We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely holiday rental with stunning views”
other travellers have booked this property
Impressive villa with stunning sea views of Ayrshire coast
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Impressive villa with stunning sea views of Ayrshire coast
Separate sitting room on ground floor. Large dining room comfortably seats 12
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Impressive villa with stunning sea views of Ayrshire coast
Separate sitting room on ground floor.
Large dining room comfortably seats 12
Bright fully equipped kitchen overlooking back garden
Upstairs main bathroom
King size bed with stunning sea views looking towards Turnberry
Amazing view from bedroom looking south.
King size bed with sea views
Super king size bed or twin beds with lovely garden view
Super king size bed or twin beds with side sea view
Super king size bed or twin beds with sea views
Twin bedded room with garden views
Stunning landscaped back garden with putting green
'Hectors House' children's playhouse in garden
View from front of house looking south
Old apple tree in back garden
Stunning sunrise over Ayrshire coast
Local attraction Glen Ashdale Falls
View from Whiting Bay Golf Course
Amazing view from summit of Goat Fell
Sleeping Warrior close to Goat Fell
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Whiting Bay, Isle of Arran, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peggy S
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely holiday rental with stunning views”
Reviewed November 12, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Really lovely house with wonderful views to the ocean which is a 2 minute walk away. We were a group of 12 adults and 2 small children and the enormous lounge was perfect for us all.
Good quality bed linen and towels provided and a very well equipped kitchen. The kitchen is quite small in comparison to the rest of the house but as long as there were only 2 or 3 people in it at a time was more than adequate. Likewise the dinning room does seat 12 but again it is a little cramped. There are 6 bedrooms but 2 of them are accessed through another. If you wanted complete privacy it would be better to occupy 5 bedrooms and leave the "walk through" empty. Lots of games and books which kept the younger ones busy. Sadly we were unable to make use of the lovely garden as it poured with rain the whole time we were there. Still it didn't dampen our spirits and we all had a very good time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large open plan lounge with lovely views
Liked least: Walking through one bedroom to get to the other 2
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnmcdon...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Highly recommended - Will return”
Reviewed September 23, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Stayed at Helensea in Sept 15 as part of a group of 10 (+ 3 dogs). House catered for all needs including the dogs with the back garden being more than adequate to cope with their insatiable demands. The house was perfectly positioned as a base to explore the island and was spacious, clean and comfortable. I would certainly recommend this property for larger groups of friends or family and also the local restaurant, Coast, which is definetly worth a visit. All in all a great time had and we all talked about returning at some point.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The elevated position above the bay and the back garden.
Liked least: The midges - take plenty of repellant.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bunny1983...
cleethorpes
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely house but some parts too small for a large group”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Helenslea is a lovely house with a great family feel to it. It has beautiful sea views and a short walk to the beach makes it great for young children. The house is set in a nice location with easy access to shops and two cafes. The garden is great as it has a small putting green so this was fun to play when the weather permitted! There are ample bedrooms to accommodate a large family. We had 8 adults, 5 children and 1 baby and all rooms suited our needs. All bedding was clean and comfortable. The only point I would make about the sleeping arrangements is that there is one bedroom that people had to sometimes walk through, which wasn't ideal, but there is separate access to the other side of the house via a side door, but this does mean you have to walk through the downstairs area then outside to get to it. There were 3 bath/shower rooms which were all clean and functional. We found it great having these 3 bathrooms to accommodate our large family. The living area was a good size with lots of seating. There were lots of games etc to play and great sea views. The Tv had a great selection of channels and there were lots of DVDs. The dining area was too small for us. We found it hard to comfortably accommodate all of our family (including a highchair) around the table. It is more suited to seat 8 people comfortably. The kitchen was far too small for a large group/family. There was enough space to store food etc, however the actual floor space was too small. The kitchen had lots of handy utensils and equipment, which was good as we cooked every day. Overall, we had a great time at Helenslea and the family enjoyed the house, it was just a shame about the size of the dining area and kitchen (and having to walk through a bedroom).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The family feel of the house
Liked least: the small kitchen and dining area
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fionna T
Ballans, France
1 review
“Super house and garden with spectacular views on a great holiday island.”
Reviewed August 29, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just returned to France after a two week holiday at Helenslea with our extended family, six adults and four children. ( 5 to 8 years old ) The house was great with plenty of room for all. Good comfy beds and linen, towels etc. The kitchen was well stocked with lots of crockery and glasses, including champagne flutes, which were well used as we were celebrating a 70th Birthday during our stay! The children loved the garden, great for hide and seek and spotting visiting red squirrels and most importantly very safe.
We walked, climbed, golfed, pony trekked, rocked pooled, swam and also found time to eat and drink well! After a busy day of activities there is nothing better than a 'sundowner' at Felicity's bar, a few minutes walk down the hill, where the views are stunning in the evening light.
We shopped at The Bay Stores in Whiting Bay. A very well stocked and friendly store. Fresh rolls, bread and pastries in the morning and a good supply of delicious smoked fish from Creelers in Brodick and meat from the Arran Butcher. Best of all you can enjoy a great morning coffee while waiting for the morning papers to arrive!
We ate at the Coffee Pot and Coast in Whiting Bay and in Lamlash at the Pier Cafe and the Drift Inn and enjoyed good food at them all.
We left Arran on a beautiful sunny morning enjoying spectacular views of this very special island and with a promise to return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firefox20...
Strathpeffer, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a good holiday enjoyed by the family will come back again.”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Helenslea very comfortable and lots of things to see and do,caters well for everyone walking,beaches,golf,tennis,water sports, putting and a good play area in Brodick for the younger ones and i enjoyed a spa day wonderful ! Thanks Jackie
From the Cameron Family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views were the best
Liked least: the midges
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melspal
toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful family holiday week at Helenslea on the Isle of Arran, Scotland”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have recently returned from a wonderful week-long holiday with our extended family on the Scottish Isle of Arran. Lovely walks, great food and drink and, perhaps best of all, our stay at Helenslea. This was our first stay in this lovely house, but hopefully will not be our last. With so much historic charm, it still had loads of room for all 9 of us. Helenslea is beautiful and beautifully situated. Each of its many windows has a view: stunning sea views from the front windows and the truly gorgeous gardens from the back windows. We especially enjoyed the large lounge/living room with its many comfy couches and welcoming fireplace. The kitchen was all we could ask for and very well equipped. We enjoyed so many family meals at the big table in the cozy dining room. We all appreciated the attention to details: everything from helpful little notes to gates on the stairs to a variety of plastic glasses for the patio, and the big mirror in the dining room so that those with our backs to the large windows could still enjoy the beautiful garden views. Several of our party had enjoyable ‘games of golf’ on the little putting green in the garden. The beds, linens and towels were top notch. Although we did not get to meet our host Jackie, we highly recommend her as well. She was very pleasant and communication was easy. I could go on and on but suffice to say we loved it. None of us wanted to leave...and we hope to return again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We liked all of it.
Liked least: That the local pub had closed...:)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallulahb...
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed May 14, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Eleven family members (and a dog!) gathered at Helenslea from all over the world to celebrate Mum's 90th Birthday last week end.
We could not have chosen a more perfect house, with comfortable beds,ideal lounge for mad games In front of a log fire,great kitchen facilities and the most brilliant garden for very competitive putting,frisbee and BBQ!
Jackie was so helpful with all our planning and made the organising of this special time a "wee dawdle"!
Don't hesitate.........you will love it!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!
Liked least: Absolutely nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing