We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (564)
Filter reviews
564 results
Traveller rating
365
147
30
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
365
147
30
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whirlpool bath west bay hotel cat traditional hotel sunday lunch public areas excellent hotel excellent room varied menu very pleasant stay three nights specials board large room one night stay full english long weekend comfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 564 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2015

End June/Beginning of July we made a second visit to Haddon House. It was every bit as good as our visit last year. The room with a view over the garden, was nicely furnished with a luxury bathroom, and the daily room service was of a very high standard. There is everything you could possibly need in the room, extra pillows, blanket, fan, ironing board, iron and safe. The whole hotel is very clean and well kept. There is a very generous breakfast selection and the cooked breakfasts are excellent, as are the restaurant meals. The owners and all the staff are very pleasant and helpful which makes for a nice relaxing atmosphere for guests. Situated in a nice part of West Bay this is an ideal base for touring Dorset and Devon.

Stayed: June 2015
Thank Lache37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne R, Public Relations Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2015

It is always encouraging to hear from returning guests as we believe they would be the first to let us know if we had slipped in any areas. On this occasion i am so pleased that we haven't. We do try to provide everything that you might need during your stay from irons to safes in your wardrobe. Yes some of our rear facing rooms do have a lovely view. I shall make your comments regarding cleanliness known to the chambermaids as they will be pleased to receive them. We do hope to be able to welcome you again soon.

regards

Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2015

Other guests have said it all !

We have been here for dinner a couple of times in previous years when we are this far south. This time, as always, it was beyond excellent.

There is really very little to add to the other reviews - the menu makes choice well nigh impossible as there is a wide selection, and they all sound very appetising, to say the least !

The food and plates are hot (always says a lot about any restaurant !), and the portions are very (too !!) generous.

We have made ourselves a promise to stay here soon - maybe a winter break as it is so very characterful and cosy ! And I haven't seen the rooms yet !!!

Just do it !!! (Without a waistband !!).

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank LesleyCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne R, Public Relations Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2015

Thank you for your kind words. Its so very reassuring to hear such positive comments from returning customers. Hot plates is something we believe in as you say which makes the meal that little bit better. Please do visit us again, we have a wonderful winter offer coming up. Find us on face book for the offer which will be released soon.

Once again thank you so much
]regards

Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2015

We spent a very enjoyable 3 nights at this ideally located family run West Bay hotel. There is plenty of parking and the shops, pubs, restaurants and beach are a few minutes walk away.

The hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and efficient.Beth was always smiling even after a long day's shift.

Plenty of choice for breakfast which was delicious. We had one dinner here as well which was also very good.

We look forward to returning and exploring more of the lovely Dorset coast.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GSWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne R, Public Relations Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2015

Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave us a review. I am so very pleased to hear that everything went well for you. I shall mention to Beth that you gave her such a positive comment as i know she will be only too pleased to hear it. We do hope to be able to welcome you again soon.

regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2015

We have just returned from another fantastic holiday at Haddon House Hotel, West Bay Bridport. We cannot recommend it highly enough. You are made so welcome by all the staff who are so caring and cater for your every need. Nothing is too much trouble. The food, and the rooms are all beautiful. We always ask for room 1 as it is our personal favourite.
We would like to say thank you again to Paul, Joanne, and all the staff for a lovely time.

Room Tip: All rooms are of an excellent standard , but our personal favourite is room 1
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank almondlynrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne R, Public Relations Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review from your stay. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that you thought so highly of our hotel and or team. Im glad that you mentioned room number 1 because we had a previous guest who had nothing positive to say about the room at all which to us was an absolute first. I shall of course pass your comments on regarding the food to the chefs as they will welcome such positive feedback. We do hope to be able to welcome you back again soon to Haddon House when your in the area.

Once again thank you so much

Kindest regards

Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2015

We've been to this hotel a number of times; to stay, to have dinner and to have Sunday lunch. This time we stayed again.

I would describe this hotel as very comfortable with a very good feeling. The staff are very professional, especially the girls who wait on table. The decor is set back in the sixties but this adds to the charm. The standards are high and it has free wifi. We were very pleased with our room which had a newly furbished en-suite with spa bath and inset wall tv.

Breakfast was 4 courses, cooked to order. The pot of tea is made with proper tea leaves. Lovely linen tablecloths and napkins.The food is always of a high standard.

As you sit in the dining room you almost expect Agatha Christie to walk in - or maybe some Broadchurch cast.

A lovely hotel - just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank peterhE5911PX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne R, Public Relations Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2015

Thank you for your review.

Its very nice to hear that you decided to stay with us again and that you thought so highly of our hotel. We are a traditional hotel with a Georgian building so do our utmost to keep everything in keeping where we can. I'm also pleased to hear you enjoyed one of our newly refurbished rooms and bathrooms with spa baths ( someone only recently thought they needed refurbishing which is very odd as they are only a few months new ).
I see you must have watched Broadchurch, I do hope you managed to see the iconic cliffs and various other sets from the series. We do hope to be able to welcome you back soon when you are in the area. Once again thank you so much for your kind words which I shall pass on to all involved in making your stay a pleasant one.

kind regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews