We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and quiet”
Railway Crossing Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Railway Crossing Cottage
Outside Hot Tub Lounge Area with Log Burning Stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Railway Crossing Cottage
Outside Hot Tub
Lounge Area with Log Burning Stove
Kitchen Area
Open Plan Lounge and Kitchen/Dining Area
Lounge Area
Twin Bedroom
Front View of Railway Crossing Cottage
Crail Harbour
Anstruther Harbour
Puffins on The Isle of May
Kellie Castle and Gardens
Ruins of St. Andrews Cathedral
West Sands at St. Andrews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Crail, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet ”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to the cottage and main reason was to get away from the fireworks back home as our wee dog gets so distressed. Right decision made it was so peaceful we didn't hear one firework bliss. Unfortunately we couldn't get the logs to burn on the burner we thought the wood may have been damp and bought more in crail but that again only charred then went out bit frustrating. The living space was quite chilly as only one radiator worked in the living room. Hot tub was fantastic tho . The double bed mattress needs replaced could feel the springs and not very comfy. Also toaster didn't work but all these things are fixable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
We're really pleased that you enjoyed another peaceful and relaxing time at the cottage and that you especially loved the hot tub. We're sorry that a few things we're quite as we would have liked. We very much want our guests to have a wonderful time when staying at the cottage and we do appreciate all feedback received. We will definitely check the radiator you mentioned straight away and ensure that it is in fully working order. Apologies for any inconvenience for the toaster not working. A replacement has been provided already. I'm sorry that you didn't find the double mattress to be comfy for you. It is less than 3 years old and is of a good quality with medium firmness to it. We will of course check it thoroughly and replace it if necessary. We're pleased that overall your weekend stay was a success and we would love to welcome you back again soon.
Kate & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan S
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage in rural location”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We travelled to Railway Crossing Cottage in July as a family of 4 and and old boxer dog. We all loved it. The boys (7 & 5) could be as noisy as they liked in the private garden with only the occasional tractor for company. My husband and I loved the clean, well equipped cottage which was only a 5 minute drive from the beautiful village of Crail. It was very welcoming and much more light and airy than you would expect from an old railway cottage. The extension is fabulous and looks even better in real life than it does in the photos. Old Jed the boxer appreciated the safe, enclosed garden and enjoyed dondering along the farm tracks where we rarely met a soul. And we all loved the hot tub - nice touch! Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully comfortable accommodation in a tranquil location
Liked least: Hay fever was awful but that's not the cottage's fault! Grassy fields surround the property so be aware if you're a fellow sufferer. Even that couldn't put me off though, its a lovely cottage.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2016
Thank you, we're really happy to know you enjoyed your holiday.
Kate & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fmk1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ultimate chill.”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I really want to be selfish and not tell anyone about this little piece of paradise and keep it all to ourselves but that's just not fair, if you are looking for real peace and quiet then this is a must, the cottage is immaculate, very clean and tidy, we didn't want to leave, we will definitely be back.
One word of caution, take your time driving up the road to the cottage, there are a few pot holes, that are commensurate with farm tracks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
It was a pleasure to welcome you to our lovely holiday cottage and we're very happy that you had such a wonderful stay. It's definitely a great spot for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. Sorry about the pot holes on the lane. Sadly, country roads are not always at the front of the queue for road repairs, but we hope to get it fixed soon.
Best wishes Kate & ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kylejolle...
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best holiday home we've stayed in.”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The cottage was perfect in every way, location was perfect, hot tub was perfect, we will be booking it again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
We're delighted that you enjoyed your holiday at Railway Crossing Cottage. Hopefully we will see you again next year.
Best wishes
Kate & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolene M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 Star Cottage! 5 Star Location! ”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stunning luxury cottage so well equipped & pet friendly.
Large enclosed garden is fantastic with the added bonus of the hot tub! Such a peaceful secluded cottage yet only 5 min drive to towns, beautiful beaches & coastal path walks. We will definitely be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments. We're delighted that you enjoyed your holiday so much.
Kate & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairistio...
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in peaceful surroundings.”
Reviewed 6 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Just returned from staying in this lovely cottage for four nights with my husband and two dogs. The cottage was spotless and the owners made a real effort to ensure all our needs were met! The complimentary wine was a welcome touch, and despite the weather not being great during our stay, the hot tub didn't disappoint! This is a great place to come and chill out in front of the log fire, and a good base to explore Fife, should you wish to get out of the hot tub!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tube
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you again at Railway Crossing Cottage another time.
Kate & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shonagh57
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“one of the best cottages we bean in we go three cottages a year”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

great places to eat , lovely places to see you can go to so many places , so quite , would love to live there

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all everything was , wish i could take home
Liked least: only 2 egg cups
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;