We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good seaside break”
Review of Seamill Hydro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seamill Hydro
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Kilbride
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A good seaside break”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The Hydro is an ideal place for a short break or a longer holiday with the facilities you would expect of a Spa hotel. It is unpretentious, friendly and well worth the money. Built on the shore at Seamill many rooms have unrestricted sea views. Food is plentiful and well cooked with more than one restaurant. Staff are pleasant and very helpful.

Room Tip: Always ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasgowtiglath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    790
    391
    183
    85
    66
See reviews for
420
551
19
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Argyll
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

After our ferry sailing was cancelled for our trip home we found ourselves having to find accommodation for the night. We "turned up" at the hotel on spec and were given a lovely refurbished room for the price of £58 including breakfast. There were a number of other people in the same situation and next morning the hotel laid on a contiential breakfast for us at 6.00 am outwith their normal breakfast times of 7..00 to 10.00 to allow us to catch the first ferry. As it happens, all ferry sailings were cancelled the next day also and we had to rebook for another night. We were advised that they could only give us a non-refurbished room but for the same price. There was very little difference between the non and refurbished. Personally, I preferred the non-refurnished - larger room, separate settee to sit on. The only noticeable difference was an older-style TV.

I mentioned at Reception on the second night that 6.00 am for breakfast was kind of tight for catching the ferry and they reorganised the time to 5.30 am.

Plaudits to the staff. They could not have been more helpful. Nothing negative to say about this hotel all. A credit as an advert for visitors to this part of the country.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArgyllIslanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, Sufflok, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

A very nice hotel, my room had a great view of the sea. The pool was under restoration whilst I was there. I was situated in the 'older' part of the hotel. This was fine but I think the rooms and bathrooms are a little tired.

Room Tip: Great breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i_flanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Following on from recommendations from a friend of ours who uses seamill quite regularly, my partner and I booked in to room 56 on Friday 3rd February for a couple of nights break.
We found everything to be top notch, clean, comfortable, and of a high quality. seWe will most definately be returning time and time again. Also it was very refreshing to see their managers with their sleeves rolled up getting stuck in and helping in the bar and restaurant.

Thanks to everyone at Seamill Hydro, we will see you again.

Room Tip: choose the main building and not the seaview annex, only because its seperate from the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2012

my friend and I stayed here 2nights,it was fantastic. very relaxing stay .
we had a newly renovated room it was lovely. We ate in the resturant
the food was excellent. we used the hotel facilities which was great.
swimming pool steam room sauna and the use of the gym.
the staff are so friendly and well trained in customer service.
most enjoyable

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irene551801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie trip
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Fantastic hotel, very relaxing. food fab this is my second time here,watched 4 seals playing in the clyde from the sea view window, Great to watch them having fun. Will be back in summer, I visited the hotel at christmas with the grand children the 4 year old loved santas groto and the bouncie castle.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

we have stayed here on several occasions however last April took advantage of the additional public holiday we were given due to the Royal wedding and booked a one night stay here. OUr room was newly renovated and compact.It had everything we needed. We ate in the bar and the food was of very good quality and priced reasonably. The following morning our breakfast was good and before we checked out we had coffee with scones jam and cream. The staff at seamill are trained well on customer service and go out oftheir way to make sure your stay is memorable. We will be booking again this year for one or two stays and are already looking forward to it

Room Tip: ask for a seaview and a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kilbride
1.3 km away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
269 reviews
21.7 km away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,067 reviews
22.3 km away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Brisbane House Hotel
15.7 km away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
13.4 km away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seamill Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seamill Hydro

Property: Seamill Hydro
Address: 39 Ardrossan Road, West Kilbride KA23 9ND, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > West Kilbride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seamill Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seamill Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seamill Hydro West Kilbride
Hydro Seamill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing