We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely meal.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chapel Cross Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Roslin
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely meal.”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had a great meal here. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. As we were just there for dinner cant say how rooms etc were but we enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annmarie858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    30
    13
    13
    29
See reviews for
17
61
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

My partner and I checked in on the 23.3.12. There was no one on reception desk we waited for quite sometime after ringing the bell, I had to go and search for someone to get us checked in. Great start!! The room (8) was a dated and well just plain dreadful. There were large cob webs swinging from the ceiling and the fan extractor was covered in a fur like matter as was the light shades in the bathroom. So a lack of cleaning. I cannot believe the other comments on this site praising this hotel, they must be easily pleased, The hotel is run down, tatty, needs some capital spent on it to bring it up to date. Its was so bad we declined the offer to dine there but went over the road hotel were staff and service was first class and food excellent. PLEASE AVOID ROSLIN HOTEL its a dump

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shirl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Roslin hotels

Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We booked a deal through Groupon to stay at this hotel and were not disappointed. We arrived in time to receive afternoon tea which was a very nice sandwich and tea (included in the deal) then we had a 2 course evening meal with a glass of wine each. Although the hotel is old with creaky floors upstairs it is acceptably clean and comfortable. We enjoyed a couple of drinks after dinner before having a good night's sleep even with the main road running past the hotel. Breakfast was also very enjoyable even though Groupon should not have included that in the deal which was only £79 for 2 people. Good location to visit Rosslin Chapel too which is within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I had a lovely lunch with my husband at the Roslin Glen Hotel, thanks to Groupon! We chose to eat in the bar area rather than the restaurant as the bar was busier. The genteman who we spoke to was charming and explained how the "steak on the stone" worked - basically you have are served a piece of fillet steak on a hot, sizzling stone and you cook the steak, according to individual taste - I loved it! The peppercorn sauce was amazing also! The service is not "fast paced" - it is attentive and personal - if you want a "fast food" service and "ping" food (microwave meals) then go elsewhere. Good food takes time to prepare, cook and present! The gentleman we spoke to also told us about the Sunday lunch - 3 courses for £10! Based on the quality of the food and service we received today, we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ButterflyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We had lunch with another couple on 23rd February using the Groupon Voucher I have to admit i was a bit concerned as there was no one on reception or in the bar but a very nice guy called Leon appeared and was most helpful The Steak is served on a heated stone and you more or less cook it how you want it and it was one of the best Fillets i have ever tasted it was served with fries salad & mushrooms
But i have to say the place is badly needing refurbished if we had just went in off the street we all agreed we probably would have turned and left missing the best Steak ever
Thank you Leon for educating us on how to cook the Steak

Room Tip: i can only comment on the food do not let the decor put you off
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Old and shabby needs a desperate update. steak was one of the best ive ever tasted but a zero for oven chips what a disappointment!! when comment given to guy in charge on 11.02.2012 he commented he would take this onboard but looked absolutely furious. Get real !!the place is antiquated and no heating on in dining room either at 6pm that night. Maybe try the hotel across the road the original roslyn hotel this seemed more inviting at least the log fire was on and the food looked good!! When yo travel out for a meal everything matters not just the excellent steak the surroundings and heating of dining room matter too!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice1234565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We booked our stay through Groupon website. We stayed in room 6 which is one of the bigger rooms with a king sized bed.
The hotel is pet friendly so you have to be prepared to find some dog hears around. However, we experienced very friendly staff, outstanding food – overall good atmosphere.
Hotel is old fashioned and redecorating would make a difference (but remember this is a 3* hotel not 5*) but overall we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GKB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roslin
5.6 km away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
7.3 km away
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
6.5 km away
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn
#112 of 148 in Edinburgh
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,333 reviews
6.2 km away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
951 reviews
9.7 km away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapel Cross Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Cross Guest House

Property: Chapel Cross Guest House
Address: 2 Penicuik Road, Roslin EH25 9LH, Scotland (Formerly Roslin Glen Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Roslin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Roslin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chapel Cross Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished Victorian Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Chapel Cross Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing