We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveller rating
269
151
64
39
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
269
151
64
39
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews enid blyton outdoor pool pirate ship adventure playground meal times secret escapes games room pitch and putt studland bay family hotel dog friendly hotel tennis courts table tennis steam room national trust cream tea wet room
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 566 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2018

We stayed here last weekend. we were given a garden suite room 102 , it was very dark in there and no view it remined me of a butlins chalet, Both the hot tubs were broke and I thought our stay was going to be miserable. I was so wrong the staff were warm and friendly the inside of the hotel was lovely and relaxed boasting beautiful views. we ate in the restaurant and the food was out of this world so tasty and good potion size. we then went for a wander down to the beach to watch the sun go down. The bed was huge and really comfortable, we slept really well. The breakfast was just as good as the meal the night before. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2018

Writing as a couple visiting with their dog for 3 nights. From our point of view: we went here because we know the location and love it- wonderful walks and views, away from the hustle and bustle. It was a fair price- we had booked the most basic accommodation and were given a suite of rooms without views, spacious, small tv, tea and coffee, plenty of places to put clothes, smelt a little damp (but didn't bother us). Staff very friendly but rather busy, sorted a fault with shower drainage straight away- but then left paper towel roll in bathroom 2 days and didn't change towels on floor (mucky from workman). Breakfast good- plentiful and choices, cream tea very old fashioned (as expected) but not all cake homemade and scones dry- for the price would have expected this. Wasn't given much info on check in eg about dining and facilities. Great if you like quirk, squeaking pipes and views rather than corporate perfection.
From dogs eyes- wonderful, plenty of space for my bed, I could go to a separate dining area with my owners for breakfast, there were treats there, everyone petted me, I made new friends, outside I could explore the woods, beach and dunes and there were dog bins at the hotel. Tail wagging great.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deniseabrahall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2018

My wife and I and our dog arrived at the Knoll House Hotel on Friday 7th September after a 4 hour drive. Despite check in time being 3pm our room was not ready and we were asked to wait in the lounge for over half an hour, as they insisted check in time was "from" 3pm. We had tea on the house and chilled until at 3-45pm our room was ready. We were shown to our room 50 to be exact with a balcony overlooking the sea. It was cosy with a somewhat small bathroom but all in all very clean and the balcony gave us the extra room. The food we had in the Doggy Diner with our dog set aside for all with pooches was exactly what was on offer in the restaurant and specials every evening were always different. The only let down was that it was obvious the chef was using instant mash in the recipes of mashed potatoes. Breakfast was always good and again taken in the Doggy Diner allowed us to relax without worrying about our four legged companion.
The hotel is situated just across the road from the road to the Beach and was a superb walk each day. Even walking as far as the Studland Ferry there and back along the beach over 6 miles total. The facilities at the hotel are from golf to tennis to table tennis two swimming pools and jacuzzi an hot tubs sauna etc., although the state of repair was questionable in the latter items due to poor maintenance. Several people have commented on the Wifi from start to finish it worked perfectly well for us maybe it has been updated or was it the location of our room where reception was always first class. As well as the walks to the front of the hotel to the rear were the woods and on some days deers would be visible in the early morning and late evening. Plus there are many seating areas all over the hotel front and read. Staff all in all were very friendly and dealt with requests well despite being very busy.
So in summary the hotel is very different but several matters need updating. I feel the problem for the new owners is to maintain the quirky and quaint aspects but to deal with the issues of maintenance and bringing matter up to date.

Room tip: Room 50 was great for us with sea view balcony.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2018

We stayed for 4 nights in a suite room. The hotel is quirky, with furniture styles from the 50's, 60's and 70's.However, our room was clean and comfortable, with a sink in the bedroom and an adequate bathroom. Only one electrical socket though, not really acceptable in the 21st century! And the distance from the mirror made it difficult to use the hairdryer easily.
The food is excellent, although service is mostly good, it was sometimes erratic. One waiter had poor English, and may still be looking for mint sauce!
Coffee service after dinner could also be improved. You had to hunt for it!
The views from our room and the restaurant across to the sea are outstanding. Excellent location for walking and other outdoor sports. We really enjoyed our stay.
Exremely doggy friendly! Not for you if you don't love dogs!!

Room tip: Sea view rooms are worth having.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2018

I have always wanted to stay in this Hotel as it always looked so majestic from the main road. I was disappointed upon check-in to discover we were not staying in the main Hotel but in fact in a chalet style room around the other side. This was short-lived though, the room was lovely it had a small seating area to watch the TV, an enormous Bed, and an amazing Wet Room and a Bath, Tea and Coffee facilities were provided and a hairdryer.

There was a patio area surrounded in flowers to sit out and watch the world go by

We loved our room!

It was our Wedding Anniversary, upon entering the room the Hotel had arranged for white plate with "Happy Anniversary" written in chocolate and some cakes on the plate. It was a lovely surprise and very thoughtful.

The only negatives were the lack of air conditioning and there was no fan to use either which was disappointing. It did get extremely warm in there!

Parking was sometimes difficult and as a result some of the other residents took it upon themselves to park outside the rooms which is only supposed to be done when loading and off/loading luggage but some people thought they had a right to park there each day!

The facilities are fantastic, there is a heated outdoor and indoor swimming pool, the outdoor one being the larger one. Towels are also provided and sun loungers are around the pool. It has also got a lovely Jacuzzi but most of the jets were out of action, but you could still have a lovely soak.

There is a lovely Pirate Ship in the play area, perfect for kids to spend hours discovering the different areas, a games room, Table Tennis on the front lawn.

The views at the front of the Hotel were beautiful overlooking the sea, it was wonderful sitting on the benches watching the boats go by and one evening we saw some deer playing in the field opposite.

The Restaurant area is a bit dated but it was lovely and clean, we were taken to our seat by a very smiley man called Simon who explained everything about the help yourself buffet (He was very charming). The breakfast choices were excellent, you just help yourself to cereals, fruit etc then you help yourself to a full english, other choices are also available on the menu.

On a negative, all of the windows were shut, it was far too warm. On the first day we were seated by a window which was great because we were able to open them but for some reason they play musical chairs and you do not have the same table each day which was a bit frustrating because no one opened the windows and being stuck in the middle of a very large hot room was very uncomfortable. We did ask for the windows to be opened but as soon as they were opened they were soon shut by the guests. I asked to be seated next to a window for the rest of our stay and they obliged.

The following employees were outstanding and made our Holiday far more enjoyable:

Jenna - Reception, she was on her second week of employment, she was a delight to see and very helpful. She will do well!

Tracey - Duty Manager House Keeping - Always a smile on her face and lovely to talk to, she runs a tight "ship". A delight to see each morning.

Patricia - House Keeping - Very thorough in her work, very friendly and a delight to see each morning.

We would recommend this Hotel. It would have had 5 stars, the only reason it didn't was because of the lack of Air Condition/Fan in the room and the dining area being way too hot.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank KimAllsebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews