We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little bit of luxury in glorious surroundings”
Old Post Office
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Post Office
Sitting Room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Old Post Office
Sitting Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining Area
Dining Area
Bedroom - zip & link bed can be double or 2 singles.
Double Bedroom
Bedroom
Single Bedroom
Outside dining area
Old Post Office showing games room
Games Room
The village of Symondsbury
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
aGs1308
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A little bit of luxury in glorious surroundings”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at The Old Post Office, and it was as special the second time as the first. The cottage is quaint but spacious, practical yet cosy and above all else has a real luxurious feel to it. It is set in a good size garden, with ample parking on the drive way for all and wood burner in the dining room and the open fire in the lounge almost make it too cosy to leave on an Autumn / WInter day. The bedding, towels and bath robes are all supplied and are of wonderful quality as is the welcome hamper of the main food necessities to get your stay off to the right start. The town of Bridport is 5 minutes drive away and has everything you would need; the beaches are also 5 mins drive away, and whilst being pebbly they are uncrowded and peaceful. The booking of the cottage and all the administration is seamless too. So all in all, I love this place - so much so, I'm looking at booking my third stay very soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect location
Liked least: The weather!!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb P P
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect intimate family holiday.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

The cottage was meticulously clean and well presented, and generosity of "welcome food", firewood, bath robes, cleaning products etc, all so much appreciated. It really did feel like you were putting our pleasure and satisfaction at the forefront of your business. My middle son (12) said: "that was probably one of the best family holidays ever!" and we did have pretty awful weather! So a huge thankyou to all at the estate. Your cleaners are first-class, and Ruth a lovely, courteous and efficient go-between.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, warm, cosy, welcoming, and we all slept so well!
Liked least: The only thing I can come up with was that there wasnt a tea cosy for the teapot!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L0uiseuk
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dorset at it's very best”
Reviewed February 4, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

The Old Post Office is a lovely place to stay - warm, cosy and well appointed- perfect for our family .. two standard poodles - Rusty and Casper .

We had a fantastic time- Wendy and Ruth are so kind making sure that you have a really lovely holiday.

We did - I have reservations about writing such a glowing report .... it gets more difficult to book ;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy log fire and that feeling of getting away from it all - the quietness and no planes overhead
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde T
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderfull time”
Reviewed January 11, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

A fabulous property and good value for 2012. Prices for 2013 are too high though and have taken this particular venue over our budget.

Had an issue with a blocked shower drain that backed up into the bath. A quick phone call to the house keeper yielded an excellent response on Boxing Day and things where then fine.

It's a lovely property, very quiet with a real fire to the lounge and and a wood burner in the kitchen diner. Logs supplied could have been drier though, they hissed a lot! Bought a supply locally which burned much better and allowed us to use the supply provided without putting the fire out ;-)

Local pub very good too and only a short walk from the property. Village also has a useful circular walk to help with getting rid of the excesses of Christmas. Oh, and well decorated real Christmas tree provided too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Real fires and games annex
Liked least: Blocked shower drain - rectified quickly.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombshell...
Gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“5* cottage which was home away from home”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

We stayed at the old post office for 3 nights and we all said we never wanted to leave. The cottage is done to a very high standard and the quality of the towels, beds and bed linen was what you find in a 5* hotel. We were all amazed at how well stocked the kitchen was, it had everything you need plus more! The rest of the cottage was also equally well stocked with hair dryers, washing machine, tumble dryer, ironing board everything you want for a self catering holiday! The shower was also very good! I really could not fault the service, location or the cottage in anyway and we all hope to be back soon. Thank you Symondsbury Holidays!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of the cottage
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robinhood...
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed October 9, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We really liked the "Old Post Office" . We stay a lot in holiday cottages and tend to go slightly out of the main season so that we can get somewhere a little larger and more comfortable than the tiny places sometimes on offer for two. This really was quite a lot larger but the sitting and kitchen/ dining area were perfect as we do like to cook sometimes as well as eat out. The cottage was very well equipped, very clean, and the welcome phone contact proactive and attentive ( very unusual). We really liked the fact that it was so close to Bridport yet in a very quiet village. It is close to good restaurants and lovely shops. We enjoyed the local community...even went to the garden party in the house next door! Can thoroughly recommend The Old Post office and will definitely be back in Symondsbury.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful and quiet location
Liked least: few small maintenance issues needed attention
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing