We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveller rating
143
79
44
38
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
79
44
38
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ilchester arms the pub beef for sunday lunch new owners beer garden car park open fire four poster bed both nights full english st catherine's chapel risotto lovely meal lovely staff short break kippers
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 327 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

Was taken to the Ilchester Arms by my family as a last minute surprise birthday treat and had a lovely time. We all enjoyed the meal and the staff were polite and welcoming even though we hadn't booked.

The menu has enough choices with some classic dishes and are presented nicely. Our meals were very tasty and of decent portions, which is more than can be said of other places not too far away. ( 3 pieces of samphire classed as the veg and way overpriced)

Would definately go back there any day.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Zara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2018

Very welcoming staff, beautiful surroundings, with a great view of the hills and church on the hill. In side is very well maintained with an added consevatory. Great selection of home cooked food on the menu to suit everyone.

Definitely going again on our next visit.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2018

We were a large family get together (36 people) having asked The Ilchester if they could cater for such a meal, they were helpful, flexible and really could not have done more to accommodate our group. We asked for a fixed meal for all with a G F option, we had Lasagne, garlic bread and salad, without exception everyone was more than happy with their meal. Well done all at the Ilchester and thank you for helping us to have a great evening, we did rather take over.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

Stayed 1 night as part of our journey on the South West coastal walk.
The staff were very helpful on arrival, taking our order for lunch even though the lunch period had officially finished. The meal was just what we needed. Our bags were put into our room for us - after walking for 5 hours we really appreciated this. Our room was upgraded for other reasons but it was great to have the space and a big bathroom.
All food was great - breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Overall great accommodation, food and service by the hotel, which is located in a quaint English village.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jamies0nfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2018

What a wonderful Olde Worlde Hotel. Super location just a few miles out of Weymouth in a pretty village and close to Chesil beach. We enjoyed a super lunch and and whilst we did not have the opportunity to eat dinner at the hotel the menu looked great and the restaurant was full on our return in the evening. The staff are all so friendly and helpful and could not not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. Great range of Gins available and the bar really know about them all. The room was super not too big but quirky and full of character and the en-suite spotless.. We loved the charm of this hotel and this together with the excellent breakfast served has put it at the top of our list when next in the area. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Stairs to rooms are reasonably steep ,which maybe an issue so ask for one of the rooms in the courtyard.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank scazyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews