We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
170
82
17
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
170
82
17
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath ceiling fan lyme regis lovely hotel complimentary tea and cake white company toiletries homemade biscuits crazy golf apple cake on arrival country house heated swimming pool fruit bowl bed was very comfortable public rooms well stocked bar short break
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 281 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2017

Only stopped here for coffee however despite this we were made to feel very welcome. A very pleasant location and I'm sure there are great views but the mist prevented us from appreciating them. Viewed the restaurant and menu so will be back at some point.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Jephson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2017

The location of this hotel is great for visiting Lyme Regis and the surrounding area. The rooms are comfortable but it is worth upgrading to a spa room as the superior rooms may still have a small bed! The bathrooms were well appointed and had really lovely products and big fluffy towels.
The restaurant is good and the food sourced locally so very fresh and well prepared. Breakfast is excellent and a huge choice of foods, both hot and cold.
The reception staff are great and really welcoming with the offer of complimentary Dorset Apple cake and a hot drink.
Great that the hotel has a heated pool - sadly it was just a bit too windy and fresh to make use of it.
Where the hotel misses out is in the bar and public rooms and some times we felt like we were being "told off"? We sat in the bar for a pre-dinner drink and asked if the fire could be turned on as it was draughty? The staff member said she'd have to ask??? We had a drink and we ordered our meals and admittedly we didn't go through to the restaurant until about 45 minutes after we had booked our table. The owner came to advise us our meals were ready, but commented that we were going through late??? We expected to fine the dining room full but there were about 3 other couples!
When we were checking in what turned out to be the owner walked past us twice without commenting - he didn't take the opportunity to welcome us, which would have been a nice touch.
This is a really lovely setting and a lovely hotel - it just needs a few more personal touches.

Room Tip: Opt for a spa room as a minimum if you definitely want a big bed!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChurtSunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2017 via mobile

I agree with the other great reviews. We wanted a relaxing peaceful break and we definitely got it. Lovely welcome with free tea and cake, friendly helpful staff, great breakfast, peaceful sun terrace to relax on, spotlessly clean and lovely room with delicious biscuits every day. We didn't eat there in the evening as we preferred to eat down by the harbour where there are great pubs. 5 mins drive to the town. Would definitely recommend and hope to go back one day.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2017

This hotel creates an excellent impression as soon as you arrive, helped by the offer of tea and Dorset Apple Cake. The receptionist was so friendly and immediately wanted to know how she could help with what we wanted to do on the holiday. As we wanted to explore the area she provided printed details of local walks. Our room was spacious and spotless with a king-size, very comfy bed. As the weather was warm we could even request a lighter duvet. The was a fruit bowl which was replenished every day along with delicious, home made biscuits to go with the tea and coffee making facilities.
There is the choice of eating in the bar or a la carte restaurant and both are excellent. All meals are prepared with local produce. The breakfasts are generous with a good choice of hot and cold items. In summary, this hotel is not cheap, but for the quality of accommodation and service it is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2017 via mobile

This is a hotel in the most beautiful setting, not far from the beach. We were welcomed warmly by the staff and treated to a cup of tea and piece of cake - delicious! The staff were just lovely and so helpful. Although this is a 3 star hotel, some of the touches seemed more relevant to a 4 or 5 star hotel. Loved the drinks in the room being fair trade. There were minor issues - like the TV remote control not working properly, and the water taking ages to run hot. But on the whole a really delightful stay. Thank you!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rectoryrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews