We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
168
82
17
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
168
82
17
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathceiling fanlyme regislovely hotelcomplimentary tea and cakewhite company toiletrieshomemade biscuitscrazy golfapple cakeon arrivalcountry househeated swimming poolfruit bowlbed was very comfortablepublic roomswell stocked barshort break
Filter
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 279 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Clean bedroom and bathroom with good quality products and fresh flowers. Hotel was quite soulless and not very inviting. Breakfast was a disappointment as not very good size portion. Menu states sausages are 85% pork. Tasted like cheap nasty ones. Overall wouldn't say this was worth £170.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkGWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2010

The hotel is right on the diverted (because of landslips) coast path and welcomes walkers whether for tea/coffee, bar services, meals or staying overnight. Staff are very helpful, food very good and rooms all you would wish for. If you're not a walker and prefer a pampering, it offers lots of facilities for this too including a pool and lots of grounds to stroll around.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tellywelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We were here last year and were very impressed, although then would have preferred a better room. This year we went for a 'Spa' room which was nicer all round and had a lovely spacious bathroom. The ceiling fan is a great feature for the warmer weather.
Food, as before, was top notch and all the staff in all areas, from the 'boss' downwards were very attentive, friendly and helpful.
Looking forward to our next visit. A & P J Herts

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank offseasonbreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We stayed in a £170 per night room at high season but it was certainly not worth it. There was dust on the towel heater, shelf above the sink and the kettle. The button of the toilet flush was broken. The tea cups in the room were turned upside down directly in the basket, which is not hygienic (they should have been put on a plate) as the basket does not get washed. The chairs in the breakfast room had breadcrumbs and one of the coffee cups had coffee stain inside it. Breakfast was OK but not special enough to justify the price.
The location of the hotel was great, with wonderful views and the whole hotel was beautifully decorated. The service was really good. If you do go, I would recommend the afternoon tea and cake there, especially the apple cake. There was a jacuzzi in the bathroom, which I really liked but there were no instructions as to how to use it so even when you turned it off, it kept starting again every few minutes as long as there was water in the bath. Unfortunately we could not use the pool because the weather was so bad.
If it was cleaner and cheaper I would have recommended this hotel but I do not believe it deserves the price it charges. If it was clean, it would be a great romantic escape. With these prices, and with the cleanliness problems, I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bchighstandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2010

The Hotel is in a nice setting, though it is close to the busy A35 and the the less busy but still noisy A3052.
The Hotel has a heated swimming pool and loungers around it,which were very nice. There is an abandoned concrete crazy golf course right out the front which spoils the initial impression a bit. There are also a number of holiday properties very close to the Hotel in the gounds which is a bit unusual.

On arrival we weren't exactly greeted with enthusiasm, but pleasant enough. We also received the complimentary tea and cake in the lounge which was very nice.

Our room (no 6) was very good initially (but see later). The owners had obviously tried hard to make it nice and it seemed clean and tidy. Good decoration and facilites. Tea and coffee (no sugar) was available in the room with locally sourced biscuits. There was a kettle for making coffee etc, but it was not possible to fill it in the sink in the bathroom; doh!!
There was a fair amount of road noise from the two roads mentioned above. The bathroom was a little cramped, but at least it had a bath and shower and a funky mirror with a 'infra-red' sensor to switch on the lighting in it (once we had discovered how to work it...not obvious). This was a blessing as the fan in the windlowless bathroom was quite noisy. There was a very nice 'Pure' DAB radio in the room, but there were no DAB stations available..seems a little pointless!

All started to go wrong when we went down to eat in the restaurant. Were were booked for 7:30pm and asked by the staff to go to the bar to select from the menu. There ws no one serving in the bar for some time. Eventually the receptionist arrived in the bar and gave us our drinks and took our order.

About 1/2 hour later we were invited into the dining room. Good we thought as we were hungry. Another 1/2 hour later we were still waiting for our food. Eventually our "well-done" steak and pork arrived. We could immediately see the steak was barely cooked and more like rare with burnt bits on the outside. Cutting into the pork and this too was not cooked properly. We had to send BOTH meals back. I have never ever had to send two meals back at the same.... appalling! The waitress did apologise profusely and said we did not need to pay for the main courses. By the time the food had arrived satisfactorily, it was after 9pm.

Next issue was with the room. As there was some road noise still at night we had to close the window. Fell asleep OK, but a couple of hours later woke up roasting hot and had to throw off the 9 Tog duvet (in summer?) and had a very uncomfortable night. Asked for a lighter duvet in the mornign which was provided with no quibble, but the room was still very hot again the next night. There was a ceiling fan in the room and this was controlled by a remote control...we did not think of this at 3am.

I don't know if they had a staffing shortage when we were there, but we did not see anything of the fantastic staff mentioned by other reviewers. They were at best OK, nothing special. As others have mentioned, the price is also a bit steep for what you get.

If you are at all affected by road noise, forget this Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews