We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bed and breakfast”
Review of The Broom Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Broom Lodge
Ranked #11 of 24 Largs B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Lovely B and B Lovely helpful staff Stayed for two nights Beds comfortable Breakfast very nice Fills you up for the day ahead Sienna who runs this establishment is so kind goes out her way to make your stay as comferable as possible I was going to millport to hire a bike She even offered me the chance to use her bike which I thought was so kind I Defo will be back and this Sure is the best place to stay in Largs Thankyou

Room Tip: Best sea views from your window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lou20031981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

This is our 2nd visit here this year forgot to post back in January. Arrived around 5ish and was greeted by the lovely owner Seona, she showed us some rooms and asked us which one we liked best. We chose top floor attic room with two double beds, very spacious with a shower room/toilet. The room was immaculate, beds and pillows are to die for so comfortable. The b&b is situated right beside sea front and a 5 minute walk along to the town. It's a very peaceful place to stay. Our room also had fresh bottled water in the fridge and coffee/tea making facilities. Breakfast is usually before 10am, full Scottish on offer as well as continental, yogurts, lots of fruit. Nothing was a bother to Seona she is definitely the most loveliest lady we have met at a guest house, hotel etc and we will
Always come back here as my son trains at inverclyde centre. We stayed at the Queens Hotel before it wasn't a nice experience (not child friendly) Thank you for having such an amazing little haven Seona!! See you soon! Nicky Greig, Rio & Iris Xx

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank NickyGreig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed 7 nights. Room was run down and cold. The internet was intermittent and slow. The sounds of other guest moving around and useing toilets etc was quite loud.
On the plus side the lady who runs it is very nice, and does a good breakfast. It is also right on sea front, and a short walk from the railway station.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank Lesmith49170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Spent a night in comfortable room with large shower room. Good supply of tea and coffee in bedroom. Dog made very welcome. Excellent breakfast served by charming hostess. Cannot fault this establishment and will certainly return.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of days to visit my childhood holiday town. Host was super helpful. Very nice room. Large and tastefully furnished. My room wasn't en suite, but there were 2 very good bathrooms on the same floor. Full breakfast cooked to order was a wonderful start to the day. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank syvret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

I had a room with a great view of the sea and slept very well in a comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast in the morning with lots of fruit and cereals and anything else you want. I strongly recommend this guesthouse

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jude176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Just had a very disappointing stay here, more like Fawlty Towers with no warm 'Scottish welcome' as indicated on website. We had confirmed time of arrival but never yet saw the owner who was away the weekend.On the plus side the bed was comfortable, linen clean and breakfast good. BUT the room itself was dirty and very shabby. I emptied and cleaned out a drawer before putting anything in it and you could write your name in dust on bedside unit. Two of the windows had no blinds or curtains! The shower room across the landing was the smallest ever, not even enough room to open out a small bathmat. There was nowhere to put anything, not much of a problem as it was dirty too. Even the rusty bin had not been emptied.
We tried to get the WiFi code from Kirsty who was left in charge but that did not happen.
All in all all it was like stepping back to the bad old days of B&B and certainly not worth the £80 we were charged.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank AO25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Largs hotels
0.8 km away
Brisbane House Hotel
1.3 km away
The Queen's Hotel
The Queen's Hotel
#12 of 24 in Largs
61 reviews
1.8 km away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Lynegar Guest House
Lynegar Guest House
#5 of 24 in Largs
77 reviews
1.4 km away
Tigh-na-Ligh Guesthouse
1.5 km away
Woodhouse Hotel
Woodhouse Hotel
#9 of 24 in Largs
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broom Lodge

Address: 5 Broomfield Place, Largs KA30 8DR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Largs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Largs
Price Range: $107 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Broom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Broom Lodge Largs, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing