We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Glenartney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Glenartney
Ranked #2 of 19 Brodick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

This bed and breakfast is first class and very difficult to fault. It is comfortable, clean, homely, well located and the food is fantastic. We had a lovely stay here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends and family. Would also recomment the Brodick Bar and Brasserie which is 100metres down the hill - one of the best meals we have had in ages.

Room Tip: Our room was fairly small but fine for us as we were out all the time in the beautiful weather. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandDenese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    62
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
43
167
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Diest, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

What do travellers need more then a warm welcome, tidy rooms, a very nice breakfast and a small bar with nice drinks at modarate prices.
Good location of The Glenartney, restaurants not far away, and the possibility to eat take-away-food in the breakfastroom or outside.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

This is a lovely old guest house perfectly situated in the heart of Brodick 10 minutes walk from the ferry.It has been lovingly restored by Angela and Robbie.There are stunning views of seashore,mountains and castle from both house and gardens.The rooms are very clean and tastefully decorated with excellent facilities.The breakfast is second to none served by polite accommodating staff.
For first time visitors to the island The Glenartney offers the full Arran experience and for those of us who cannot keep away from Arran it is the perfect place to rest your head at the end of the day and watch the stars and moon above the silhouette of the mountains on a clear night.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front of the house,the views from our window were fabulous !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsylady31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Glenartney was easy to find and in a good location. Our room was exceptionally small but made up for by the great view from it's window. Breakfast was good and if a bigger room was available would visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Room with a view- snow capped Goat Fell in the Spring sunshine, with sandy beach and blue sea beneath. Our room was very comfortable, and warm and access to Wifi much appreciated. The breakfast menu very comprehensive and the lounge and bar tastefully decorated, and offering a wide range of books providing information about the history, culture and landscape of the area. A range of paintings created by our hostess were also on display and available for purchase.
Glenartney is a wonderful base from which to sample the delights of the Isle of Arran - including Brodick golf course just down the road and Lochranza distillery to escape to on a rainy day.
Our hosts were very welcoming and helpful, and we will certainlyreturn for another visit and recommend Glenartney as a great place to stay on Arran.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalind L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

An obviously well cared for and loved B&B. Our room was clean although a bit chilly until the heat came on in the late afternoon. The bathroom appeared to be newly refurbished but very cramped.
We appreciated complimentary wifi in the lounge/bar area.
Breakfast was great; very accommodating.
A lot of care has been given to details like the Denby stoneware, the luxurious throw pillows, etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gg'sArran, Owner at The Glenartney, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased your enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure to meet you. It's lovely that you noticed and appreciated the details we've included.

Really sorry the room was cool in the afternoon, our heating comes on at 4pm. The Scottish climate can seem cool to our guests from warmer climes! We should have thought that it maybe a bit cool for you, extra heating could have been provided very easily.

Glenartney's rooms are on the smaller side, this is the reason we are graded as a 3 star guesthouse, all other aspects are at 4 star grading.

Thank you for taking time to review our lovely guesthouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Nice clean rooms. Excellent service, great hearty breakfasts and general stylish feel made this overall an excellent choice for our stay. A few minor gripes are why 5 stars not given. The toilet was absolutely freezing due to draughty window in our room (a heater was provided) and the room was very compact for a double room. As it's an older building I reckon these things are to be expected and certainly would not deter us from using again or recommending to anyone else.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gg'sArran, Owner at The Glenartney, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thankyou so much taking the time to review the Glenartney.
We are really please you enjoyed your stay with us.

The Glenartney is completely double glazed, so we are concerned that you felt the window was draughty. We have checked the all windows and can not find the problem so would appreciate if you could let us know which room has the draughty window.
As you mention each ensuite does have a heater to warm it if the room feels cool.

Thankyou once again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
4.9 km away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.5 km away
Auchrannie House Hotel
0.7 km away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.6 km away
Auchrannie Spa Resort
0.3 km away
Belvedere
Belvedere
#8 of 19 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenartney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenartney

Property: The Glenartney
Address: Mayish Road, Brodick KA27 8BX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenartney 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of our greatest assets is our stunning peaceful location.Far enough away from the centre of Brodick to have peace and quiet but close enough to enjoy all the amenities within a few minutes walk. The Glenartney is our fully renovated guesthouse filled with stylish high quality detail. We have created the place we would love to stay in; characterful, very clean and comfortable; a home from home. We have cycle, golf and outdoor gear storage, there are walking and biking trails from our door.Although our bedrooms are on the small side, they are very comfortable with very high standard beds and furnishings. We have 2 lovely lounges for you to relax in and plan your Arran adventures while having a wee dram from our residents bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Glenartney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenartney Brodick, Isle Of Arran, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing