We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,019)
Filter reviews
1,019 results
Traveller rating
622
261
78
31
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
622
261
78
31
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bistro restaurant lovely hotel sea view hotel is situated steam room stunning location cream tea relaxing stay lundy island overlooking the beach indoor pool lovely room public areas fabulous views cooked breakfast short break coastal path
Filter
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 1,019 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2017

Great stay - many thanks everyone. The weather can be iffy at this time of year but Woolacombe is an awesome place. Watersmeet is a fantastic hotel with great food and service. They even froze my sons Pollack he caught! See you again soon.

David

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank davidhF2155KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Front Office Manager at Watersmeet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2017

Thank you for your recent review and thanks to everyone. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and our location. Our staff always go the extra mile from service to wrapping and freezing your son's fish! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Watersmeet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2017

With its commanding position overlooking the sea and shore, you know you've come a very special place the moment you enter the Watersmeet Hotel. In our case, it was a return visit, following a delightful stay a few years ago. This time we had to use the lower car-park (the upper one was full when we arrived), and that meant lugging cases up a fairly steep flight of steps (alright if you're young and fit !) or a longer walk round to reception, via the slope. What wonderful sea views from our second floor spacious de-luxe room - well worth paying the extra for that - though one thing that was not provided, and perhaps should have been, was a refrigerator. There can't be many restaurants where you can dine with such spectacular views of the sunset over the sea, and the standard of cooking and preparation of the meals was exemplary. What was not exemplary was the background pop-style music, evidently unable to be turned down or off without the help of an electrician - so we understood. We did discover that the Bistro - just along from the Dining Room - had somehow managed to get rid of THAT music, so we ate there on the 2nd and 3rd evenings, graciously looked after by a young man on the staff, and the meals there were also delicious. The hotel has its own indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi, solely for the use of guests, and it was so nice to use in the early morning, when it is probably at it's quietest. This is a real 'classy' hotel, which we've often recommended to friends, and we would also like to return - but in the hope that we don't have to suffer THAT music playing in the public areas for 10.00 am each morning !

Room tip: Do pay whatever it costs do have a sea-view room - well worth it.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Front Office Manager at Watersmeet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased to read that in general you enjoyed your stay with us. During busy periods the upper car park does fill quickly, however assistance with luggage is available. Thank you for your compliments towards your deluxe sea view room and the standard of our food. A few of our rooms do have refrigerators in and our hotel refrigerators are open for guest use should you require it. We do have music playing in the lounges and restaurant. The playlist is a random playlist which plays everything from pop to soul, however we appreciate that this is personal taste. We are pleased you had enjoyable dining experiences in the Bistro aided by our waiting staff. We hope to welcome you back to the Watersmeet once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2017

This is only our 3rd visit to Watersmeet in the last 25 years, but our latest experience has made us determined to stay more regularly. The service and atmosphere are exceptional and we felt relaxed from the moment we arrived. Our balcony room provided a luxurious touch and offered tremendous views together with the excellent weather meant we had no thoughts of travelling too far away. We chose, Dinner Bed & Breakfast, why wouldn't you with the restaurant offering superb choice and quality, with views of the evening sunset a truly tremendous dining thrill, we cannot wait to return.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pseocatchpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Front Office Manager at Watersmeet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your 3rd visit to the Watersmeet. Thank you for your kind compliments towards the service, views and our Pavilion Restaurant. The sunsets from the Restaurant really are incredible. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Watersmeet upon your return and will make a note to order the good weather!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2017

Polite and well mannered staff, despite the fact it was for an overnight stay and a room for a bride and her bridesmaids to get ready.
It was extortionate to stay at.. the place is outdated and not to mention that they need a VERY thorough clean. The food was nice & the view is beautiful which was all that was worth the stay. Very disappointed and won't stay again... The bay hotel was a hell of alot better than this!

Room tip: ASK to view the room before you choose this hotel... don't go by the pictures
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Front Office Manager at Watersmeet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2017

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read you were dissapointed with your stay at the Watersmeet. I am surprised to read your description of our hotel as outdated, this is not the usual feedback we recieve. All of our public areas and most of our rooms have been re-furbished recently and decorated to a high standard. I will pass on your comment regarding the cleanliness of our hotel to the Housekeeping department. Thank you for your compliments towards our staff, views and food served. We hope to welcome you back to the Watersmeet to change your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2017

we were invited to a wedding at this hotel in devon. We booked in on the wednesday and were greeted by charming helpful staff. The room was lovely overlooking the bay with plenty of space and a luxurious bath. I cannot say enough about all the staff they were so helpful and friendly and efficient. Food was lovely and the wedding was really well organised. there were lovely walks in the area and we were lucky with perfect weather.
A very nice touch was the extra tea, coffee and milk that was supplied in big baskets in the corridors.
All in all highly recommended

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irene1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Front Office Manager at Watersmeet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2017

Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and the wedding attended at the Watersmeet. Thank you for your compliments towards our hard working team. We really do have a great location for coastal walking and good weather certainly does make a difference! Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back to the Watersmeet on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews