We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book a table in advance”
Review of The Smuggler's Inn

The Smuggler's Inn
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Opening Time: Monday to Saturday. 11am-11pm Sunday. 1130am-8pm Food Service Times: Monday to Sunday. 12-9pm Dogs are welcome in the entire restaurant.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We visited a few times over the Easter break. From the outside, it looks like a massive tourist trap with scores of large picnic benches lined up in formation.

Inside it is a welcoming, atmospheric, dog friendly pub. It’s a big pub, but it copes well, and all the staff we encountered were uniformly really helpful, friendly and attentive. Customer service was a real strength.

A good menu with a broad range of dishes to appeal to most palettes. A good beer selection, including off-sales.

Good coffee, tea and muffins were available. At £5 the “ultimate hot chocolate” was over priced.

I wouldn’t arrive hoping to get a table without a wait. I would absolutely book every time in holiday season.

Reasonable prices.

Recommended.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank EdL624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2018

Thank you so much for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed visiting us. We hope you can visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 125 of 1,120 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I visited the smugglers on Monday this week. The food was great, piping hot, fresh vegetables and perfect chips (always important to me). The staffwere lovely and really could not do more for us. Little things like changing the mashed potatoes for chips with the great steak pie really was not a problem. Would we go back? 100%. Thank you

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Derek519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased we delivered great hospitality and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2018 via mobile

Dropped into this pub for lunch after a brisk walk along the coastal path. Excellent sandwiches and chips - filled a big hole. Recommend to anybody visiting, although I suspect that in high season this place will be super busy. Great walks close by too.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank toftywofty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2018 via mobile

We took the dog for a walk in the area and stopped in for a coffee. The views are stunning, the pub is lovely, staff were incredibly welcoming (even with a dog and muddy wellies). We couldn't stop for dinner but will definitely go back, hopefully to stay next time.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank samdk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2018

We were nit made to feel welcome. Service was poor. Food was cold and not great. The order was wrong. Felt this pub relies on its location. We wrote to the manager but never received a reply.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank 552naomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2018

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the Public House name and date of visit and email us at:
guestfeedback@hall-woodhouse.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Smuggler's Inn also viewed

Osmington Mills, Dorset
Chaldon Herring, Dorset
 

Been to The Smuggler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing