We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“weekend break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ladywell House

Ladywell House from the north
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ladywell House from the north
view from the front door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Ladywell House from the north
view from the front door
Floor Plan
Drawing room
tv room
Kitchen
Kitchen with AGA
Dining Room
Dining Room
conservatory
conservatory
Shand Kydd bedroom
Shand Kydd bathroom
Palace bedroom
Diana's bedroom....decorated for her.
Lomond bedroom
Mezzanine landing
Family bathroom
Mezzanine bathroom
Harry bedroom
Top floor family bathroom
Wills' bedroom
Large garden
Not included !!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Falkland, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jbray2
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“weekend break”
Reviewed September 28, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous homely house, well stocked with basics in the kitchen and coal for a lovely log fire in the evenings. Loads of living space for the whole family to spread out and Duncan was very helpful throughout.

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2015
We do appreciate the kind words, and your comments are very welcome. We do hope that you will find an excuse to come back to stay again. Many thanks. Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just returned from an excellent five night stay at Ladywell House. We rented the house with two other families: it suited our needs perfectly. We have in the past gone camping as a group but decided to go "up market" and found this gem on our website travels. Duncan the owner was very friendly when we first telephoned to make enquiries and made us feel very welcome when we arrived. The house is indeed "magical"; full of character, well equipped, full of history and in a lovely location. Falkland is a lovely village with lots of character, gift shops, coffee shops and eateries and is a great base for investigating the surrounding area. The walks to the Estate and fabulous waterfalls are worth a visit.

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review, and delighted that it was perfect for you - and a step-up from camping!! Please do spread the word, and come to stay again when you get a chance.

Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShirleySh...
Malvern Scottie
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We were looking for somewhere large enough to house a few fussy teens, a group of frazzled parents of said teens, plus a family of USA citizens looking for something to write home about.
Ladywell House managed to tick all of the boxes that any one of us may have had on our list and more.
A warm and inviting family home, large enough for us all to find some 'me space' but to come together when we wanted.
From the cosy kitchen with the Aga as it's centre, to the quiet family sitting room, without television. the television room to watch the Commonwealth Games or the conservatory to watch the ever changing scenery over the Howe of Fife.
With historical links to the current Royal Family and it's close proximity to Falkland, the Lomonds, St Andrews and beyond, our USA friends were in heaven.
Us Brits (Scottish and English) managed to chill and chat.
Comfy beds guaranteed a great night's sleep and there are plenty of bathrooms for everyone.
All in all I can't praise the owner and his family high enough.
We shall definitely be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
WOW ! I am overwhelmed by the lovely, kind and complimentary words, and delighted that the house was everything that you wanted. The aim is simple, to make the house welcoming and warm, and to provide every comfort and service that we would like when staying away from home. Do come and stay again, and many thanks for you lovely review. Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam290472
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Duncan & Camilla are the perfect hosts, have a truly beautiful home in a perfect setting and go or of their way to make you feel welcome. From electric blankets to sumptuous breakfast, a roaring fire and a wee dram before bed, you will be well-looked after and leave feeling thoroughly refreshed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely compliments about your short stay with us. We do hope that you will find your way back for some more Scottish Hospitality soon!

Kind regards

Duncan and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gilliando...
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect base”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Thank you to Duncan and his family for making us feel so welcome in their lovely home. We were a group of 12 people, and we found the house perfect for our stay. Beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, and a very lovely breakfast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2013
Thank you for chosing to come here with your party. We loved having you all to stay, and are delighted that your return visit after 13 years was a success. Frances would be delighted to know that her home of 10 years still retains the warmth and comfort that was here when she and her family visited. Our best to all of the group, and if ever you wish to reunite from the States and Italy, let me know and we'll make the house available to you all.

Kind regards

Duncan, Camilla, Izzy and Charlie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane
Reviewed January 3, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing