We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“This is what being spoiled and pampered is all about!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gleneagles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gleneagles Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Auchterarder
Certificate of Excellence
Dieren, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This is what being spoiled and pampered is all about!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012 via mobile

From the first until the last minute we were spoiled and pampered by all the staff.
Nothing was too much, never a no to any request.
Even my very complicated medical diet was taken care of excellently.
Anyone who had anything to do with food knew about it, breakfast or dinner.
We will be back.
Worth every £!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank reina2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,065
    371
    152
    56
    19
See reviews for
606
1,179
39
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Once again made very welcome on our return. This time we were in one of their magnificent suites. Afternoon tea on arrival is a must, then a trip to the spa. My wife had been before but this was my first time, just perfect after a long drive. Then in the evening dinner at Andrew Fairlie, a truly great food and wine experience. Then a gift from the hotel for our anniversary.
The following evening we were booked into the Stratherne, this time service fell well below their normally excellent standard. Too busy and understaffed, a large event was going on in the ballroom! However the evening was rescued by the oustanding customer service this hotel offers. Sincere apologies were made and accepted.
I will still mark the service as 5* because the service was excellent overall.
We will return whenever possible.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IWPCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Just back from a 3 day break the Gleneagles Hotel. In summary and overall, this is a fantastic special treat /weekend destination and we will definitely return. It is a classic, under-stated good quality British establishment with some excellent qualities. We consider ourselves lucky and fortunate to have had the opportunity to stay here. However, if you've ever stayed in a Four Seasons Hotel or Ritz Carlton before, then this is not in the same league and why we can't give it a 5*.

First the positives:

- Generally very good service throughout the hotel
- Beautifully kept grounds.
- Stunning golf courses. Played the Queen's Course and it is a treat and such a beautiful course.
- Delicious food...we ate in both The Strathearn and Andrew Fairlie and both were sublime. The breakfasts were also of a very good standard. We also had lunch a few times the Dormy House or The Golf Club and again this was of good quality and more informal than the rest of the hotel.
- The Spa is very high-end and one of the best we have been to. It is a must if you're visiting.
- The room was very spacious and comfortable with a fantastic bathroom.
- We went shooting one morning and the whole experience was very professional and well-run. Again, a must if you're visiting.
- The PGA Golf Academy is excellent - well run and very professional.
- Some beautiful public areas e.g. The Strathearn restaurant and bar are very nice.
- Friendly, genuine service from most of the staff.
- Made to feel very welcome.

The less good:
- The entrance and reception were ok but mediocre for a hotel such as this. Have seen far better and more impressive elsewhere. Was fine but not what I was expecting. Some odd cheap modern furnishings too, which didn't help elevate the appearance.
- Deseo is just like being in a Zizzi or Pizza Express and feels odd in a hotel of this calibre. Having said that suitable for families with younger children.
- The main pool area is very 90s and reminded us of a public leisure facility. Ok for children but not great for adults. A bit tired and worn looking and not enough places to sit and no pool attendant to keep the place looking tidy or orderly. Saying that the outdoor hot pool is lovely and relaxing.
- Too many children...we were surprised how many children were here and to be honest think they'd prefer a weekend at Centre Parcs anyway. At times the place seemed over-run with noisy kids.
- Some of the service verged on surly for a 5* hotel and they didn't always go out of their way tto put the guest first i.e. we were told on arrival for breakfast on Sunday morning that they could not accommodate us in the main Strathearn restaurant because they were "too busy and full". We were asked to eat at Desseo instead, which was not ideal. Similar situation at the Clubhouse when going for lunch. We were told there was over an hour's wait yet there were lots of empty tables. When we made a bit of a fuss over this they begrudgingly found us a table. We were there well over 90mins and a lot of the tables were still empty from when we arrived so didn't understand why they felt they couldn't accommodate us? Just seemed peculiar and not the service you'd expect from a hotel like this. Again, similar issues in the Spa and they messed up booking times and failed to inform us, even though we'd been in there only an hour or so beforehand. Last example being upon our arrival they took forever to deliver our bags to our room. We eventually had to call and ask for them and complain only to be told it was our fault for not informing the bell hop which room we were staying in?! How could we possibly do that when we didn't know ourselves which room we were to be allocated!

All in all it is an excellent hotel and we both thoroughly enjoyed it a great deal and will return. We may consider going during the week next time as it will be quieter and less children around. We made the mistake of booking when Mother's Day fell and the place was over-run on the Sunday which took the shine of being able to enjoy the hotel fully.

Well done Gleneagles, just a few small points to look at....

Thanks for the enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMarkMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Just returned after a couple of days at Gleneagles.Absolute bliss. We were very lucky to get an upgrade on arrival to one of the Spirit Suites which was just beautiful. Spa was wonderful, Strathearn Room lovely with great service. Bar super. Breakfast just spoiled for choice.Lovely gift from the Hotel for my birthday. Best 5 star we have ever stayed in. Not one complaint.
We will be back soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view down the glen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We recently spent 2 nights at Gleneagles celebrating the birthday of my husband. We had a lovely sovereign room which was spacious and comfortable, with a fantastic bathroom with freestanding bath, double sinks and an enormous shower cubicle. The only downside was that it was a fair distance to get to from reception, leisure complex etc and the signage wasn't very good so we spent quite a bit of time wandering down the wrong corridors trying to find our room! The gym and the swimming pool facilities were great and we really loved the outdoor pool.

We loved the bar and the fantastic cocktails and had some great food there one night. The other night, we dined in the Deseo restaurant which bills itself as an Italian/tapas style place. Unfortunately, this is the only reason that my overall rating is 'very good' and not 'excellent'. It really was a disappointing experience, it was almost like we were in a completely different hotel when we dined there. Throughout the hotel, we had found the staff to be really outstanding - extremely helpful, polite and friendly. However, in Deseo we heard staff complaining to each other about how busy they were and our waitress was really rude to my husband, saying that he was a messy eater when she lifted his plate and some crumbs were on the tablecloth! Needless to say, we didn't want to go back there to dine again.

The breakfast was fantastic - the range of options available was great and staff were very helpful and efficient.

Overall, it was a wonderful experience though, and we can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peebles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We recently went to Gleneagles looking forward to a short romantic break …. and realised (too late) that we’d managed to arrive in the middle of the school holidays with a queue at reception, the room not yet ready and the coffee area serving as a waiting room for families waiting to be housed … not a good start, but thankfully all was not lost. We finally (an hour and a half late) made it to our room (an estate double), which was lovely. The room was a good size with a large double bed (albeit with a join in the middle), a seating area, room to move around in, an imitation gas fire and a roomy bathroom with 2 sinks, a free standing bath and a lovely underfloor heating system … excellent. We were hungry and had booked into the Strathearn restaurant for dinner but seriously wondered whether we should risk going down to eat or opt for room service and avoid the crowds. We decided to go downstairs and were glad we did. The menu was simple but offered lots of choice, the service was first class, the food was fabulous and though there were quite a few people in the restaurant, the tables were nicely spaced, the ambient noise level was subdued, a piano and violin played in the background and there were more than enough staff to cope with everything. And there you have it …. the room was warm and welcoming and comfortable and spacious, the service, be it at dinner or breakfast, at reception, using room service or in the spa was impeccable and the food excellent. Add in a couple of brisk 3 mile walks round the golf course and the pleasure of watching a snow blizzard from the warmth and comfort of our hotel room and we had a superb, relaxing break in a fabulous hotel. And the piece de resistance came when we checked out and realised that the car battery was flat (I'd left the lights on over the weekend). No problem said the concierge, and with that he found a pair of jump leads and 15 minutes later we were up and running again. No fuss, no waiting, no problem, no drama, utterly professional. We’ll return someday soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duncanandann23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We had a great weekend away as a family of four. Superb facilities in a wonderful environment with great staff. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keentoseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auchterarder
2.7 km away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
14.5 km away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
12.3 km away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Cairn Lodge Hotel
Cairn Lodge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
16.2 km away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
25.8 km away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagles Hotel

Property: Gleneagles Hotel
Address: Auchterarder, Auchterarder PH3 1NF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Auchterarder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Auchterarder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gleneagles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, HRS and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Gleneagles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagles Hotel Auchterarder
Gleneagles Resort Auchterarder
Gleneagles Hotel Scotland/Auchterarder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing