We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“tranquillity by the river”

Review of North Mill

North Mill, Wareham, Dorset
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
North Mill, Wareham, Dorset
View from North Walls The River Piddle
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
North Mill, Wareham, Dorset
View from North Walls
The River Piddle
The Mill from the river
Dining/Sitting Room
kitchen
kitchen
Double bedroom
double bedroom
Twin room
Lulworth Cove
Wareham church
Bridge towards the watermeadows
Old Harry Rocks, Studland Bay
Mupes Bay
summer 2013
The river in Spring
Jan Lucas, Alexander and Sebastian.  2013
Carsten, Aaron and Carlotta. Summer. 2015
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Watermill -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Wareham, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
murphy008
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“tranquillity by the river”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

north mill is home from home , relaxation central , the lovely sally our host warmly welcomed us with a supply of her gorgeous eggs laid by the girls in the garden , beer , wine , juice milk and bread a very nice touch . The setting is wonderful lovely walks alongside the river piddle great for fishermen . my wife has a back problem and after a couple of nights in our sumptuous sleigh bed her pain had gone . great local pubs and restaraunts close by the salt pig is a must do . fantastic location for exploring the purbeck area of dorset . can't wait to return , thankyou sally xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: garden , river and bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quinnos
coventry
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fab holiday”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Fantastic house, amazing location, super host, we had a fab week with our dog and two babies. House is a great location for visiting all the wonderful surrounding areas.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur H
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Serenity in a hidden gem”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

North Mill is a very homely place in which to stay. Ideally situated for visiting the surrounding area.
Sally (our hostess) is very charming, welcoming and above all a lovable woman who would do more than you expect of her.. We loved "the girls", the family of chickens who live in the garden, also the ducks who frequently visit from the river Piddle which runs along side the garden, after all it used to be a working mill, hence, North Mill.
We were there for a long weekend to attend a wedding in nearby Lulworth Castle, but oh how we wish we could have stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area and the closeness of all amenities
Liked least: nothing really
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uku L
2 reviews
“Charming week spent in a blissfully peaceful and idyllic setting”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

North Mill oozes character and comfort and is the perfect place to spend a holiday. Can thoroughly recommend visiting the Salt Pig for both food and culinary events. Sally our exceptional hostess couldn't have been more helpful or kind. My daughter and I only managed to visit a few of the many delights Dorset has to offer as we were enjoying reading, painting and relaxing in the garden with friendly hens for company so much.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Sally the owner who is a relaxed host and ensures your stay is trouble free
Liked least: the steep incline down to the property
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

My friend and I wanted to get away from the hassle and bustle of working life and so decided to visit Sally, whom I had met when I was having a holiday in Dahab this September. She made us feel so welcome, there was wine, bread, butter, two wonderful bedrooms (one with an-suite and a wonderful shower; the other one with an adjacent bathroom), a cosy lounge and a modern kitchen. You could not wish for a better hostess and "trip advisor" than Sally, so do it, book your stay there now, it is really worth a visit.

Thank you Sally and we will see you again very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and Sally
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PipPip_Lo...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage and a fantastic host”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We had a wonderful short break in this beautiful cottage. The owner really understands the true meaning of hospitality - we couldn't have asked for more, thank you. The cottage is really well equipped and you can see a lot of thought and care has gone into making the place one that so quickly feels like home. The river running alongside the house is just the icing on the cake! Many thanks again, it was so appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu Island, Philippines
Reviewed 30 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$105
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing