We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage and village.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wissett Cottage

Wissett Cottage - Character features abound inside and out with chocolate box charm.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wissett Cottage - Character features abound inside and out with chocolate box charm.
Wissett Cottage - Character features abound inside and out with chocolate box charm.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Wissett Cottage - Character features abound inside and out with chocolate box charm.
Wissett Cottage - Character features abound inside and out with chocolate box charm.
Wissett Cottage - Character features abound inside and out with chocolate box charm.
Living room - alternative view.
Master bedroom. Comfortable king-sized bed with good quality bed linen provided.
The dining room - another corner in which to relax
The sunny, south-facing aspect to the cottage edged with country garden plants and flowers.
Cosy nights in front of the wood burner. Some logs for your first fire are provided.
Relax in the pretty courtyard garden.
Cottage front - showing the thatched 'wing' extending to the rear.
The garage and drive provide parking for 2 cars
View over Worbarrow Tout from Flowers Barrow on the SW Coastal path - stunning walking country!
There's always a peaceful spot to be found on one of the area's fine, sandy beaches.
Climbing out of the village , the castle is a focal point in the scenery for miles around.
Beautiful views from Corfe Common.
A lovely play park to help entertain our younger guests is to be found within 1 minute's walk.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maurice36...
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent cottage and village.”
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Lovely chocolate box cottage with everything you need.

Would recommend the Castle Inn but need to book for meals in the evening.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Turning the car round in the parking area in order to drive out onto the main road.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PYMdiva
1 review
“Beautiful cottage, magical village”
Reviewed October 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My husband and I are keen photographers, so we were looking for somewhere close to Corfe Castle, so we might get shots of the ruins in different light without having to get in the car.
Wissett Cottage was in the perfect location for this! The cottage itself is beautiful and spotlessly clean. It has everything you could ever want during your stay. All you need to do is step out the front door and head down the main road to get an incredible view of Corfe Castle.
I am very fussy about cleanliness when I stay in self catering cottages... and this one could pass the 'white glove' test!
Kate's communication throughout the entire process was fabulous!
This was a perfect holiday, in a beautiful cottage and a magical village! Thank you Kate!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage, view and village.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip M
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A magical gem in the heart of a stunning village.”
Reviewed October 6, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A 300 year old stone cottage with a partially thatched roof in a stunning location just about sums this up.
Yes some of the ceilings are a little low and yes the hot water does take a little time to reach the bathroom but this is to be expected in a cottage of this age. This is character with a capital C.
Having said that the bits that need to be modern (kitchen and bathroom) are great and everything works.
The lounge and dining rooms are large, well equipped and comfortable.
The only thing better than the inside is the view when you step out the door and are confronted by the ruins of the castle just at the end of the street and only 5 minutes walk away.
Corfe Castle is not only absurdly picturesque it's also an ideal location from which to explore Purbeck, Dorset.
Take note of the hosts' recommended walks. The Swannage to Studland cliff top walk in particular is the stuff of dreams.
This was our first visit to this area and it is at least the equal of The Lakes, the Yorkshire Dales and the Cotswolds.
The pubs offer good meals but the two rosette restaurant in the hotel next door is exceptional. Worth it for a special night out.
To sum up, a perfect place to spend a week or more.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamela d
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely cosy comfortable cottage in an excellent location.”
Reviewed September 23, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This lovely old cottage is in an excellent location in the village of Corfe Castle, near to the castle itself and to pubs and shops. It is an excellent base to explore the Isle of Purbeck with easy access to walks from the door, and near to coastal paths with stunning scenery. The steam railway to Swanage is worth trying and the old station has some good exhibits. The cottage is like a home from home and you will not be disappointed.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita L
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming cottage in great location”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed at the cottage in June and we can't wait to return. The cottage was everything you could wish for and was full of character and charm as well as very cosy and a joy to return to after a day out. It is well equipped and was spotlessly clean on our arrival. Another plus was that we hardly used the car using both the bus and the steam train instead - great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charactor and charm
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBorden73
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Vacation”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My two sons (ages 9 and 12 years old) and I stayed with a friend of ours at Wissett Cottage for a week at the end of August. The cottage was all that we hoped for, and then some. Wissett Cottage had all of the conveniences of home, with many special touches that you don't often find in vacation rentals. The cottage itself was very clean and larger than expected; and the location was just perfect - within walking distance of Corfe Castle, the post office, bakery, shops and several pubs and restaurants. My sons and I have dreamt of a vacation in England and Wissett Cottage provided an excellent base from which to explore many of England's treasures (we made day trips to Bath, Stonhenge, Highclere Castle, the Costwolds and Tintangel), and was in easy reach of London for our return flight home to the US. We very much enjoyed learning about Corfe Castle (the castle itself and the Model Village were wonderful). As Americans, we hadn't realized when booking our stay how much of England's history ties into events at Corfe Castle, and as history buffs, we loved learning all about it. If you stay in Corfe Castle Village, I would highly recommend dinner at Morton's House which is right next door to Wissett Cottage - we had a most excellent meal there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm of the cottage
Liked least: It would have been nice to have a clothes dryer - the weather is damp and clothes take a long time to dry in the damp environment
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare H
1 review
“Great cottage in a great location”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our second time at Wissett Cottage and every bit as good as the first. The cottage is brilliantly located for the village and with plenty of space for our 4 year-old to play. Very comfortable and well-equipped although we ate out at the pubs in the village every evening anyway!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing