We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday apartment”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed in the apartment for a week and loved it. It's not the most modern in terms of decor, but was clean, comfy and well equipped, and the hotel staff were friendly and efficient when we had a problem with the boiler. The only downside really was the number of steps to and from the drive, which were a bit of a nuisance with our baby's buggy. We could use the hotel grounds and facilities including best of all the lovely heated indoor pool. Woolacombe itself has a fantastic beach only 5mins walk from the apartment, and is a good jumping off spot for much of North Devon.

Room Tip: If you're mobility impaired, even just by a child's buggy, make sure you get an apartment wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robskydiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    234
    95
    41
    20
See reviews for
291
327
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
blandford, dorset
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We decided to get married here after visiting Woolacombe several times and falling in love with it.
We booked the wedding and also out room, our guests also decided to come and spend the 2 days with us and in total 22 of us stayed at the hotel.
It was amazing... the wedding was fabulous, Adrian Moss made it so stress free and catered for my every whim... the staff were friendly but let you get on with it, no poking their noses in.

We visited the spa which was heaven, the kids used the pool and had a great time, the food was out of this world, both for the wedding and for the breakfast.

I have nothing bad to say at all, cannot wait to go back for my anniverasry next year..

A fab fab hotel, a fab fab place for a wedding and lovely friendly staff. Oh and the rooms are gorgeous, clean and modern.

Thank you

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

My parents walked into this hotel last week and were quoted £134 per night Dinner Bed and Breakfast. I enquired for a family room for 2 nights at the beginning of half term and was quoted £350 per night bed and breakfast only. My husband and I agreed this was hugely expensive but we have had some family trauma recently and decided we could all do with a lovely break. I called to make the reservation and was told that the rate of £350 was in fact incorrect and I would need to pay £470 for a family room bed and breakfast only. Thats £117.50 each!!! Compared to £67 last week which INCLUDED Dinner. My compensation offered was £350 for a room at the other end of the hotel, no seaview and a bunk bed, bed and breakfast only.....?!! Yes I expect to pay a little more at half term but this is extortionate and I certainly will stick with the beautiful Saunton Sands Hotel in future. I am sure this review will get a corporate reply but £67 to £117 WITHOUT Dinner - I dont think so. Sorry for ranting, but this really made me mad and the attitude of the hotel manager was really who cares?

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank Ivanhoe52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Stayed with two other adults and two dogs in one of the Woolacombe Bay Hotel apartments last week. The apartment itself was very clean; not the most up to date decor, but suited us fine and, considering they allow dogs, perfection cannot be expected!

Fantastic location with views of the Bay from the top of the drive and I believe from the first floor apartments (guests with dogs only allowed in ground floor apartments).

All in all, a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shughesnerys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We have just returned from a weekend break at the Woolacombe Bay Hotel. The hotel is a 4 star rating and worth it. We stayed on half board basis and we would say that both the breakfast and evening meals were of a very high standard. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a Superior room on the top floor which gave us a 180 degree view of the bay. The room itself was furnished to a high standard. We have not found a better view from a hotel room in England. The hotel has extensive facilities, pitch and putt course, squash courts, indoor and outdoor pools and billiard room.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEIL14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We booked in at the Woolacombe Bay after being let down by another hotel. The staff were all excellent, the food and service in the restaurant was superb, room very clean and comfortable. No complaints at all!!

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Barjen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

3 generations of our family had a wonderful stay at The Woolacombe Bay as a Golden Wedding Celebration. The hotel is such a perfect mix of old fashioned grandeur and great facilities. The entrance hall and lounges resemble the most beautiful of stately homes, but nobody bats an eye lid as dripping wet-suit clad children dash through on their way to another adventure. The staff were wonderfully attentive and charming - nothing was too much trouble (and with 11 of us in the party, we were probably quite alot of trouble). We had amazing weather and made full use of the outdoor pool, the kids enjoyed great freedom and the proximity to the beach is unbeatable. The kids all went off to enjoy the riding/quad biking/surf lesson and really couldn't have been happier. I'd race back and would particularly recommend TWBH for multi-generational parties - it was rather lovely seeing lots of proud grand parents enjoying their families or having a contented afternoon nap. Breakfast is amazing too!

Room Tip: The suites are great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louandbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.9 km away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
822 reviews
6.0 km away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,756 reviews
0.6 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
107 reviews
4.1 km away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
11.4 km away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolacombe Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Property: The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Address: South Street, Woolacombe EX34 7BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolacombe Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much of the Hotel has been lovingly restored from the mid 1800's, creating it's unique and tranquil atmosphere. High ceilings, chandeliers and comfortable, quiet lounges are a testament to that era, and where first class modern amenities are required, they have been skilfully incorporated into the existing Woolacombe accommodation. We place high value on our staff. Trained to be attentive yet unobtrusive and to provide the kind of personal service that is so often hard to find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HRS, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Woolacombe Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Bay Woolacombe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing