We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mortons House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Bankes Arms Hotel(Corfe Castle)
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olivers(Corfe Castle)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Norden House(Corfe Castle)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodyhyde Campsite(Corfe Castle)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Scott Arms(Corfe Castle)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,016)
Filter reviews
1,016 results
Traveller rating
608
244
108
44
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
608
244
108
44
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotellog fireelizabethan roomthe main hotelold buildingpre dinner drinkscream teacastle ruinsfood was amazingfirst classbeautiful buildingafternoon teawaiting staffwet roomsitting roomhigh standardsteam railway
Filter
Updating list...
792 - 797 of 1,016 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Just stayed at Mortons house for 2 nights for our wedding. We had just under 30 guests for the ceremony and dinner and we all stayed over. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left nothing was too much bother, they appeared when they needed to, disappeared when not. The room we got married in was beautiful, the food was amazing and the rooms with their quirky features just added to the ambience. Bev and her staff made our day stress free and totally relaxed which is exactly what we wanted. Thank you for such an amazing few days, nothing was too much trouble. We will be back here manytimesaver in the future of that we can be certain!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This hotel was wonderful and we cannot recommend it enough.The food ,service,accomodation were all first class.All the staff were very professional and very friendly.Will be returning in the very near future

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyandandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We've stayed here before and were very impressed so we booked it for my mother's 80th birthday celebrations - the setting is perfect, the staff were excellent and the food was fresh and tasty. All 18 members of our party commented on the fantastic hospitality - first class.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PeterHill_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2012

This hotel both delighted and disappointed us in equal measure.

The presentation of the food was very good and offered the eye a fine dining experience. The taste was good but not as good as the presentation. Some flavours needed boosting and i wondered if the chef had actually tasted the dish. The prices and presentation at dinner were fine dining but sadly this experience didn't follow through to breakfast where, although the service was fair, the poached eggs were far from satisfactory.

The rooms were the biggest disappointment. Our first rooms was described as being in the main house .. but we had to go outside to reach it. It was a poky affair and not worth the money.

The TVs had very small screens, bottled water & toilietries weren't replaced when used and there were no biscuits ... these are standard in all the other hotels of this type and price in the UK and were a great disappointment. For teh same price many add little extras like gowns, fresh milk (not mini pots of spillable rubbish) and even a little fresh fruit. i think the owners need to get out and see the competition.

On leaving I was given the card machine with instructions on how to add a gratuity .. I do leave tips were the service deserves it .. but never when prompted and this alone will probably prevent me from returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GalaxyMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We do appreciate your feedback and we shall certainly take your comments on board.

Biscuits should have been in your room so we do apologise for their omission and robes are available. (Details in the Information folder).

Refurbishment is currently underway and new flat screens installed. Digitial TV switchover finally reaches Dorset this week... at long last!

We look forward to welcoming you back at some point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Went there for a special offer 3 course dinner for two.
I could not fault them one bit! the service was outstanding the food tasted amazing!
We ordered a bottle of wine and they ensured out glass was full.

Only fault I would give them was that it was eerily quiet. and a little music would have been nice.

I would deffinatley go there again

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Panda_White
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews