We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous property - can't wait to go back.”

Review of The Chancel

The Chancel across the churchyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Chancel across the churchyard
The Livingroom The Twin Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
The Chancel across the churchyard
The Livingroom
The Twin Bedroom
Out the door sitting in the sun
Through the arched window!
Through another arched window!
Dinner for 6
Start another day watching birds during breakfast
Just arrived - clean kitchen!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wareham, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Donna P
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous property - can't wait to go back.”
Reviewed December 11, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

This was a surprise weekend away, planned by my partner and children (9/5/1yrs) so I had no preconceptions of what it might be like, but I loved it. We all did. I obviously didn't have any part in the booking, but my partner said it was easy and that the owners were accommodating and helpful. We arrived late at night, and even though it is pretty dark, arrival instructions we received got us straight to the property and everything was as it should be.
The Chancel itself is stunning. The photos do not do it justice. We all want to go back and were sad to leave. It is fully equipped and well presented. The master room is on the ground floor whilst the children sleep upstairs, along with the living space so my only recommendation would be to have a stairgate available for those who have young children. We moved a seat to put in front of stairs to deter my 1yr old. This isn't a complaint, but it is the only thing I can think that I wanted during my stay.
I loved the postcards, they were a nice touch.
People were staying next to us, but we didn't hear them so it feels as though you are completely on your own.
I can't comment on local amenities as we didn't really explore much. We visited Durdle Door and Monkey World. The local shop is a car journey, I think about 9 miles, unsure if there was something closer. And I am unsure what there is to do on foot......we didn't have chance to find out.

All in all, great property and location.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2014
Thankyou for your kind words. Someone took our stairgate and I should have replaced it by now. Going tomorrow so will do it then. Don't forget you get this year's prices from now on...

Chris Rick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“The perfect place to spend time with friends”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The unique setting of the property, together with the layout and the fact that everything you could ever conceivably need during your stay is provided made this an exceptional place to stay. Despite being located in an old church, within a graveyard The Chancel feels so homely and cosy inside that it doesn't feel spooky or unnerving, it simply adds character. The location was perfect for sightseeing in the local area with lots to see.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unique property, very cosy and everything provided.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearasch...
London
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful old Church”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The Chancel is very well equipped with everything you need to make your stay good. We ate in every night as it was cold and raining and the kitchen was a pleasure to use. The path to the car park is absolutely pitch dark at night, so it is vital that you leave the automatic light on during daylight to see your way if you do plan on going out after dark, or you may bump into a tree or a gravestone as I did! There was noise from the road which passed directly outside two of the bedroom windows, which because we were not used to traffic noise at night disturbed our sleep somewhat and I think this would be noisy if you wanted to sit in the garden in the summer. The Waterloo to Weymouth train passes a few metres in the other directlon, and if you go through the level crossing gates and out onto the road the other side, there is the most beautiful, almost traffic free walking, either along the river, or up the quiet lanes where you can spy deer in the fields when the sun gets low in the sky, and all sorts of other wildlife which delights. The man who operates the crossing gate will give you all the information you would like to know about the area. Dorchester on market day is well worth a visit, as is Wareham. We know the area well having lived in both Poole and Swanage for many years, and absolutely love this part of the country. The Chancel made our stay warm and very comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location which is right on the Purbeck Way
Liked least: The soft toys in the rafters in one of the upstairs bedrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1rover1
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unique property - 3 bdrm converted chancel in beautiful Dorset countryside”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

One of 3 dwellings in a former 1828-built church, The Chancel, set in the beautiful Dorset countryside, was perfect our group of 5 adults, incl. 1 senior with reduced mobility. We absolutely loved our stay there. On the main floor, there was a fully equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances, large dining room, & master bedroom with en-suite bath. Upstairs, there were 2 more bedrooms, a full bath, & a large family room with TV, internet, books, movies, & games to entertain us. Outside, was a lovely patio with 2 sets of tables & chairs, beautiful gardens, the church graveyard, nearby schoolhouse, & sheep pasture. Absolutely gorgeous, and steeped with history & charm, The Chancel retains its beautiful stained glass windows. Booking was easy. We received full instructions on booking and owner & local property manager contact info in case we needed it. The Chancel was a great base for our day trips to Wareham, Wool, the Durdle Door, W. Lulworth, Moreton, Corfe Castle (village & castle), Swanage, Portsmouth, Gosport, the Isle of Wight, Dorchester, Weymouth, & more. We followed the T.E. Lawrence (of Arabia) trail & enjoyed many long walks in the beautiful Dorset countryside. You do need a car. We flew into Gatwick, took the train to Bournemouth to pick up our automatic rental car, & with the owner's instructions & our GPS, had no problem finding The Chancel. We had breakfast & dinner in, & enjoyed many lunches out (Castle Inn, Corfe Castle & Frampton Inn, Moreton). We sampled local cheese, meat, veggies, sweets, ale, cider & more. We loved the Dorset Apple Cake (served warm with cream) & the Dorset Cream Tea (with coffee; we're Canadian). The guys, history & WWI/II buffs, really enjoyed the Bovington Tank Museum (they stayed 6 hrs), Portsmouth Historic Dockyard (Action Stations, Mary Rose, HMS Victory, HMS Warrior 1860, National Museum of the Royal Navy, Harbour Tours), Royal Navy Submarine Museum in Gosport, The Keep Military Museum in Dorchester, & more. The locals were always friendly & very helpful. In a week we were able to do many, but not all, of the things on our list. We look forward to a return visit to The Chancel.

TIPS: Do book trains in advance for discounts & look for group discounts, I followed the link at http://www.londontoolkit.com/travel/gatwick_southernengland_transfer.htm, & booked at http://www.thetrainline.com. 1 person went early, so 4 of us travelled from Gatwick to Bournemouth for £27pp, return. On Bovingtank Tank Museum Day, the 3 ladies went from Wool to Weymouth by train for £5.10pp, return. (We didn’t pre-book.) The Chancel is full of tourist info for every interest. Do take a long walk, starting from the manually-operated rail crossing near The Chancel. If you're a shopper, do visit the Gunwharf Keys Shopping Centre in Portsmouth. If you have UK ancestors and are interested in genealogy, do visit the Dorset History Centre in Dorchester. Do look for The Essential Visitors’ Guide to Wareham: A Saxon Walled Town at http://www.dorsetforyou.com/media.jsp?mediaid=147828, go to Wareham on market day, visit the local museum, & do the Walls Walk. Do go to W. Lulworth & see the beautiful, thatched cottages. Enjoy your stay in Dorset. We definitely did!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise F
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A unique place to stay”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The Chancel in East Stoke is a place we have returned to year after year and we never tire of it. Being a third of a converted church, it still has retained many of the church's original features. Set in the beautiful countryside of Dorset, it has everything you desire. Well equipped, very comfortable and only 6 miles from the smugglers cove of Lulworth and approx. 9 miles from the old fashioned seaside town of Swanage, there is something for all ages. They provide bedding and towels if you don't want to take your own, plenty of cooking utensils if you dont want to eat out although there are great pubs in the area serving top notch food! The Chancel has something for everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Reviewed July 24, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location, fantastically well equipped!
Liked least: Really can't think of any negatives apart from the lack of electric fans - 99% of the year you wouldn't need them but it was 34 degrees outside during the day!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed July 8, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing