay was the best we have ever experienced. Coupled with friendly, helpful staff, this made our stay memorable and we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hudson85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you think that our food and service is as good as anywhere that you have traveled in the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Our recent overnight stay at the Arundell Arms Hotel was a most enjoyable experience. From the time we arrived the staff were so helpful and friendly they couldn't do enough for us. We booked the five course 'taster' menu with complimentary bottle of wine and two glasses of champagne through Travel Zoo and found the food was excellently prepared and presented and very tasty. After a very comfortable night's sleep in the large double bed and with excellent en-suite facilities we enjoyed a delicious full English breakfast all perfectly cooked.
Relaxing and comfortable bar and lounge facilities, elegant dining room, altogether first class.

ps My wife wanted to kidnap the chef!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My wife and I spent a night at The Arundell Arms on the Travelzoo deal. The staff were friendly and unlike a previous reviewer our bedroom was enormous and very comfortable, although we were surprised to find blankets rather than a duvet on the bed. The taster menu in the evening was first class and beautifully presented, as was the breakfast next morning. We were only passing through on our way to Cornwall on holiday but we would have liked to stay longer. The half price deal is good value for money and we highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveBooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights B & B.
The room, service, in fact everything was excellent.
If I would make a negative comment, it would be that the arundell arms website doesn't show how lovely a hotel it is, or how friendly the staff are.
If you need to relax, stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

My partner and I recently bought a voucher for Arundell Arms Hotel on Travelzoo for an overnight stay, pre dinner champagne, 5 course tasting dinner, free bottle of house wine and breakfast for £149. When going to make our booking for a date in May, we were told by the dismissive General Manager of the hotel that they didn't realise how busy they were going to be in May and therefore we could not use our voucher at this time. However it clearly states that the only dates we were unable to book were on the 1st March and the 6-9 April, with the voucher expiring on the 15th May (therefore losing out on 15 days). It appeared that Arundell had updated the offer about no bookings in May, 2 days after we had booked our voucher. Despite only being able to make a date in May and Arundell moving the goal posts we have been unable to use the voucher that we have paid for. I am really quite suprised and angry that our voucher has not been honoured and I consider it highly unprofessional of the hotel. Kind regards the Events Coordinator of an international law firm.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Dear Guest

I am sorry that the hotel was fully booked by the time that you tried to redeem your Travelzoo voucher. The offer was a big success and Travelzoo sold over 250 packages in the 8 days that the deal was live from 11 February.

You called us for the first time on 9th March (4 weeks after the offer was launched) and wanted to come to us on selected dates in May. Unfortunately we were fully booked for your requested dates but I understand that Travelzoo have given you a full refund of your voucher cost.

The vouchers are still redeemable in March and April but all the dates in May were taken early on. We updated the Travelzoo website on 15th February as we soon as we reached this point so potential guests were aware of our availability.

For future offers, I suggest that you call us early to check availability and then book early to avoid disappointment.

I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
0.4 km away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
328 reviews
7.3 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
377 reviews
32.9 km away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 km away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,053 reviews
39.8 km away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
34.5 km away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arundell Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arundell Arms Hotel

Property: Arundell Arms Hotel
Address: 1 Fore Street, Lifton PL16 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arundell Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Arundell Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundell Arms Lifton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing