We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
243
145
35
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
243
145
35
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews smugglers bar sea view superior room coastal path lovely location narrow country lane hake west bay a family run hotel friendly hotel night break short break single track four poster breakfast and dinner dorset coast the cliff
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 441 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2018

Went there as a large Group as an outing for lunch. The food was delicious and all locally sourced with good portion size and warm plates. The staff were efficient, helpful and always smiling. The owner supervised everything throughout. the only downside is that it is at the end of a rather narrow lane which could be exciting in Summer ! Well recommended.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank oilmanDorset_U_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin F, Owner at Eype's Mouth Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

We are delighted you enjoyed your lunch at the hotel and thank you for sharing your experience. Chef will be particularly pleased to read your comments.
The lane does present excitement from time to time, but it is what keeps the area unspoiled, peaceful and tranquil with plenty of wildlife and stunning views to admire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

We chose to come down to Dorset for a last minute get away and found Eype’s Mouth Hotel online. We chose the hotel due to its close proximity (5 minute walk) to a very quiet beach and Jurassic Coast.

The room had the most incredible duel aspect views of both the sea and the cliffs, including the famous Thorncombe Beacon. It was spotless and had lovely added touches like bottled water and personalised sweets.

The staff we so attentive and helpful from the second we walked through the door- nothing was too much trouble. They helped us planned walks, told us places to visit, booked taxis etc etc. Not only was this just the staff- but also the owners who are there every day too!

The food was out of this world. One night we had local whole plaice (caught off of West bay- the town just over the cliff) in the restaurant. The restaurant has amazing views of the sea. The next night we ate in the snuggles bar. The fish and chips was so fresh and a very generous portion. We sat outside of the terrace with a glass of pinks and honestly felt we were abroad. The breakfast was exceptional value for money (included in the rate of the room). Fresh fruit (pineapple, melon, grapefruit, berries, prunes), cereals, yoghurts etc then a full English breakfast cooked to order- made with all local produce. Or there’s a choice of fish opinions- smoked salmon, haddock, kippers- what more could you want!

Can’t recommend this hotel enough! Will definitely be returning ASAP!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank LouiseFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin F, Owner at Eype's Mouth Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to express such wonderful comments. We are delighted you enjoyed both your visit to the hotel and the local surrounding area.
It is always satisfying to receive such comments. They will be passed onto all the staff who greatly appreciate the feedback on all they do.
We look forward to welcoming you again to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018

Despite the stunning location and our high expectations of a pleasant stay, we were most disappointed with our stay.

Staff were generally pleasant and helpful.

The hotel professes to use local produce but the menu choices on the evening of our stay bore no resemblance to the sample menu on the website. The only fish on offer was Scottish salmon. Unfortunately, both my husband and I had possibly the worst meal of our lives…. I did not complain at the time, considering that I had just made a bad choice - sweet chilli chicken. I did ask the owner who took my order whether this dish would be very sweet. He assured me that he didn’t consider it to be so. However, I found it to be almost inedible as it was so incredibly sweet, and the chicken breast tough too. I only made this choice as the other choices were limited, offering no fresh local fish.

My husband’s liver and bacon (which would have been my alternative) proved to be little better – the liver was overcooked and very tough, with a strange gravy of a very thick, gloopy consistency.

I had booked dinner at Eype’s Mouth based on the sample menu on the website and positive reviews. The evening in question was our 42nd wedding anniversary, and to say that we were disappointed with the meal is an understatement.

The quality of the food at breakfast was fine, but I have to agree with the reviewer who said that there was a lack of attention to detail. The décor/paintwork upstairs was in very poor condition, as were the towels and bathmat in our room; the ‘Information Folder’ in the room was grubby and covered in greasy fingerprints; the crockery and cutlery at dinner and breakfast appeared tired and grubby, and when I leaned on the counter at reception to check out, my hands stuck to the surface which was thick with ingrained dirt.

The final straw for me was to find that, when I queried the bill and double checked, the account included being charged twice for the very poor meal we had endured the previous evening. There was no apology, just a rather indifferent comment that the ‘system’ must have done this automatically!

This stay was the second night of a 10 night walking trip, where we stayed at 9 different hotels and B&Bs. Eype’s Mouth was the most expensive of these, but the lowest on a scale of value for money and general quality of the whole experience. We stayed in several places which were cheaper but offered a much higher quality of customer service and attention to detail. We also ate superbly at a wide variety of locations – with a strong emphasis on excellent, well-cooked local produce.

Eype’s Mouth should be a fantastic place to stay, but currently falls very short of expectations. It really is the little details and thoughtful touches which make such a big difference. In our experience these are sadly lacking at Eype’s Mouth.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VanessaP88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin F, Owner at Eype's Mouth Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Thank you for your valued feedback. We are very sorry not to have met your expectation. Your comments will be fully reviewed and corrective action taken where necessary.
We would have welcomed the opportunity at the time to put things right, especially our menu, as it changes daily and chef will always offer alternatives. With guests staying 7 - 10 nights at this time of year, chef tries to offer plenty of variety over the duration of their stay. Salmon is one of the most popular fish and Scottish is considered the best. All our beef, pork and lamb are local, most vegetables from a local farm and herbs from our own greenhouse. I remember you asking about the Sweet Chilli, but I took it that you were asking how spicy it was, not how sweet, my apologies.
Yes, your bill was incorrectly set up and dinner charged twice in error. We are sorry this mistake happened, but we understand it was rectified immediately.
Please be assured the shortfalls you have mentioned will be addressed. Once again, we apologise for not meeting your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

Stayed for a night away over the bank holiday weekend, so we could walk along the coastal path. The hotel’s location is perfect for this. Was warmly welcomed and shown to our room with a sea view. The king size bed was comfortable and ensuite clean. We had our evening meal in the restaurant and enjoyed the view. Good wine list and the 3 course dinner had plenty of choice. Enjoyed a large steak, so I couldn’t manage desert! The breakfast the following day, was equally as good. We then walked to Golden Cap, as better weather and the hotel kindly lent us a map. Glenis and the staff, were all very friendly.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 12345wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin F, Owner at Eype's Mouth Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay at the hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the location, especially the close proximity to the Coastal Path. Equally, it is good to know you found the room comfortable and the food, both dinner and breakfast, enjoyable. We look forward to you re-visiting on a future occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

Best value and quality around definately the best crab sandwich and value for money. Don't really want to let others know about this gem as it would be too popular but feel it's only fair for the owners of this great place.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 432philb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin F, Owner at Eype's Mouth Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Delighted you found lunch in the bar of good value and quality. We pride ourselves in using local produce and charging a fair price. We look forward to you visiting again, although we can't promise not to tell others!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews