We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“best place to stay cottage 26975”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gleneagles Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lynda1405
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best place to stay cottage 26975”
Reviewed July 29, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

we came over from germany to visit the rewind festival in perth. the cottage is approx 20min from perth away. the owner ellen waited patiently for us to come due to flight delay nearly 90 min to late. she gave us a worm welcome. with tee, coffee, milk, surgar, bread, butter and cheese. explained everything left 2 keys. the house was spick and span. the beds where very comfy. lots of books and dvd for very rainy days. we where more than pleased to have choosen this place. i am certanly coming back for a scotland tour with my husband and son next summer and this will be our stay, due to the fact that it is very central and the house is just like the pictures. so you get what you see. i will write a german review too, because i certainly can recommend the cottage and gleneagels

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the clean cottage and good beds
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
Many thanks for your great review of Gleneagles Cottage and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Here at TS Properties we like to take care of our guests and glad you liked the extra touches that we put in place. It is a lovely area and very central, we look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gelflingw...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A civilized breath of fresh air!”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We have stayed here before and will doubtless stay again - a marvelously civilized holiday home presented to the highest standard. The furnishings are smart and comfortable , the kitchen well equipped and the bedding and towels provided simply luxurious.
Just a short stroll to the magnificence of the Gleneagles hotel, for those who want fine dining or an evening drink in truly elegant surrounds, and a short drive from the well stocked streets of Auchterader for self catering supplies (' highly recommend the specialty sausages from Howie butchers)
Ellen provides an excellent array of tourist guides for those unfamiliar with the area, as well as useful notes on local eating places.
A thoughtfully provided folding table and chairs enabled us to enjoy tea on the back lawn where we observed chaffinch, thrush, blackbird and blue tits, and were thrilled to hear our first woodpecker.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambiance of civilization in the countryside
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoxyGirl1...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect Place!”
Reviewed January 28, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This was our second stay at Gleneagles cottage and again it was absolutely wonderful, the first time we stayed over Christmas, and this time New Year. The cottage is not only decorated and equipped to a very high standard, but the location is just perfect. We enjoyed eating at the hotel restaurants and bars and the easy commute to Perth, Stirling and the surrounding areas. Ellen is always welcoming and takes immense pride in her standards. Very much looking forward to our next stay.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor and comfort
Liked least: The rain - but that was not the cottages fault!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena T
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay”
Reviewed November 18, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We really enjoyed this stay, there was everything we needed (and more). The welcome was very warm from Ellen and the food stuffs left were very gratefully received. We found it an an excellent location for walking, even for a gentle stroll around the grounds as well as in the surrounding area. The cottage was clean, comfortable and very easy to maintain. You can get everything you need in Auchterarder. WIFI would be an added bonus for this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: that no pets are allowed!
Liked least: Nothing,
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mre1053
Caithness
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Would recommend”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Just back from this cottage and I would recommend for a stay. Although the cottage was slightly smaller than we expected we really enjoyed our stay. The cottage was clean, nicely decorated and the beds super comfy! On arrival we had a nice welcome pack consisting of tea, coffee, bread, butter, fruit and wine. Further nice touches such as fresh flowers being in several rooms and my toddler son's bed having a nice child's duvet cover. The beds were very comfortable and even with being in close proximity to neighbours the street was very quiet. On our first morning we saw a small deer in the garden and my son loved seeing all the rabbits they were around the grounds. Overall a really good location and base and we enjoyed our evening strolls around the hotel grounds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House was decorated in a modern style and was very clean
Liked least: House slightly smaller than it looked in photos
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
betni
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This is my fourth visit and didn't disappoint! As usual the thoughtful touches, luxurious towels and bed linen, molton brown products, great shower and well equipped kitchen make for a really comfortable and relaxing stay. Even for non golfers it's a great location to soak up the 5 star ambience of the Gleneagles estate and hotel and explore the Perthshire and Fife countryside. Will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: hot water heater
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We're really pleased you had a great time on your return visit at Gleneagles Cottage. Ellen, the owner, really puts a lot of effort into making sure it is welcoming for guests and I know she'll be really chuffed to get such positive feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth N
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A superb stay on the Gleneagles Estate”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We both kept coming back to this cottage while planning our holiday/vacation and we are so pleased that we settled on it as our Scottish base. The directions to the cottage were easy to follow, and it was a lovely touch to be welcomed by the owner. The pantry items (wine, delicious breads, jam, milk, butter, fruit etc) were a gorgeous touch after a long day on the road. We loved the beds; so comfy and warm and with superior bedding. The shower was to die for; excellent pressure and so relaxing. The bathroom fittings and lighting were well chosen. The kitchen was very well appointed and there was nothing missing that we might need. There were plenty of magazines and books, and DVDs, along with a great selection of TV programmes. The attention to all the details was noted, and it was clear that a lot of thought had gone in to all the items that anyone might need during their holiday at Gleneagles. We had a drink each night at the Dormy Club and dined there a couple of nights. We loved Auchterarder, and enjoyed the drive across to Oban on the west coast, and to St Andrews on the east coast. This cottage was an excellent find and we highly recommend a stay here. We loved it and want to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The superb location and quality fittings and bedding.
Liked least: Although the decor in the sitting room was well chosen and lovely, I'd have liked a little more of a Scottish theme in keeping with the name.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing