We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent home - so full of character... A great...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bakerswell House

Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen
Living room Master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Kitchen
Living room
Master bedroom
Street
Fornt Elevation
Courtyard
Kitchen
Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bedroom 5
Ensuite
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Cloakroom
cloakroom
Living room
Courtyard
deck
Deck
The sea
Sea wall
Plan
Section
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Anstruther, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lourie67
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent home - so full of character... A great place to stay in Anstruther”
Reviewed March 22, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This is a great home for a large group. We had a family celebration here and the house catered for every age group from 10 to 75. We love the Neuk of Fife as a family and the comments on parking on other posts are what you expect from the small towns in this area. The house was extremely clean, comfortable and well stocked for 10 people. We were able to spend time together in the beautiful bright large kitchen / dining area or chill in the cosy lounge downstairs. Definitely would recommend and will come back if we get the chance. Many thanks Karen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bright large kitchen / dining are
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apc_11
Stromness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Bakerswell House is a great place for a group to stay - lots of room, lovely quirky features, comfy beds, nice outdoor area. It's a short walk from the Anstruther's main street and
there are lots of lovely places to eat. We had no problems booking and picking up keys etc. make sure you take washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, toilet rolls and kitchen roll though! There were lots of bits and pieces which had been left by previous guests so that was good and the real bonus was the fudge, scones and milk which were there for us on arrival.
We went went segwaying near Kircaldy and to the Himalayas putting green in St Andrews - both great fun!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We were able to sleep 7 people in individual beds.
Liked least: Having to provide what we thought would be essentials eg washing up liquid and toilet rolls.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We were a group of 10 women who stayed in Bakerswell House for three nights. The pictures we had seen didn't really do it justice, when we first arrived we couldn't believe how great it was. The highlight is the kitchen/dining area, perfect for our needs and we even got a bit of sunshine so could sit out on the balcony with a drink. On our arrival we also had a wee goody basket with tea/coffee/wine and a home baked loaf of bread. The house is really clean and well maintained and modern. We are already hoping to plan another trip back here. The surrounding area is gorgeous and all the people we met were just so nice. We would definitely recommend this house and will hopefully be back again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen/dining area
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather B
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed March 11, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great holiday home. Very bright and spacious house, unusual layout, and lovely original features. There were 6 of us, but even with a full complement of 10, there would still be plenty room to do your own thing. Really well-equipped and lovely kitchen/dining room. Underfloor heating in lounge was most welcome. Private balcony was a bonus. Wthin minutes of beach, restaurants and shops. Couldn't recommend enough :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen/diningroom
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeeW6
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Holiday - interesting property”
Reviewed February 15, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Parking an issue - tight streets and busy at certain times, not a major issue.

Interesting layout of house and met our needs perfectly.

Five bedrooms with access to 3 bathrooms made life easy.

Plenty of living space for a group of 6 adults & 4 children.

Close to harbour/beach, excellent for kids.

Good communication from owner.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lou_How85
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable wonderful house”
Reviewed January 20, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Bakerswell was a lovely, warm and welcoming house. We loved staying there. It was large enough for 10 while being very cosy. The beds were very comfortable and all our guests mentioned how great they slept. Lovely clean smelling bedding & towels which is a important touch me :-) It is very modern and has wonderful features (Well & Bakers oven). Anstruther is such a lovely place to stay. I hope to stay again in the future

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2015
Thank you for the feedback on the beds - buying mattresses on-line; I had been concerned that they would not be comfortable-They obviously were :-).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for golf groups!”
Reviewed September 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were four males from Canada staying for a week to golf all over the region. Anstruther is very central for this purpose making most of our day trips fairly short. The house itself is large with 5 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, and has an enormous dining area (with well equipped kitchen) where we spent a good deal of our time when at home. The television area was also well used by us. The house was modern in every way, and did not disappoint. Having WiFi was fantastic. We had one problem with the internet, but the owner saw to it immediately. It was a 5 minute walk to the harbour, where numerous restaurants and pubs were located, and no more than 10 minutes to the more distant ones. Ilsa, who looked after the house for the owner, let us in when we arrived, was friendly and had the place clean and ready for us. We will definitely be booking Bakerswell again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout of the house.
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2015
Thank you for your review. Please do not hesitate to contact me next time you plan a Scottish golfing trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing