We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (822)
Filter reviews
822 results
Traveller rating
346
334
101
23
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
334
101
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bar menu coach party buffet style executive room the ground floor large car park single bed bit dated no lift room was large good size enjoyable stay night porter weekend stay plenty of parking reception staff evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 822 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here bank holiday weekend for 2 nights. When we pulled up and saw the exterior we didn't hold out much hope. It looked like a 1970s office block. Check in was easy and when we opened the door we were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room. We stayed in a superior room on the far side of the hotel and it was fairly quiet. Now for the reality. The rooms need updating the 70s look outside does carry on inside. Both the room and the bathroom needs updating. The mattress on the bed was too soft and became uncomfortable by night 2 and on arrival the heating in the room was on full blast and it felt like a sauna. Now I don't know if it was because a majority of the clientele that weekend were of the older end of the spectrum!
We didn't eat in the hotel so I can't comment on the food. The worst part though was the taps. When you turn them they make a horrific noise and we were woken up by this coming from.other rooms too. We didn't pay a massive amount for this hotel but if we had paid anymore I would have been a bit more scathing with my review!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Craigkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhysRoberts, Owner at Best Western Tiverton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear Craigkp,

Parts of our building were indeed built in the 1970's but most were built a lot later, however we like to think despite our unattractive design lines we offer warm and friendly hospitality at competitive rates.
My apologies for the water pressure issue, we would have been delighted to resolve this and any other issues you experienced had we been informed at the time and I look forward to showing you some of our refurbished rooms but regrettably can't change parts of the exterior building.
Kind regards
Rhys Roberts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Braving the snowy roads we recently arrived at the hotel for our per booked carvery lunch. First things first, ensure you book your car registration details into the screen at reception!
We found all the staff very pleasant and efficient. Choices of drinks delivered to our table from the bar were varied including excellent real ales.

Our carvery comprised choices of three meats freshly served by the chef and our own selection of vegetables to add to our plates. We had an excellent sized portion for less than £10.

Will we visit again? most certainly.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhysRoberts, Owner at Best Western Tiverton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear Alan F,

Thanks for taking the time to tell others about our Sunday Carvery Lunch. This is normally very popular particularly with our local customers and we pride ourselves on serving great local fresh food.
I'm delighted you enjoyed the food and service and we look forward to welcoming you back to another Sunday lunch soon.
Kind regards
Rhys Roberts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018

Only stayed for one night, but had an enjoyable stay, check in was quick and the room was pleasantly large with all the amenities that I required. WiFi was good. We eat in the bar and the prices were fair and food quality was great. We will stay at the Best Western Tiverton again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank mikekaren2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhysRoberts, Owner at Best Western Tiverton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear mikekaren2,

Thanks for taking the trouble to post a review on yoru recent stay, I'm delighted you enjoyed your experience and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Rhys Roberts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018

Stayed with a family group, the room was fine and clean - bathroom a little dated but fine otherwise.

Hotel staff are honestly some of the friendliest I've come across - happy to order cab's, happy to see if the kitchen would open a little early to do a slightly early dinner (by 15 mins).

Great location - able to walk to the town or canal.

I do however recommend booking directly on the Best Western site - we did, but other family members didn't. We all paid the same but we had our breakfast included, others didn't and had to pay extra.

All in all though - I'd happily stay there again.

Room Tip: If travelling in a group - tell them and see if you can get your rooms together - the hotel is very long!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank andcro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhysRoberts, Owner at Best Western Tiverton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Dear andcro,

Thanks for taking the trouble to post a review and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay.

The comments on our fab team is much appreciated and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Rhys Roberts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2018

Easy to find hotel with ample parking on the edge of Tiverton. Sure it's a bit old fashioned in a 70's kind of way but the retro aspect seemed to suit the activities going on during the weekend we stayed. Plentiful staff at breakfast who coped well with some difficult guests. Management in evidence both days checking smooth running. Executive room was very spacious and comfortable and quiet. Stay here again? Sure. Well done Rhys and team.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhysRoberts, Owner at Best Western Tiverton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2018

Dear Stephen B,

Thank you for your review, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Rhys Roberts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews