We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous comfortable cottage in beautiful...”

Review of The Doocot Dunning

The Doocot
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Doocot
Inside the cottage Looking out
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The Doocot
Inside the cottage
Looking out
Cosy log burning stove
Kitchen
Jam and scones to welcome you
Breakfast time
Conservatory
Into the bathroom
Superking size bed
Dressing gowns supplied
Bedroom detail
Honeymoon bedroom
Honeymoon bedroom
Deck with garden furniture
Cottage garden with swing seat
View from the deck
Cheeky Blue tit peeking in the conservatory window
Hammock in the garden - perfect for relaxing
View across the gardens to the original 'Doocot'
View from the cottage windows
Fresh free range eggs available!
View from the deck
Swing seat
Detail of the original 'Doocot'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
U2362PGto...
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Gorgeous comfortable cottage in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed in this cottage the last week of August and had a lovely time. The cottage is very well appointed and the owner couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. It's really light and airy with excellent views of the countryside, and also cosy and warm. And it's beautifully situated in really pretty garden, in a peaceful area close to an interesting village with facilities, and close to a good road network. Everything we needed was thought of and provided by the owner for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Situation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation set in stunning peaceful countryside”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed in the 'Studio' for 3 nights, having spent the previous 4 weeks visiting family and friends our intention was to get away from it all for a few nights with our 10 week old baby, we could not have picked a better location!!

The studio which is attached to the main house had everything we needed, a great modern living area with super comfy bed and a lovely bathroom with waterfall shower.

The location was perfect for us, very quiet and peaceful with endless views of the beautiful Perthshire countryside from our window. Auchterarder and Perth were only a short drive away, providing plenty of options for cafes and restaurants should you need refreshed!!

Thanks Hilary!!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikitikit...
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, sublime country views.”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was our second stay at the Doocot. It is still wonderful. Cosy and Romantic with everything we need to be comfortable. Looks small when one first walks in but there is plenty of closet space and it all works. I love the views of the ancient Doocot (sort of a stone barn tower for keeping doves in), the trees, fields and hills. Gleneagles and Auchterader are only a short distance by car, St Andrews about one hour. We cooked our own breakfast; love the fresh eggs, and walked to the Village of Dunning to the Pub for dinner, about 5 - 10 minutes. There are two Pubs both with very good food. It's a long way from Australia but no doubt we'll be back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMCM550
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“A Rare Find”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Located on the same property as The Doocot, The Studio is truly a rare find. While it is attached to the main house you have complete privacy with a separate entrance and a view out of the front window that gives you that feeling of seclusion. Newly renovated, the apartment is really well thought out and offered everything (and more) than we were looking for…affordable luxury and a respite from a big day of touring, golfing and walking. The kitchen is perfect for light meals and snacks, the shower was difficult to leave and the resources available to plan our days abundant. The welcome extended by Hilary and Bruce and awaiting us in The Studio reinforced that we had stumbled on to a very special place. The Studio is a rare treat and one that we will definitely return to the next time we are in Scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, quality of accommodation and hospitality of owners
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieQSco...
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Absolute bliss”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Second time we stayed at the Doocot and this time it was over Valentines weekend. A gorgeous wee secluded cottage and very comfortable and cosy.
Lovely touches from Hilary to welcome us there and we had a super relaxing time.
Would thoroughly recommend The Doocot for a peaceful romantic break away from a busy life.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to comment on
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oprea01
Timisoara, Romania
1 review
“Stunning cottage , absolutely fantastic place”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A superb cottage, very clean and welcoming. The location is awesome. Fabulos !!

Thank you Hilary and Bruce

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard J
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Idyll Accomodation and Location”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2014

Hilary and Bruce were very welcoming and the "welcome pack" was fantastic. The Doocot had everything we needed, nice and secluded in a beautiful garden with our own drive. Far enough "off the beaten track" to be in the real countryside yet so central that almost anywhere in Scotland is easily accessible either walks or cities. Great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$199
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing