We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never going back”

The Coach House Bistro at The Londonderry Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Carnlough
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed January 25, 2020

Had to sit at a dirty table and wait a long time to be served. Ordered fish and chips and when it came out it looked burned but was told after sending it back to be told it was the beer and turmeric batter, it was horrible never tasted anything as bad

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 238eileenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 204 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2020 via mobile

Hadn't been here for a long time. We had a nice lunch. I ordered the chowder as I had read good reviews on Trip Advisor and this was very good with a plentiful portion of varied fish. The service was prompt and the staff very pleasant. Nice olde ambience and worth a visit on a trip 'up the coast '

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Gosfordgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2019

Just passing through we stopped in for a quick lunch. The seafood stew was wonderful. Served with two slices of lovely, slightly sweet whole grain bread it made for the perfect mid day meal. Food was hot and fresh as though it were prepared upon ordering. Portion was adequate. Staff was friendly.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank number1Suzieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2019 via mobile

The staff were friendly , efficient and the food excellent . On business or pleasure a good hotel to stay in .

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank rhajh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2019

We came here for an evening meal and didn't really get a friendly welcome. In fact it was a bit dour. The waiter greeted us but the impression was that he would have preferred not to have been bothered. There was one other older female member of staff who also didn't look like she was very happy to be there.

Some radio programme on quietly as the background music didn't help to lift what was an almost funeral like atmosphere.

We ordered a bottle of wine which was simply plonked on the table with some glasses and we were obviously meant to pour our own.

The food wasn't great either and I have never understood why places serve lasagne with chips and bread. Is there no imagination any more? The chips were raw. Whilst a lot of places now offer thrice cooked chips this place failed at cooking them once.

Not a great experience but it probably doesn't deserve a poor so it just scrapes an average.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Aequitas6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coach House Bistro at The Londonderry Arms Hotel also viewed

Carnlough, County Antrim
 
Cushendall, County Antrim
 

Been to The Coach House Bistro at The Londonderry Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.