We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy scones”

The Old School House Tea Rooms
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Abbotsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 6, 2018

Stopped for a late lunch/early tea and weren't disappointed. The outside is very attractive which was what encouraged us to go in. Tea was good and plenty of it and the scones were delicious with plenty of jam and cream. Not expensive either.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravellingGirl-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 159 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

Stumbled on this gorgeous tea room on our recent visit to abbotsbury for the children's farm. The weather was good so we were able to sit outside and enjoy the quaint garden. Was a picture perfect setting for a very memorable tea. Menu was bursting with homemade goodies and the presentation of our scones, cake and sandwiches on a tea stand was lovely. Everything was fresh and delicious.

Service was friendly and patient, and very understanding of our 2 year old daughter and baby son. The ice cream sundae (which was made as a smaller portion to suit her appetite) knocked her socks off. Can only say good things about this place. If you want authentic, homemade food served with care then don't go past! We can't wait to go back.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank C_E_Whitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quantocktraveller, Owner at The Old School House Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are both so pleased you enjoyed your tea stand, the look on your daughter’s face when she saw her ice cream sundae was a picture !
Everything on our menu is homemade and it’s nice when someone takes the time to say how much they enjoyed their visit , when you are next in the area please do pop on and see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2018 via mobile

Lovely place and nice staff but I am afraid to say we had disappointingly sub-standard and over-priced food.
I had a crab sandwich. The bread was not very fresh and it seemed straight from a packet of sliced bread. The crab meat was mediocre at best; the dressing, tasteless. The garnish was a fresh but dull and uninspired salad - lettuce, cucumber and grated carrot.
My partner had Hommity Pie. The first bite was quite good but it descended into a soggy bottom and burnt crust. Disappointing.
We decided not to try the coffee and cake as we were so underwhelmed we felt we could not trust them to deliver!

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank DavidH10975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quantocktraveller, Owner at The Old School House Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2018

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review, we are very disappointed that you were unhappy with your food, we would have happily changed any of your food if you had mentioned you were unhappy with it at the time, our bread is freshly delivered from a bakery in Weymouth and hand cut, we have never used cut bread, and our crab is freshly delivered from Portland shellfish and has always been very good, if you go out to eat and are unhappy please do make the establishment aware so that they have the opportunity to try there very best to rectify the problem at the time, we would love the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with a good experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2018

Myself and family met here for a birthday tea.
As we we walked in we were greeted with a cheery smile by all the ladies, and made welcome.
We ordered three cream teas and I had a slice of Pear and Pecan cake (MMmmmm!)
Tea came in a large pot enough for two cups each.
The young waitress was lovely , polite and efficient. The place is clean and friendly.
A good choice of cakes and hot food along with an alcohol licence, which is a bonus for a cool summer drink.
Seating outside, and parking on the road and nearby. Good place to visit and relax.
Finally, I like the fact there are spaces between tables, and you are not jammed in to someone at the next table. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2018 via mobile

Loved the houses in Abbotsbury and also this tearoom. Sat in the garden on a sunny day for lunch and the food was delicious. Don't usually have a 'pudding' afterwards but couldn't resist what was on offer. The strawberry pavlova was wonderful. Well worth a visit. The owners are very friendly and helpful.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old School House Tea Rooms also viewed

 
 

Been to The Old School House Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing